New digi­tal stra­te­gy laun­ched by the Federal Council

On April 20, 2016, the Federal Coun­cil adop­ted the new “Digi­tal Switz­er­land” stra­te­gy (Link). It replaces the pre­vious stra­te­gy for an infor­ma­ti­on socie­ty in Switz­er­land from 2012, which only app­lied to the federal government. With the new stra­te­gy, the Federal Coun­cil aims to

[…] con­tri­bu­te to our coun­try bene­fit­ing more from incre­a­sing digi­tiz­a­ti­on and deve­lo­ping even more dyna­mi­cal­ly as an inno­va­ti­ve eco­no­my. The eco­no­my should be able to deve­lop as free­ly as pos­si­ble in the digi­tal space. With a view to an infor­med and demo­cra­tic socie­ty and to safe­guar­ding wel­fa­re, it is also of cen­tral import­ance that the inha­bi­tants of Switz­er­land are able to use modern infor­ma­ti­on and com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on tech­no­lo­gies com­pe­t­ent­ly and secu­re­ly in their dai­ly lives.

First and fore­most, the Federal Coun­cil would like to coor­di­na­te alrea­dy exi­sting acti­vi­ties and expert groups. In addition

  • the Federal Depart­ment of Eco­no­mic Affairs, Edu­ca­ti­on and Rese­arch (EAER) cla­ri­fies the frame­work con­di­ti­ons that are necessa­ry for the Swiss eco­no­my to take advan­ta­ge of the oppor­tu­nities offe­red by digi­tiz­a­ti­on, par­ti­cu­lar­ly in the are­as of com­pe­ti­ti­on law, regu­la­ti­on and the labor market;
  • DETEC is deve­lo­ping an over­view of access, hand­ling and secu­ri­ty of data in the Confederation;
  • the federal admi­ni­stra­ti­on is the­re­fo­re see­king coor­di­na­ted exchan­ge with the EU in this area.

Table of Contents

Der Bun­des­rat hat am 20. April 2016 die neue Stra­te­gie “Digi­ta­le Schweiz” ver­ab­schie­det (Link). Sie löst die bis­he­ri­ge Stra­te­gie für eine Infor­ma­ti­ons­ge­sell­schaft in der Schweiz aus dem Jahr 2012 ab, die nur für den Bund galt. Mit der neu­en Stra­te­gie möch­te der Bun­des­rat

[…] dazu bei­tra­gen, dass unser Land mehr von der zuneh­men­den Digi­ta­li­sie­rung pro­fi­tiert und sich als inno­va­ti­ve Volks­wirt­schaft noch dyna­mi­scher ent­wickelt. Die Wirt­schaft soll sich im digi­ta­len Raum mög­lichst frei ent­fal­ten kön­nen. Mit Blick auf eine infor­mier­te und demo­kra­ti­sche Gesell­schaft und zur Siche­rung der Wohl­fahrt ist es zudem von zen­tra­ler Bedeu­tung, dass die Ein­woh­ne­rin­nen und Ein­woh­ner der Schweiz die moder­nen Infor­ma­ti­ons- und Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­tech­no­lo­gi­en in ihrem täg­li­chen Leben kom­pe­tent und sicher nut­zen kön­nen.

Der Bun­des­rat möch­te in erster Linie bereits exi­stie­ren­de Akti­vi­tä­ten und Exper­ten­grup­pen auf­ein­an­der abstim­men. Zusätz­lich

  • klärt das Eid­ge­nös­si­sche Depar­te­ment für Wirt­schaft, Bil­dung und For­schung (WBF) die Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen, die nötig sind, damit die schwei­ze­ri­sche Volks­wirt­schaft die Chan­cen der Digi­ta­li­sie­rung nut­zen kann, ins­be­son­de­re im Bereich Wett­be­werbs­recht, Regu­lie­rung und Arbeits­markt;
  • das UVEK erar­bei­tet eine Über­sicht zum Zugang, Umgang und zur Sicher­heit von Daten im Bund;
  • die Bun­des­ver­wal­tung sucht daher koor­di­niert den Aus­tausch mit der EU auf die­sem Gebiet.

Posted by David Vasella

RA Dr. David Vasella ist Rechtsanwalt bei FRORIEP. Er ist auf IT-, Datenschutz- und Immaterialgüterrecht spezialisiert und ist Lehrbeauftragter der Universität Zürich. Er ist Gründer von swissblawg.