Inter­pel­la­ti­on Stahl (15.3850): Data reque­sted by the FOPH from health insurers

Inter­pel­la­ti­on Stahl (15.3850): Data reque­sted by the FOPH from health insu­rers
Not yet dis­cus­sed in the Council

Sub­mit­ted text

The bodies ent­ru­sted with the imple­men­ta­ti­on, con­trol or super­vi­si­on of the imple­men­ta­ti­on of the Health Insuran­ce Act (HIA) are aut­ho­ri­zed under Arti­cle 84 HIA to pro­cess or have pro­ces­sed per­so­nal data, inclu­ding data requi­ring spe­cial pro­tec­tion and per­so­na­li­ty pro­files, for the pur­po­ses pro­vi­ded for in liters a to i of the same pro­vi­si­on, which they requi­re in order to be able to per­form the tasks assi­gned to them under the Act.

The level of detail and the scope of the data to be pro­vi­ded have recent­ly been con­ti­nuous­ly expan­ded by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). Sin­ce 2014, for examp­le, insu­rers have been requi­red to pro­vi­de the FOPH with indi­vi­du­al data in addi­ti­on to finan­cial data (e.g. cer­tain indi­vi­du­al tariff items for cer­tain tariffs).

In this con­text, I would ask the Federal Coun­cil to ans­wer the fol­lo­wing questions:

1. what data is pro­ces­sed and for what purposes?

2. are the­se data necessa­ry and appro­pria­te for the exer­cise of the super­vi­so­ry acti­vi­ty over health insurers?

3. are the legal bases for the collec­tion of this data sufficient?

4. to what extent is com­pli­an­ce with the con­sti­tu­tio­nal princi­ples of pro­por­tio­na­li­ty and public inte­rest recon­ci­led with the pro­ces­sing of par­ti­cu­lar­ly sen­si­ti­ve data and per­so­na­li­ty profiles?

5) How does the FOPH ensu­re com­pli­an­ce with data pro­tec­tion regu­la­ti­ons in detail?

(6) Are the admi­ni­stra­ti­ve costs incur­red by insu­rers in collec­ting this data pro­por­tio­na­te to the objec­ti­ve pursued?

7 Accord­ing to Arti­cle 82 (2) of the Health Insuran­ce Super­vi­si­on Ordi­nan­ce (E‑KVAV), the super­vi­so­ry aut­ho­ri­ty shall ensu­re that the insu­rer incurs as litt­le expen­se as pos­si­ble in pro­vi­ding the data. How is this cir­cum­stance taken into account?

8. based on Arti­cle 82 E‑KVAV, the scope of the data to be pro­vi­ded is to be expan­ded even fur­ther. How is this even more far-rea­ching intru­si­on into the pri­va­cy of each indi­vi­du­al justified?

9. in its acti­vi­ty report published on June 29, 2015, the Federal Data Pro­tec­tion and Infor­ma­ti­on Com­mis­sio­ner deman­ds that the data requi­red by health insu­rers for invoice con­trol be limi­ted. On the other hand, the super­vi­so­ry aut­ho­ri­ty is deman­ding more and more data from health insu­rers. How does the Federal Coun­cil view this contradiction?

State­ment of the Federal Coun­cil of 4.12.2015

Health insu­rers are obli­ged to pro­vi­de the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) annu­al­ly with infor­ma­ti­on on the data gene­ra­ted in the cour­se of bil­ling for ser­vices and insuran­ce acti­vi­ties as part of the super­vi­si­on of the imple­men­ta­ti­on of the KVG (Art. 21 Para. 4 KVG; SR 832.10). They are aut­ho­ri­zed by law to dis­c­lo­se data in par­ti­cu­lar to the bodies ent­ru­sted with the imple­men­ta­ti­on as well as the con­trol or super­vi­si­on of the imple­men­ta­ti­on of the KVG, if the data are necessa­ry for the ful­fill­ment of the tasks of the bodies (Art. 84a para. 1 let. a KVG). The pur­po­se and scope of data pro­vi­si­on are set out in Arti­cle 28 of the Health Insuran­ce Ordi­nan­ce (KVV; SR 832.102). In par­ti­cu­lar, this also obli­ges insu­rers to pro­vi­de data per insu­red per­son (Art. 28 Para. 3 KVV). In doing so, the deli­very must be made while pre­ser­ving the anony­mi­ty of the insu­red per­son (Art. 28 Para. 5 KVV). The data ser­ve not only to super­vi­se the acti­vi­ties of the insu­rers, but also to super­vi­se the enfor­ce­ment of the KVG, as sta­ted in the law. Among other things, the FOPH uses the data to moni­tor the effect and uni­form app­li­ca­ti­on of the law, and it ensu­res the equal tre­at­ment of insu­red per­sons. It also uses the data to moni­tor the effi­ci­en­cy of the ser­vices pro­vi­ded. A fur­ther pur­po­se results from Arti­cle 32 KVV (impact ana­ly­sis). The new­ly collec­ted indi­vi­du­al data are nee­ded for reviews that can­not be car­ri­ed out with aggre­ga­ted data. Only the­se data enab­le, for examp­le, the deter­mi­na­ti­on of pre­mi­um cor­rec­tions, the cal­cu­la­ti­on of pre­mi­ums paid too much or too litt­le, or simu­la­ti­ons of the tariff structure.

Arti­cle 28 KVV has exi­sted in essen­ti­al parts sin­ce the ordi­nan­ce came into for­ce on Janu­a­ry 1, 1996. With the amend­ment of Febru­a­ry 23, 2000, the arti­cle was sup­ple­men­ted and spe­ci­fied to the effect that data per insu­red per­son are expli­ci­tly collec­ted down to the level of the tariff item, invoice with details of the ser­vice pro­vi­der. Howe­ver, for tech­ni­cal rea­sons and fol­lo­wing the imple­men­ta­ti­on of a pilot pro­ject, the FOPH is only now requi­ring their deli­very; the first anony­mi­zed indi­vi­du­al data have been collec­ted by the FOPH sin­ce 2014.

4/5 The FOPH collects admi­ni­stra­ti­ve data that do not allow any con­clu­si­ons to be drawn about indi­vi­du­als and that are docu­men­ted in the con­text of the invoi­cing of ser­vices or insuran­ce acti­vi­ties. In the case of the new­ly collec­ted indi­vi­du­al data on bene­fits, no detail­ed infor­ma­ti­on on a tariff item was pre­vious­ly collec­ted, but only total costs per coverage peri­od. Fur­ther­mo­re, the data collec­tion is limi­ted to the KVG invoices that the insu­rers recei­ve and bill. They do not con­tain any addi­tio­nal health data such as diagnoses.

The indi­vi­du­al data are trans­mit­ted to the FOPH pseud­ony­mi­zed (i.e. sup­ple­men­ted with an encryp­ted con­nec­tion code per insu­red per­son to cal­cu­la­te the costs by tre­at­ment epi­so­de). After pro­ces­sing and in the eva­lua­tions, no con­clu­si­ons can be drawn about the indi­vi­du­al insu­red per­sons or ser­vice pro­vi­ders. The repro­ces­sing pro­cess is docu­men­ted, and refe­rence is made to it in the pro­ces­sing regu­la­ti­ons. The FOPH imple­ments the gui­de­li­nes of the gui­de on the mini­mum requi­re­ments for the data manage­ment system, which app­ly to data collec­tions. The princip­le of pro­por­tio­na­li­ty of the Data Pro­tec­tion Act (Art. 4 para. 2 FADP; SR 235.1) is also observed.

6/9 Becau­se the data for the per­for­mance of the insuran­ce acti­vi­ty or for other sur­veys are alrea­dy lar­ge­ly avail­ab­le in the systems of the insu­rers and the moda­li­ties of the data deli­very are also dis­cus­sed with the insu­rers, the deli­very of the first indi­vi­du­al data only leads to a minor addi­tio­nal effort for the insurers.

The workload for data sup­pliers is fur­ther redu­ced becau­se nume­rous eva­lua­tions no lon­ger have to be pre­pa­red accord­ing to a wide varie­ty of dimen­si­ons for the pro­ces­sing of indi­vi­du­al que­sti­ons, but can be pre­pa­red by the FOPH its­elf on the basis of the indi­vi­du­al data supplied.

Based on the results of the con­sul­ta­ti­on on the draft of the Health Insuran­ce Super­vi­si­on Ordi­nan­ce (KVAV), the arti­cles con­cer­ning data remain lar­ge­ly unch­an­ged in the KVV. Only the super­vi­so­ry aut­ho­ri­ty may now link the insu­rers’ data with other data sources in order to redu­ce the workload. An exten­si­on to other data is not planned.

For the 2013 sur­vey year, the details of the tech­ni­cal data pro­ces­sing of the indi­vi­du­al data were agreed joint­ly with the insu­rers. The FOPH con­ti­nues to grant them the oppor­tu­ni­ty to join an accom­pany­ing group and to par­ti­ci­pa­te in pilot sur­veys, so that opti­miz­a­ti­on pos­si­bi­li­ties can be iden­ti­fied and imple­men­ted from the insu­rers’ point of view with a view to impro­ving qua­li­ty and redu­cing the effort involved.

Inter­pel­la­ti­on Stahl (15.3850): Vom BAG gefor­der­te Daten der Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rer
Im Rat noch nicht behan­delt

Eingereichter Text

Die mit der Durch­füh­rung, der Kon­trol­le oder der Beauf­sich­ti­gung der Durch­füh­rung des Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rungs­ge­set­zes (KVG) betrau­ten Orga­ne sind gemäss Arti­kel 84 KVG befugt, Per­so­nen­da­ten, ein­schliess­lich beson­ders schüt­zens­wer­ter Daten und Per­sön­lich­keits­pro­fi­le, für die in den Literae a bis i der­sel­ben Bestim­mung vor­ge­se­he­nen Zwecke zu bear­bei­ten oder bear­bei­ten zu las­sen, die sie benö­ti­gen, um die ihnen gemäss Gesetz über­tra­ge­nen Auf­ga­ben erfül­len zu kön­nen.

Der Detail­lie­rungs­grad sowie der Umfang der zu lie­fern­den Daten wer­den in jüng­ster Zeit vom Bun­des­amt für Gesund­heit (BAG) fort­lau­fend aus­ge­dehnt. So sol­len die Ver­si­che­rer dem BAG seit dem Jahr 2014 neben den Finanz­da­ten auch Indi­vi­du­al­da­ten lie­fern (z. B. bestimm­te Ein­zel­ta­rif­po­si­tio­nen für bestimm­te Tari­fe).

In die­sem Zusam­men­hang bit­te ich den Bun­des­rat, fol­gen­de Fra­gen zu beant­wor­ten:

1. Wel­che Daten wer­den zu wel­chen Zwecken bear­bei­tet?

2. Sind die­se Daten für die Aus­übung der Auf­sichts­tä­tig­keit über die Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rer not­wen­dig und geeig­net?

3. Sind die gesetz­li­chen Grund­la­gen für die Samm­lung die­ser Daten aus­rei­chend?

4. Inwie­weit wird die Ein­hal­tung der ver­fas­sungs­mä­ssi­gen Grund­sät­ze der Ver­hält­nis­mä­ssig­keit und des öffent­li­chen Inter­es­ses mit der Bear­bei­tung von beson­ders schüt­zens­wer­ten Daten und Per­sön­lich­keits­pro­fi­len in Ein­klang gebracht?

5. Wie wird sei­tens des BAG die Ein­hal­tung der Daten­schutz­be­stim­mun­gen im Detail gewähr­lei­stet?

6. Ste­hen die auf­sei­ten der Ver­si­che­rer für die Samm­lung die­ser Daten ver­ur­sach­ten Ver­wal­tungs­ko­sten im Ver­hält­nis mit dem ange­streb­ten Ziel?

7. Gemäss Arti­kel 82 Absatz 2 der Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rungs­auf­sichts­ver­ord­nung (E-KVAV) sorgt die Auf­sichts­be­hör­de dafür, dass dem Ver­si­che­rer durch die Bereit­stel­lung der Daten mög­lichst wenig Auf­wand ent­steht. Wie wird die­sem Umstand Rech­nung getra­gen?

8. Gestützt auf Arti­kel 82 E-KVAV soll der Umfang der zu lie­fern­den Daten noch wei­ter aus­ge­baut wer­den. Wie wird die­ser noch weit­rei­chen­de­re Ein­griff in die Pri­vat­sphä­re eines jeden Ein­zel­nen gerecht­fer­tigt?

9. In sei­nem am 29. Juni 2015 ver­öf­fent­lich­ten Tätig­keits­be­richt for­dert der Eid­ge­nös­si­sche Daten­schutz- und Öffent­lich­keits­be­auf­trag­te, dass die Daten, wel­che die Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rer für die Rech­nungs­kon­trol­le benö­ti­gen, begrenzt wer­den. Auf der ande­ren Sei­te ver­langt die Auf­sichts­be­hör­de immer mehr Daten von den Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rern. Wie beur­teilt der Bun­des­rat die­sen Wider­spruch?

Stellungnahme des Bundesrats vom 4.12.2015

1. – 3. Die Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rer sind ver­pflich­tet, dem Bun­des­amt für Gesund­heit (BAG) im Rah­men der Auf­sicht über den Voll­zug des KVG jähr­lich Anga­ben über die Daten zu machen, die im Rah­men der Fak­tu­rie­rung von Lei­stun­gen und der Ver­si­che­rungs­tä­tig­keit anfal­len (Art. 21 Abs. 4 KVG; SR 832.10). Sie sind gesetz­lich befugt, ins­be­son­de­re den mit der Durch­füh­rung sowie der Kon­trol­le oder der Beauf­sich­ti­gung der Durch­füh­rung des KVG betrau­ten Orga­nen Daten bekannt­zu­ge­ben, wenn die Daten für die Erfül­lung der Auf­ga­ben der Orga­ne erfor­der­lich sind (Art. 84a Abs. 1 Bst. a KVG). Zweck und Umfang der Daten­lie­fe­rung sind in Arti­kel 28 der Ver­ord­nung über die Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rung (KVV; SR 832.102) fest­ge­hal­ten. Ins­be­son­de­re ver­pflich­tet die­ser die Ver­si­che­rer auch zur Wei­ter­ga­be von Daten pro ver­si­cher­te Per­son (Art. 28 Abs. 3 KVV). Dabei hat die Lie­fe­rung unter der Wah­rung der Anony­mi­tät der Ver­si­cher­ten zu erfol­gen (Art. 28 Abs. 5 KVV). Die Daten die­nen nicht nur der Auf­sicht über die Tätig­keit der Ver­si­che­rer, son­dern auch der Auf­sicht über den Voll­zug des KVG, wie im Gesetz fest­ge­hal­ten. Unter ande­rem über­wacht das BAG anhand der Daten die Wir­kung und ein­heit­li­che Anwen­dung des Geset­zes, und es stellt die Gleich­be­hand­lung der Ver­si­cher­ten sicher. Auch kon­trol­liert es anhand die­ser Daten die Wirt­schaft­lich­keit der erbrach­ten Lei­stun­gen. Ein wei­te­rer Ver­wen­dungs­zweck ergibt sich aus Arti­kel 32 KVV (Wir­kungs­ana­ly­se). Die neu­er­ho­be­nen Ein­zel­da­ten wer­den für Über­prü­fun­gen benö­tigt, wel­che nicht mit aggre­gier­ten Daten durch­ge­führt wer­den kön­nen. Nur die­se Daten ermög­li­chen bei­spiels­wei­se die Ermitt­lung von Prä­mi­en­kor­rek­tu­ren, die Berech­nung der zu viel oder zu wenig bezahl­ten Prä­mi­en oder Simu­la­tio­nen der Tarif­struk­tur.

Arti­kel 28 KVV exi­stiert in wesent­li­chen Tei­len seit Inkraft­tre­ten der Ver­ord­nung am 1. Janu­ar 1996. Mit der Ände­rung vom 23. Febru­ar 2000 wur­de der Arti­kel ergänzt und dahin­ge­hend prä­zi­siert, dass Daten pro ver­si­cher­te Per­son expli­zit bis auf Ebe­ne der Tarif­po­si­ti­on, Rech­nung mit Anga­be des Lei­stungs­er­brin­gers, erho­ben wer­den. Aus tech­ni­schen Grün­den und nach der Durch­füh­rung eines Pilot­pro­jekts ver­langt das BAG jedoch erst jetzt deren Lie­fe­rung; erste anony­mi­sier­te Ein­zel­da­ten erhebt das BAG seit dem Jahr 2014.

4./5. Das BAG erhebt admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Daten, die kei­ne Rück­schlüs­se auf Per­so­nen zulas­sen und die im Rah­men der Fak­tu­rie­rung der Lei­stun­gen oder der Ver­si­che­rungs­tä­tig­keit doku­men­tiert wer­den. Dabei wur­de bei den neu­er­ho­be­nen Ein­zel­da­ten zu den Lei­stun­gen bis­her kei­ne detail­lier­te Anga­be einer Tarif­po­si­ti­on erho­ben, son­dern nur Gesamt­ko­sten pro Deckungs­pe­ri­ode. Wei­ter beschränkt sich die Daten­er­he­bung auf die KVG-Rech­nun­gen, wel­che die Ver­si­che­rer erhal­ten und abrech­nen. Sie ent­hal­ten kei­ne zusätz­li­chen Gesund­heits­da­ten wie Dia­gno­sen.

Die Ein­zel­da­ten wer­den dem BAG pseud­ony­mi­siert (d. h. ergänzt mit einem ver­schlüs­sel­ten Ver­bin­dungs­code pro ver­si­cher­te Per­son zur Berech­nung der Kosten nach Behand­lungs­epi­so­de) über­mit­telt. Nach der Auf­be­rei­tung und bei den Aus­wer­tun­gen sind kei­ne Rück­schlüs­se auf die ein­zel­nen Ver­si­cher­ten oder Lei­stungs­er­brin­ger mög­lich. Der Auf­be­rei­tungs­pro­zess ist doku­men­tiert, und im Bear­bei­tungs­re­gle­ment wird dar­auf ver­wie­sen. Das BAG setzt die Richt­li­ni­en des Leit­fa­dens über die Min­dest­an­for­de­run­gen an das Daten­ma­nage­ment­sy­stem um, wel­che für Daten­samm­lun­gen gel­ten. Dabei wird auch der Ver­hält­nis­mä­ssig­keits­grund­satz des Daten­schutz­ge­set­zes (Art. 4 Abs. 2 DSG; SR 235.1) ein­ge­hal­ten.

6./9. Weil die Daten für die Aus­übung der Ver­si­che­rungs­tä­tig­keit oder für ander­wei­ti­ge Erhe­bun­gen bereits weit­ge­hend in den Syste­men der Ver­si­che­rer vor­lie­gen und die Moda­li­tä­ten der Daten­lie­fe­rung mit den Ver­si­che­rern auch bespro­chen wer­den, führt die Lie­fe­rung der ersten Ein­zel­da­ten für die Ver­si­che­rer nur zu einem gerin­gen Mehr­auf­wand.

Der Auf­wand wird bei den Daten­lie­fe­ran­ten wei­ter redu­ziert, weil zahl­rei­che Aus­wer­tun­gen nicht mehr nach unter­schied­lich­sten Dimen­sio­nen für die Bear­bei­tung ein­zel­ner Fra­gen auf­be­rei­tet wer­den müs­sen, son­dern anhand der gelie­fer­ten Ein­zel­da­ten vom BAG sel­ber erstellt wer­den kön­nen.

7./8. Auf­grund der Resul­ta­te der Anhö­rung zum Ent­wurf der Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rungs­auf­sichts­ver­ord­nung (KVAV) ver­blei­ben die Arti­kel betref­fend die Daten weit­ge­hend unver­än­dert in der KVV. Ein­zig darf die Auf­sichts­be­hör­de zur Ver­min­de­rung des Auf­wan­des neu die Daten der Ver­si­che­rer mit ande­ren Daten­quel­len ver­knüp­fen. Eine Erwei­te­rung auf wei­te­re Daten ist nicht vor­ge­se­hen.

Für das Erhe­bungs­jahr 2013 wur­den die Details der tech­ni­schen Daten­auf­be­rei­tung der Ein­zel­da­ten gemein­sam mit den Ver­si­che­rern abge­stimmt. Das BAG gewährt ihnen auch wei­ter­hin die Mög­lich­keit, einer Begleit­grup­pe bei­zu­tre­ten und an Pilo­ter­he­bun­gen teil­zu­neh­men, sodass Opti­mie­rungs­mög­lich­kei­ten aus Sicht der Ver­si­che­rer im Hin­blick auf eine Qua­li­täts­stei­ge­rung und Redu­zie­rung des Auf­wan­des erkannt und umge­setzt wer­den kön­nen.

Posted by David Vasella

RA Dr. David Vasella ist Rechtsanwalt bei FRORIEP. Er ist auf IT-, Datenschutz- und Immaterialgüterrecht spezialisiert und ist Lehrbeauftragter der Universität Zürich. Er ist Gründer von swissblawg.