BGer 6B_181/2018: Usa­bi­li­ty of poli­ce video record­ings in busi­ness pre­mi­ses on sus­pi­ci­on of theft

The Federal Supre­me Court had ruled in the Judgment 6B_181/2018 of Decem­ber 20, 2018 to deci­de whe­ther Video record­ings orde­red by the poli­ce in the busi­ness pre­mi­ses of a com­pa­ny are usable as evi­dence. Becau­se of Sus­pi­ci­on of theft in his own com­pa­ny, the mana­ging direc­tor of the com­pa­ny con­cer­ned had filed a cri­mi­nal com­p­laint against unknown per­sons. The Can­to­nal poli­ce Solo­thurn then instal­led came­ras in the affec­ted busi­nessThe­se were used to moni­tor an office with a kit­chen, whe­re a safe was loca­ted, for around five weeks. Custo­mer are­as were not moni­to­red. The record­ings were made with the con­sent of the mana­ging direc­tors, but without the know­ledge of the recor­ded employees. The Hig­her Court of the Can­ton of Solo­thurn had sen­ten­ced an employee to a fine for mul­ti­ple pet­ty thefts using indi­vi­du­al record­ing sequen­ces (Judgment STBER.2016.73 of Janu­a­ry 4, 2018).

The Federal Supre­me Court first addres­sed the que­sti­on of whe­ther poli­ce video sur­veil­lan­ce is at all a Coer­ci­ve mea­su­re wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 196 StPO con­sti­tu­tes a coer­ci­ve mea­su­re. A coer­ci­ve mea­su­re exists as soon as a pro­ce­du­ral act by cri­mi­nal aut­ho­ri­ties inter­fe­res with fun­da­men­tal rights in order to secu­re evi­dence (Art. 196 lit. a StPO). The Federal Supre­me Court con­clu­des, con­tra­ry to the opi­ni­on of the lower court, that all sta­te data-rela­ted acti­vi­ties, and the­re­fo­re in par­ti­cu­lar also the poli­ce video record­ings, inter­fe­re with the fun­da­men­tal right of the con­vic­ted employees to pri­va­cy and infor­ma­tio­nal self-deter­mi­na­ti­on pur­suant to Art. 13 BV. The Poli­ce video record­ings are the­re­fo­re qua­li­fy as coer­ci­ve mea­su­res (E. 4.2).

From sta­te-orde­red video record­ings were distin­guish pri­va­te evi­dence collec­tionThe que­sti­on is not one of fun­da­men­tal rights, but rather one of cri­mi­nal law, labor law, data pro­tec­tion law and per­so­na­li­ty law (E. 4.3; cf. the com­ments below).

Fur­ther­mo­re, the Federal Supre­me Court – again in con­trast to the lower court – cla­ri­fied that in the pre­sent case No valid con­sent to the inter­fe­rence with fun­da­men­tal rights took place. The mana­ging direc­tors of the com­pa­ny were

[…] not aut­ho­ri­zed to con­sent to the sur­veil­lan­ce in place of the com­p­lai­nant [sc. employee] affec­ted by the sur­veil­lan­ce and thus to dis­po­se of her fun­da­men­tal right to pri­va­cy or infor­ma­tio­nal self-deter­mi­na­ti­on. (E. 4.4)

Sub­se­quent­ly, the Federal Supre­me Court held that the coer­ci­ve mea­su­re took the form of the use of tech­ni­cal sur­veil­lan­ce devices wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 280 lit. b of the Code of Cri­mi­nal Pro­ce­du­re, which was pro­hi­bi­ted by the Pro­se­cu­ti­on orde­red (Art. 280 StPO) and by the Com­pul­so­ry mea­su­res court appro­ved (Art. 281 para. 4 in con­junc­tion with Art. 272 para. 1 Cri­mi­nal Pro­ce­du­re Code). Sin­ce the video sur­veil­lan­ce was only orde­red by the poli­ce and not aut­ho­ri­zed, the fin­dings the­re­from were abso­lute­ly unus­able pur­suant to Art. 277 para. 2 Cri­mi­nal Pro­ce­du­re Code (E. 4.5).

Howe­ver, the ban on the uti­liz­a­ti­on of evi­dence orde­red by the Federal Supre­me Court did not auto­ma­ti­cal­ly lead to an acquit­tal. The Hig­her Court of the Can­ton of Solo­thurn will now have to assess whe­ther the other evi­dence, for examp­le the record­ing of working hours or inter­ro­ga­ti­ons con­duc­ted, without the uti­liz­a­ti­on of the video sequen­ces, is suf­fi­ci­ent to con­vict the employee (E. 4.6).

Com­ments: Distinc­tion from pri­va­te video sur­veil­lan­ce on sus­pi­ci­on of theft.

It is par­ti­cu­lar­ly inte­re­sting to note the Federal Court’s refe­rence to the Distinc­tion from the pri­va­te collec­tion of evi­dence (E. 4.3, with refe­rence to BGer 6B_536/2009 of Novem­ber 12, 2009 and BGer 9C_785/2010 of June 10, 2011). The­se two deci­si­ons dealt with the que­sti­on of usa­bi­li­ty of video record­ings made pri­va­te­ly by the employ­er hims­elf without the know­ledge of the employees in the cashier’s office of the respec­ti­ve com­pa­ny on sus­pi­ci­on of theft.

In con­trast to the assess­ment of sta­te or poli­ce sur­veil­lan­ce, the que­sti­on of whe­ther the video sur­veil­lan­ce car­ri­ed out inter­fe­red with the fun­da­men­tal rights of the moni­to­red per­sons was not the sub­ject of the­se deci­si­ons. In the Video sur­veil­lan­ce under pri­va­te law Rather, it is a mat­ter of exami­ning cri­mi­nal (Art. 179quater StGB), labor law (Art. 26 of Ordi­nan­ce 3 to the Labor Law [ArGV 3]) and data pro­tec­tion regu­la­ti­ons (esp. Art. 12 DSG as well as the gene­ral data pro­ces­sing princi­ples in Art. 4 DSG). For such pri­va­te video record­ings on sus­pi­ci­on of theft, the fol­lo­wing app­lies in sum­ma­ry (cf. BGer 9C_785/2010 E. 6.3):

  • The Federal Act on the Sur­veil­lan­ce of Postal and Tele­com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons Traf­fic of Octo­ber 6, 2000 (BÜPFSR 780.1) shall app­ly to Pri­va­te­ly collec­ted evi­dence No app­li­ca­ti­on.
  • The video record­ings taken in the cashier’s room ful­fil­led in casu also not the facts of Art. 179quater StGB.
  • Art. 26 para. 1 ArGV 3 is to be inter­pre­ted restric­tively so that only moni­to­ring systems are pro­hi­bi­ted which are likely to affect the health or well-being of employees (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.6.1). Moni­to­ring does not affect the health of workers eo ipso (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.6.2).
  • Through video sur­veil­lan­ce of the cashier’s office (at least in the cases to be jud­ged) does not moni­tor the beha­vi­or of employees at the work­place over a lon­ger peri­od of time – which would be inad­mis­si­ble -. but essen­ti­al­ly covers the cash regi­ster at which the employees are spo­ra­di­cal­ly and brief­ly were pre­sent. Accord­ing to the Federal Supre­me Court, such sur­veil­lan­ce is not likely to impair the health and well-being of employees (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.6.3). This is true as long as at least No com­pre­hen­si­ve and per­ma­nent moni­to­ring takes place and the tapes only sub­se­quent­ly eva­lua­ted beco­me (BGer 9C_785/2010 E. 6.7.2, with refe­rence to BGE 130 II 425 E. 6.5).
  • Accord­ing to the Federal Supre­me Court, such video sur­veil­lan­ce of the cashier’s office also aimed at pre­ven­ting cri­mi­nal acts by third par­ties, which is why the busi­ness owner had a con­si­derable inte­rest had any inte­rest in sur­veil­lan­ce. Under the given cir­cum­stan­ces, the employees’ per­so­nal rights were not unlaw­ful­ly vio­la­ted by the video came­ra accord­ing to the Federal Court (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.7).
  • The pri­va­te video record­ings vio­la­ted in casu not con­tra­ry to Art. 26 ArGV 3 and could be used as evi­dence (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.8).

Das Bun­des­ge­richt hat­te im Urteil 6B_181/2018 vom 20. Dezem­ber 2018 zu ent­schei­den, ob poli­zei­lich ange­ord­ne­te Video­auf­nah­men in den Geschäfts­räum­lich­kei­ten eines Unter­neh­mens als Bewei­se ver­wert­bar sind. Wegen Ver­dachts auf Dieb­stahl im eige­nen Betrieb hat­te der Geschäfts­füh­rer des betrof­fe­nen Betriebs Straf­an­zei­ge gegen unbe­kannt erstat­tet. Die Kan­tons­po­li­zei Solo­thurn instal­lier­te im betrof­fe­nen Betrieb dar­auf­hin Kame­ras, mit wel­chen wäh­rend rund fünf Wochen ein Büro mit Küche, wo sich ein Tre­sor befand, über­wacht wur­de. Kun­den­be­rei­che wur­den nicht über­wacht. Die Auf­nah­men wur­den mit der Ein­wil­li­gung der Geschäfts­füh­rer, aber ohne Wis­sen der auf­ge­nom­me­nen Mit­ar­bei­ter, vor­ge­nom­men. Das Ober­ge­richt des Kan­tons Solo­thurn hat­te eine Ange­stell­te unter Ver­wer­tung ein­zel­ner Auf­nah­me­se­quen­zen wegen mehr­fa­chem gering­fü­gi­gem Dieb­stahl zu einer Bus­se ver­ur­teilt (Urteil STBER.2016.73 vom 4. Janu­ar 2018).

Das Bun­des­ge­richt setz­te sich zunächst mit der Fra­ge aus­ein­an­der, ob die poli­zei­li­che Video­über­wa­chung über­haupt eine Zwangs­mass­nah­me i.S.v. Art. 196 StPO dar­stellt. Eine Zwangs­mass­nah­me liegt vor, sobald eine Ver­fah­rens­hand­lung von Straf­be­hör­den in Grund­rech­te ein­greift, um Bewei­se zu sichern (Art. 196 lit. a StPO). Das Bun­des­ge­richt kommt, ent­ge­gen der Auf­fas­sung der Vor­in­stanz, zum Schluss, dass sämt­li­che staat­li­chen, daten­be­zo­ge­nen Tätig­kei­ten, und daher ins­be­son­de­re auch die poli­zei­li­chen Video­auf­nah­men, in das Grund­recht der ver­ur­teil­ten Ange­stell­ten auf Pri­vat­sphä­re und infor­ma­tio­nel­le Selbst­be­stim­mung gemäss Art. 13 BV ein­grei­fen. Die Video­auf­nah­men der Poli­zei sei­en daher als Zwangs­mass­nah­men zu qua­li­fi­zie­ren (E. 4.2).

Von staat­lich ange­ord­ne­ten Video­auf­nah­men sei­en pri­va­te Beweis­erhe­bun­gen zu unter­schei­den, bei denen sich anstatt grund­recht­li­cher, viel­mehr straf-, arbeits-, daten­schutz- und per­sön­lich­keits­recht­li­che Fra­gen stel­len (E. 4.3; vgl. dazu die Bemer­kun­gen unten).

Wei­ter stell­te das Bun­des­ge­richt – wie­der­um im Gegen­satz zur Vor­in­stanz – klar, dass im vor­lie­gen­den Fall kei­ne gül­ti­ge Ein­wil­li­gung in den Grund­rechts­ein­griff erfolg­te. Die Geschäfts­füh­rer des Unter­neh­mens waren

[…] nicht befugt, an Stel­le der von der Über­wa­chung betrof­fe­nen Beschwer­de­füh­re­rin [sc. Ange­stell­ten] in die Über­wa­chung ein­zu­wil­li­gen und so über deren Grund­recht auf Pri­vat­sphä­re bzw. infor­ma­tio­nel­le Selbst­be­stim­mung zu ver­fü­gen. (E. 4.4)

In der Fol­ge hielt das Bun­des­ge­richt fest, dass die Zwangs­mass­nah­me in der Form des Ein­sat­zes tech­ni­scher Über­wa­chungs­ge­rä­te i.S.v. Art. 280 lit. b StPO erfolg­te, wel­cher von der Staats­an­walt­schaft ange­ord­net (Art. 280 StPO) und vom Zwangs­mass­nah­men­ge­richt geneh­migt wer­den müss­te (Art. 281 Abs. 4 i.V.m. Art. 272 Abs. 1 StPO). Da die Video­über­wa­chung ledig­lich von der Poli­zei ange­ord­net und nicht geneh­migt wur­de, sei­en die Erkennt­nis­se dar­aus gemäss Art. 277 Abs. 2 StPO abso­lut unver­wert­bar (E. 4.5).

Das vom Bun­des­ge­richt ange­ord­ne­te Beweis­ver­wer­tungs­ver­bot führ­te jedoch nicht auto­ma­tisch zu einem Frei­spruch. Das Ober­ge­richt des Kan­tons Solo­thurn wird nun beur­tei­len müs­sen, ob die ande­ren Beweis­mit­tel, bei­spiels­wei­se die Arbeits­zeit­er­fas­sung oder durch­ge­führ­te Ein­ver­nah­men, ohne die Ver­wer­tung der Video­se­quen­zen, aus­rei­chen, um die Ange­stell­te zu ver­ur­tei­len (E. 4.6).

Bemerkungen: Abgrenzung zur privaten Videoüberwachung wegen Diebstahlverdacht

Inter­es­sant ist ins­be­son­de­re der Hin­weis des Bun­des­ge­richts auf die Unter­schei­dung zur pri­va­ten Beweis­erhe­bung (E. 4.3, mit Ver­weis auf BGer 6B_536/2009 vom 12. Novem­ber 2009 und BGer 9C_785/2010 vom 10. Juni 2011). Bei die­sen bei­den Ent­schei­den ging es um die Fra­ge der Ver­wert­bar­keit von pri­vat durch den Arbeit­ge­ber sel­ber ohne Wis­sen der Mit­ar­bei­ter erstell­ten Video­auf­nah­men im Kas­sen­raum des jewei­li­gen Unter­neh­mens wegen Dieb­stahl­ver­dachts.

Im Gegen­satz zur Beur­tei­lung einer staat­li­chen bzw. poli­zei­li­chen Über­wa­chung war die Fra­ge, ob die durch­ge­führ­te Video­über­wa­chung in die Grund­rech­te der Über­wach­ten ein­griff, nicht Gegen­stand die­ser Ent­schei­de. Bei der pri­vat­recht­li­chen Video­über­wa­chung geht es viel­mehr um die Prü­fung straf­recht­li­cher (Art. 179quater StGB), arbeits­recht­li­cher (Art. 26 der Ver­ord­nung 3 zum Arbeits­ge­setz [ArGV 3]) und daten­schutz­recht­li­cher Bestim­mun­gen (ins­bes. Art. 12 DSG sowie die all­ge­mei­nen Daten­be­ar­bei­tungs­grund­sät­ze in Art. 4 DSG). Für sol­che pri­va­ten Video­auf­nah­men wegen Ver­dachts auf Dieb­stahl gilt zusam­men­fas­send Fol­gen­des (vgl. BGer 9C_785/2010 E. 6.3):

  • Das Bun­des­ge­setz betref­fend die Über­wa­chung des Post- und Fern­mel­de­ver­kehrs vom 6. Okto­ber 2000 (BÜPF; SR 780.1) fin­det auf pri­vat erho­be­ne Beweis­mit­tel kei­ne Anwen­dung.
  • Die im Kas­sen­raum auf­ge­nom­me­nen Video­auf­nah­men erfüll­ten in casu auch nicht den Tat­be­stand von Art. 179quater StGB.
  • Art. 26 Abs. 1 ArGV 3 ist ein­schrän­kend aus­zu­le­gen, so dass nur Über­wa­chungs­sy­ste­me ver­bo­ten sind, wel­che geeig­net sind, die Gesund­heit oder das Wohl­be­fin­den der Arbeit­neh­mer zu beein­träch­ti­gen (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.6.1). Eine Über­wa­chung beein­träch­tigt die Gesund­heit der Arbeit­neh­mer nicht eo ipso (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.6.2).
  • Durch Video­über­wa­chung des Kas­sen­rau­mes wur­de (jeden­falls in den zu beur­tei­len­den Fäl­len) nicht das Ver­hal­ten der Arbeit­neh­mer am Arbeits­platz über län­ge­re Zeit über­wacht – was unzu­läs­sig wäre – , son­dern im Wesent­li­chen die Kas­se erfasst, an wel­cher sich die Arbeit­neh­mer spo­ra­disch und kurz­zei­tig auf­hiel­ten. Eine sol­che Über­wa­chung ist nach Ansicht des Bun­des­ge­richts nicht geeig­net, Gesund­heit und Wohl­be­fin­den der Arbeit­neh­mer zu beein­träch­ti­gen (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.6.3). Dies trifft zu, solan­ge jeden­falls kei­ne umfas­sen­de und per­ma­nen­te Über­wa­chung statt­fin­det und die Bän­der erst nach­träg­lich aus­ge­wer­tet wer­den (BGer 9C_785/2010 E. 6.7.2, mit Ver­weis auf BGE 130 II 425 E. 6.5).
  • Eine sol­che Video­über­wa­chung des Kas­sen­raums bezweck­te nach Ansicht des Bun­des­ge­richts auch die Ver­hin­de­rung von Straf­ta­ten durch Drit­te, wes­halb der Geschäfts­in­ha­ber ein erheb­li­ches Inter­es­se an einer Über­wa­chung hat­te. Unter den gege­be­nen Umstän­den waren die Per­sön­lich­keits­rech­te der Arbeit­neh­mer durch die Video­ka­me­ra gemäss Bun­des­ge­richt nicht wider­recht­lich ver­letzt (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.7).
  • Die pri­va­ten Video­auf­nah­men ver­stie­ssen in casu nicht gegen Art. 26 ArGV 3 und konn­ten als Beweis­mit­tel ver­wer­tet wer­den (BGer 6B_536/2009 E. 3.8).

Posted by Monique Sturny