datenrecht.ch

Postu­la­te Bul­li­ard-Mar­bach (17.3550): E‑Health 2030. Plan­ning ahead for digi­tizati­on in the heal­th­ca­re sec­tor through a for­ward-loo­king study

Postu­la­te Bul­li­ard-Mar­bach (17.3550): E‑Health 2030. Plan­ning ahead for digi­tizati­on in the heal­th­ca­re sec­tor through a for­ward-loo­king study

Sub­mit­ted text

The Fede­ral Coun­cil is ins­truc­ted to pre­sent a future-ori­en­ted report on the ongo­ing digi­ta­lizati­on in the heal­th­ca­re sec­tor. Based on the com­pe­ten­ci­es available in Switz­er­land as well as abroad, the report is to iden­ti­fy the chan­ges to be expec­ted in the dai­ly prac­ti­ce of heal­th­ca­re pro­fes­sio­nals by 2030. It also asses­ses the con­se­quen­ces of digi­tizati­on for the Swiss heal­th­ca­re system and the trai­ning of heal­th­ca­re pro­fes­sio­nals. In addi­ti­on, the report iden­ti­fi­es accom­pany­ing mea­su­res for digi­tizati­on, both in the area of data pro­tec­tion and with regard to accep­tance of the­se chan­ges by patients.
REASON

Justi­fi­ca­ti­on

The digi­tizati­on of our eco­no­my and socie­ty will also have a fun­da­men­tal impact on the heal­th­ca­re sec­tor. The fede­ral govern­ment and the can­tons are joi­ning forces to intro­du­ce the elec­tro­nic pati­ent dos­sier – this is an important step. But with the emer­gence of arti­fi­ci­al intel­li­gence as a dia­gno­stic tool, robo­tics and ongo­ing rese­arch acti­vi­ties in the field of per­so­na­li­zed medi­ci­ne, many new que­sti­ons are emer­ging. A for­ward-loo­king report is inten­ded to pro­vi­de a medi­um-term, holi­stic approach and frame­work for discussion.
The report must ans­wer the fol­lo­wing questions:

  1. How important will arti­fi­ci­al intel­li­gence be in Swiss hos­pi­tals and in gene­ral prac­ti­tio­ners’ and pedia­tri­ci­ans’ prac­ti­ces by 2030?
  2. What are the con­se­quen­ces of the­se chan­ges for the dai­ly work of heal­th­ca­re pro­fes­sio­nals and for the divi­si­on of tasks bet­ween nur­ses and physicians?
  3. What are the con­se­quen­ces of the­se tech­no­lo­gi­cal and prac­ti­cal chan­ges for the Swiss heal­th­ca­re system as a who­le and, more spe­ci­fi­cal­ly, for its financing?
  4. What con­se­quen­ces can be fore­seen in basic medi­cal trai­ning, espe­ci­al­ly with regard to the acqui­si­ti­on of infor­ma­tics skills?
  5. What con­se­quen­ces can be fore­seen in the area of con­ti­nuing medi­cal education?
  6. What are the impli­ca­ti­ons of the­se chan­ges for nur­sing education?
  7. How to ensu­re that digi­tizati­on is in the patient’s best inte­rest and that they can under­stand it?

OPINION OF THE FEDERAL COUNCIL OF 30.08.2017

State­ment of the Fede­ral Council

The Fede­ral Coun­cil shares the postulant’s assess­ment that digi­tizati­on is an important dri­ver for the sus­tainable fur­ther deve­lo­p­ment of heal­th­ca­re in Switz­er­land. In order to bet­ter rea­li­ze the bene­fits expec­ted from digi­tizati­on, such as impro­ving the qua­li­ty of tre­at­ment, incre­a­sing pati­ent safe­ty, and incre­a­sing effi­ci­en­cy, the Fede­ral Coun­cil, as part of the adop­ti­on of the “Digi­tal Switz­er­land” stra­tegy in April 2016, has set the Deve­lo­p­ment of the “eHe­alth Switz­er­land 2.0 Stra­tegy has been com­mis­sio­ned. This is curr­ent­ly being pre­pared by the fede­ral govern­ment tog­e­ther with the can­tons. As part of this work, the imple­men­ta­ti­on of the mea­su­res cal­led for in the postu­la­te will also be examined.

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

Postu­lat Bul­li­ard-Mar­bach (17.3550): E-Health 2030. Die Digi­ta­li­sie­rung im Gesund­heits­be­reich durch eine zukunfts­ori­en­tier­te Stu­die vor­aus­pla­nen

Eingereichter Text

Der Bun­des­rat wird beauf­tragt, einen zukunfts­ori­en­tier­ten Bericht zur lau­fen­den Digi­ta­li­sie­rung im Gesund­heits­be­reich vor­zu­le­gen. Basie­rend auf den in der Schweiz sowie im Aus­land vor­han­de­nen Kom­pe­ten­zen soll der Bericht die bis 2030 zu erwar­ten­den Ver­än­de­run­gen in der täg­li­chen Pra­xis der medi­zi­ni­schen Fach­kräf­te iden­ti­fi­zie­ren. Eben­so bewer­tet er die Kon­se­quen­zen der Digi­ta­li­sie­rung für das Schwei­zer Gesund­heits­sy­stem und die Aus­bil­dung der medi­zi­ni­schen Fach­kräf­te. Ausser­dem zeigt der Bericht Begleit­mass­nah­men zur Digi­ta­li­sie­rung auf, sowohl im Bereich des Daten­schut­zes als auch bezüg­lich Akzep­tanz die­ser Ver­än­de­run­gen durch die Pati­en­ten.
BEGRÜNDUNG

Begründung

Die Digi­ta­li­sie­rung unse­rer Wirt­schaft und Gesell­schaft wird sich auch fun­da­men­tal auf den Gesund­heits­be­reich aus­wir­ken. Bund und Kan­to­ne bün­deln ihre Kräf­te, um das elek­tro­ni­sche Pati­en­ten­dos­sier ein­zu­füh­ren – das ist eine wich­ti­ge Etap­pe. Aber mit dem Auf­kom­men der künst­li­chen Intel­li­genz als Dia­gno­se­werk­zeug, der Robo­tik und den lau­fen­den For­schungs­ak­ti­vi­tä­ten im Bereich der per­so­na­li­sier­ten Medi­zin kom­men vie­le neue Fra­gen auf. Ein zukunfts­ori­en­tier­ter Bericht soll einen mit­tel­fri­sti­gen, ganz­heit­li­chen Ansatz und Dis­kus­si­ons­rah­men schaf­fen.
Der Bericht muss fol­gen­de Fra­gen beant­wor­ten:

  1. Wel­chen Stel­len­wert wird die künst­li­che Intel­li­genz in Schwei­zer Spi­tä­lern sowie in Haus­arzt- und Kin­der­arzt­pra­xen bis 2030 ein­neh­men?
  2. Wel­che Fol­gen hat die­se Ver­än­de­run­gen für die täg­li­che Arbeit der medi­zi­ni­schen Fach­kräf­te und für die Auf­ga­ben­tei­lung zwi­schen Pfle­ge­per­so­nal und Ärz­te­schaft?
  3. Wel­che Kon­se­quen­zen haben die­se tech­no­lo­gi­schen und prak­ti­schen Ver­än­de­run­gen für das Schwei­zer Gesund­heits­sy­stem als Gan­zes und im Spe­zi­el­len für des­sen Finan­zie­rung?
  4. Wel­che Kon­se­quen­zen sind in der ärzt­li­chen Grund­aus­bil­dung vor­aus­zu­se­hen, ins­be­son­de­re im Hin­blick auf den Erwerb von Infor­ma­tik­kennt­nis­sen?
  5. Wel­che Kon­se­quen­zen sind im Bereich der Wei­ter­bil­dung der Ärz­te vor­aus­zu­se­hen?
  6. Wel­che Fol­gen haben die Ver­än­de­run­gen für die Aus­bil­dung des Pfle­ge­per­so­nals?
  7. Wie ist zu gewähr­lei­sten, dass die Digi­ta­li­sie­rung im Inter­es­se des Pati­en­ten erfolgt und er die­se nach­voll­zie­hen kann?

STELLUNGNAHME DES BUNDESRATES VOM 30.08.2017

Stellungnahme des Bundesrats

Der Bun­des­rat teilt die Ein­schät­zung der Postu­lan­tin, dass die Digi­ta­li­sie­rung ein wich­ti­ger Trei­ber für eine nach­hal­ti­ge Wei­ter­ent­wick­lung der Gesund­heits­ver­sor­gung in der Schweiz dar­stellt. Damit die von der Digi­ta­li­sie­rung zu erwar­ten­den Nut­zen wie Ver­bes­se­rung der Behand­lungs­qua­li­tät, Erhö­hung der Pati­en­ten­si­cher­heit und Stei­ge­rung der Effi­zi­enz noch bes­ser rea­li­siert wer­den kön­nen, hat der Bun­des­rat im Rah­men der Ver­ab­schie­dung der Stra­te­gie “Digi­ta­le Schweiz” im April 2016 die Erar­bei­tung der “Stra­te­gie eHe­alth Schweiz 2.0” in Auf­trag gege­ben. Die­se wird zur­zeit vom Bund gemein­sam mit den Kan­to­nen erar­bei­tet. Im Rah­men die­ser Arbei­ten wird auch die Umset­zung der im Postu­lat gefor­der­ten Mass­nah­men geprüft wer­den.

Posted by David Vasella

RA Dr. David Vasella ist Rechtsanwalt bei FRORIEP. Er ist auf IT-, Datenschutz- und Immaterialgüterrecht spezialisiert und ist Lehrbeauftragter der Universität Zürich. Er ist Gründer von swissblawg.