A‑3548/2018: Deci­si­on of the Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court in the case of Helsana+.

The Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court has ruled in the mat­ter of FDPIC vs. Helsa­na regar­ding the Helsa­na+ app han­ded down the long-awai­ted ver­dict (Judgment A‑3548/2018 of 19 March 2019). The Helsa­na+ app is an app for the Helsa­na+ bonus pro­gram, whe­re par­ti­ci­pants can collect points and con­vert them into bonu­ses. Among other things, que­sti­ons aro­se in con­nec­tion with con­sent, with the dis­clo­sure of per­so­nal data by basic insu­rers. Also in dis­pu­te was the que­sti­on of whe­ther the bonus pro­gram for app users vio­la­ted the pro­hi­bi­ti­on of pre­mi­um refunds under health insuran­ce law and – if so – whe­ther this meant that the asso­cia­ted data pro­ces­sing was also unlaw­ful (wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 4 (1) of the Ger­man Data Pro­tec­tion Act). FDPA) are (what the FDPIC had asserted).

Back­ground

The app works – in the asses­sed ver­si­on – as fol­lows (E. A):

The Helsa­na sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ces AG ope­ra­tes the app-based bonus pro­gram “Helsa­na+” […]. Par­ti­ci­pants in the pro­gram can collect […] plus points, which they can con­vert into bonu­ses […]. Only poli­cy­hol­ders of an insuran­ce com­pa­ny of Helsa­na are eli­gi­ble for bonu­ses AG (Helsa­na sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ces AG, Helsa­na Insuran­ces AG and Pro­g­res Insuran­ces AG). The app does not trans­mit health and move­ment data […]. Dif­fe­rent bonu­ses are gran­ted for poli­cy­hol­ders of the man­da­to­ry health care insuran­ce and the sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ce. For the deter­mi­na­ti­on of the eli­gi­bi­li­ty as well as the cal­cu­la­ti­on of the amount of the bonu­ses cla­ri­fies the Helsa­na sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ce AG The insu­red cha­rac­te­ri­stics of the par­ti­ci­pants from. For this pur­po­se, it requests from them, as part of the regi­stra­ti­on pro­cess via the app, the Con­sent one, Data from the Helsa­na Group’s com­pul­so­ry health insuran­ce for sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ce to be transferred.

In doing so, the terms of use provided:

For the regi­stra­ti­on and iden­ti­fi­ca­ti­on of the user for the full ver­si­on, the spe­ci­fi­ca­ti­on of the insuran­ce num­ber, the ZIP CODE and date of birth and e‑mail address are required.

Helsa­na is enti­t­led, to view the rele­vant data of the respec­ti­ve insuran­ce com­pa­nies of the Helsa­na Group for the pur­po­se of iden­ti­fy­ing the user.

In Sec­tion B.4, “Con­sent to Match with User’s Insu­red Data,” the regu­la­ti­ons fur­ther provided:

The user express­ly agrees, that Helsa­na, wit­hin the frame­work of the pro­ces­sing of the Helsa­na+ App may access the User’s insu­red data held by the insuran­ce com­pa­nies of the Helsa­na Group.

Even befo­re the BVG ruling, howe­ver, Helsa­na chan­ged the way the app works. The basic insu­rer no lon­ger dis­c­lo­ses any data. Ins­tead, par­ti­ci­pants upload a pho­to of their health insuran­ce card. Con­sent is the­re­fo­re no lon­ger requi­red, which is why the BVGer’s deci­si­on no lon­ger has any effect on the app.

On the lega­li­ty wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 4 para. 1 FDPA

On this point, the ruling is clear: a vio­la­ti­on of legal pro­vi­si­ons only leads to the unlaw­ful­ness of data pro­ces­sing, if the vio­la­ted norm aims at the pro­tec­tion of per­so­na­li­ty:

5.4.4 In sum­ma­ry, the princip­le of the lega­li­ty of Art. 4 para. 1 FDPA to be under­s­tood in such a way that a data pro­ces­sing for an ille­gal pur­po­se only then unlaw­ful­ly wit­hin the mea­ning of the Data Pro­tec­tion Act is if, in doing so, it vio­la­tes a stan­dard that is at least also, direct­ly or indi­rect­ly, aims to pro­tect the per­so­na­li­ty of a per­son.

In con­trast, the vio­la­ti­on of a norm is irrele­vant in terms of data pro­tec­tion law if this norm does not aim to pro­tect per­so­na­li­ty. This is in its­elf self-evi­dent, becau­se like any other area of law, data pro­tec­tion law has its own pro­tec­ti­ve pur­po­se, even if data pro­tec­tion law has the poten­ti­al to beco­me an undif­fe­ren­tia­ted super-regu­la­ti­on due to its broad fac­tu­al scope – pro­ces­sing of per­so­nal data. But if one were to view every vio­la­ti­on of law as a data pro­tec­tion vio­la­ti­on as soon as per­so­nal data is pro­ces­sed in the pro­cess, then – only slight­ly exa­g­ge­ra­ted – the Clean Air Ordi­nan­ce would also have to be vio­la­ted if the per­pe­tra­tor brea­thes. The­re are cer­tain­ly signs that the regu­la­to­ry claim of data pro­tec­tion law is being overs­tret­ched, if one thinks of pro­vi­si­ons with anti­trust impli­ca­ti­ons such as the right to data por­ta­bi­li­ty, which is also pro­pa­ga­ted in Switz­er­land, or the fact that the ingress of the revi­sed Data Pro­tec­tion Act recent­ly also inclu­des Art. 97 Para. 1 BV is the con­sti­tu­tio­nal basis of con­su­mer pro­tec­tion law. Against this back­ground, the recent deci­si­on by the Ger­man Federal Car­tel Office in the Face­book mat­ter as a justi­fied reac­tion of anti­trust law to attempts of appro­pria­ti­on by data pro­tec­tion law. With the ruling of the BVGer, it is now hope­ful­ly clear that the Data pro­tec­tion law is not a vehi­cle for hel­ping other types of regu­la­to­ry objec­ti­ves to achie­ve a bre­akthrough.. This beco­mes even more important when data pro­tec­tion sanc­tions are strengthened.

For con­sent

The con­si­de­ra­ti­ons of the FAC on the sub­ject of con­sent are signi­fi­cant for prac­ti­ce. Here the FAC gave the FDPIC par­ti­al­ly right: The con­sent of the basic insu­red users of the app to the dis­clo­sure of their data to the ope­ra­tor of the app, the car­ri­er of the sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ce, was invalid.

Why a con­sent requirement?

The FAC appar­ent­ly saw a requi­re­ment for con­sent for two reasons:

  1. The pro­ces­sing of per­so­nal data from the basic insuran­ce (the com­pul­so­ry health care insuran­ce, “OKP”) in the con­text of the app vio­la­tes, in the view of the BVGer, the Ear­mar­king princip­le (E. 4.7), which requi­res justification.
  2. Then, wit­hin the frame­work of the app, an initi­al Dis­clo­sure of data by a basic insuran­ce car­ri­er to Helsa­nabecau­se the basic insuran­ce sta­tus was rele­vant, among other things, for cal­cu­la­ting the amount of the bonu­ses. Helsa­na, as the ope­ra­tor of the app, the­re­fo­re had the OKP insu­rer con­firm that par­ti­ci­pa­ting users had basic insuran­ce. In the opi­ni­on of the FAC, this con­sti­tu­tes a dis­clo­sure of data by the OKP insu­rer. Such a dis­clo­sure of data is not per­mit­ted in the con­text of Art. 84a KVG per­mis­si­ble in cer­tain con­stel­la­ti­ons, inclu­ding with con­sent wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 84a (5) lit. b KVG.

In its exami­na­ti­on of con­sent, the FAC more or less fol­lows this struc­tu­re, i.e. it first exami­nes the effec­ti­ve­ness of con­sent accord­ing to gene­ral princi­ples and then asks whe­ther con­sent to dis­clo­sure by the OKP insu­rer was given pri­or to Art. 84a para. 5 KVG withstands.

Tying ban not violated

First of all, the FAC held that the Tying ban not vio­la­ted was, i.e., that the lin­king of the app and con­sent did not inva­li­da­te the volun­ta­ry natu­re of the con­sent. The FDPIC had taken the view in its lawsu­it that con­sent was invol­un­ta­ry becau­se access to the app was lin­ked to con­sent. The BVGer now sees this differently:

  • On the one hand, the cou­pling not extra­ne­ous:

    Con­tra­ry to the plaintiff’s sub­mis­si­ons, the con­sent is volun­ta­ry, as the Dis­ad­van­ta­ge threa­tened in the event of non-con­sent – the impos­si­bi­li­ty of par­ti­ci­pa­ting in the Helsa­na+ pro­gram – a direct refe­rence to the data for the pro­ces­sing of which con­sent is obtai­ned and thus the­re is no imper­mis­si­ble coer­ci­on to grant con­sent […]: Without obtai­ning the per­so­nal data, the defen­dant can­not check whe­ther the­re is an insu­red rela­ti­ons­hip with ano­t­her insuran­ce com­pa­ny of the Helsa­na Group, which in turn is a pre­re­qui­si­te for par­ti­ci­pa­ti­on in the Helsa­na+ pro­gram, and enti­t­les to bonus points under the program.

  • On the other hand, it was also due to the fact that the pro­gram par­ti­ci­pa­ti­on had mone­ta­ry advan­ta­ges, no undue coer­ci­on :

    The fact alo­ne that the defen­dant adver­ti­ses par­ti­ci­pa­ti­on in the pro­gram with mone­ta­ry bene­fits and in par­ti­cu­lar with cash bonu­ses (in the amount of a maxi­mum of Fr. 75 per year for per­sons with basic insuran­ce only) also does not con­sti­tu­te imper­mis­si­ble coercion.

This atti­tu­de of the FAC was not necessa­ri­ly self-evi­dent, espe­cial­ly sin­ce the BGVer its­elf – in the KSS deci­si­on (A‑3908/2008 of 4.8.2009) – had taken a rather restric­ti­ve stance. With the pre­sent ruling, howe­ver, it should now be clear that lin­king access to a ser­vice to con­sent is at least harm­less if the link is appro­pria­te, i.e. if the data pro­ces­sing in que­sti­on is inherent in the design of the ser­vice in que­sti­on. It is not enti­re­ly clear, howe­ver, whe­ther and under what cir­cum­stan­ces dis­pro­por­tio­na­te bene­fits ren­der volun­ta­ri­ness inva­lid. Howe­ver, the quo­ted pas­sa­ge sounds at least as if mone­ta­ry bene­fits can­not in princip­le ren­der the volun­ta­ry natu­re of con­sent invalid.

Art. 84a para. 5 KVG violated

With refe­rence to the dis­clo­sure by the OKP insu­rer, the BVG exami­nes the requi­re­ments of Art. 84a para. 5 lit. b KVG. After that, per­so­nal data may be disclosed, 

pro­vi­ded that the per­son con­cer­ned con­sen­ted to in wri­ting in indi­vi­du­al cases or, if it is not pos­si­ble to obtain con­sent, it may be pre­su­med under the cir­cum­stan­ces to be in the inte­rest of the insu­red person.

Against this back­ground, the BVG does not see any effec­ti­ve con­sent to the dis­clo­sure of data: 

  • From Art. 84a para. 5 lit. b KVG and also from Art. 19 para. 1 lit. b FDPA name­ly fol­lows that con­sent only “in indi­vi­du­al cases is effec­ti­ve. This is not the case here, becau­se the data is obtai­ned auto­ma­ti­cal­ly several times a year as part of the app. This is not an indi­vi­du­al case. This is not a self-evi­dent con­clu­si­on, becau­se the mea­ning of “in an indi­vi­du­al case” is by no means clear. This requi­re­ment is also found in Art. 6 (2) lit. b FDPA in the case of dis­clo­sure abroad, and here the prac­ti­ce assu­mes that “in indi­vi­du­al cases” means as much as “for clear­ly deter­mi­ned, but pos­si­b­ly repe­ti­ti­ve” data pro­ces­sing. Howe­ver, the FAC seems to under­stand the indi­vi­du­al case liter­al­ly, i.e. for indi­vi­du­al, non-repe­ti­ti­ve cases. It refers to a refe­rence in the lite­ra­tu­re (Eugster), which actual­ly says so, but does not justi­fy this fur­ther. One would have wis­hed for a more detail­ed dis­cus­sion of this prac­ti­cal­ly important que­sti­on. From the point of view of the pro­tec­tion of the data sub­ject, the restric­ti­ve inter­pre­ta­ti­on of the FAC is in any case not necessa­ry, becau­se the­re is no rea­son to assu­me that con­sent would not be gran­ted repeated­ly for a spe­ci­fi­cal­ly descri­bed case.
  • Moreo­ver, the­re was a lack of Wri­ting, which Art. 84a para. 5 lit. b KVG is requi­red. Here, the FAC refers to Art. 14 OR (hand­writ­ten signa­tu­re), which is based on Art. 7 ZGB is not absurd, but it is also not man­da­to­ry. The­re would cer­tain­ly be room for a dif­fe­ren­tia­ted inter­pre­ta­ti­on of the con­cept of writ­ten form depen­ding on the area of law. Here, too, one would have wis­hed for more in-depth dis­cus­sions, and the last word on this sub­ject has cer­tain­ly not yet been spoken.

Trans­pa­ren­cy requirements

Next, the FAC also sees the Infor­ma­ti­on requi­re­ment vio­la­ted (“infor­med” con­sent), for two reasons:

  • Con­sent, he said, is given in “exten­si­ve terms of use and data pro­tec­tion”, which makes it dif­fi­cult to know what data pro­ces­sing is being con­sen­ted to; and
  • the con­sent do not refer to a spe­ci­fic pur­po­se of the data pro­ces­sing and limit not limi­ted to the few, con­cre­te­ly requi­red data pointsbut was for­mu­la­ted “broad­ly and without restrictions”.

Here, too, the BVGer’s deci­si­on is at least some­what super­fi­cial. The requi­re­ments for infor­med con­sent are deri­ved from the princip­le of good faith and are the­re­fo­re varia­ble depen­ding on the risk. In the case at hand, the con­sent requi­red by the OKP Howe­ver, the data trans­mit­ted was com­ple­te­ly harm­less – it was essen­ti­al­ly a mat­ter of con­fir­ming that a par­ti­cu­lar per­son was inde­ed cove­r­ed by basic insuran­ce with Helsa­na. This is neit­her a data item that is par­ti­cu­lar­ly worthy of pro­tec­tion nor any other sen­si­ti­ve infor­ma­ti­on. Why a restric­tion to cer­tain data points should be necessa­ry here is not clear from the deci­si­on, and it is also not plau­si­ble in sub­stance. Broad­ly for­mu­la­ted cons­ents are sim­ply unavo­ida­ble and must be inter­pre­ted restric­tively, but they are not fun­da­ment­al­ly inva­lid. More important is the limi­ta­ti­on of the con­sent to a spe­ci­fic pur­po­se. In the pre­sent case, howe­ver, it was pro­bab­ly obvious that the con­sent was given for the pur­po­se of pro­ces­sing the app. Not expli­ci­tly sta­ting this again does not make con­sent inva­lid, at least not for tri­vi­al data like in this case.

Princip­le of lega­li­ty vs. consent

Par­ti­cu­lar­ly note­wor­thy is the fol­lo­wing con­si­de­ra­ti­on of the FAC, perhaps even the most important point in the judgment:

4.8.2 Sin­ce Helsa­na Insuran­ce is AG and the Pro­g­res insuran­ces AG As both the insuran­ce com­pa­nies and the defen­dant are legal enti­ties, the dis­clo­sure of per­so­nal data of one of the­se insuran­ce com­pa­nies to the defen­dant is deemed to be dis­clo­sure to a third par­ty. The dis­clo­sure of per­so­nal data from the com­pul­so­ry health care insuran­ce takes place in the pre­sent case Not in the per­for­mance of a duty assi­gned by the Health Insuran­ce Act.. […] An excep­ti­on to the obli­ga­ti­on to main­tain secrecy under social secu­ri­ty law is the­re­fo­re only pos­si­ble in the pre­sent case under the fol­lo­wing con­di­ti­ons cumu­la­ti­ve requi­re­ments of Art. 19 Para. 1 FDPA and Art. 84a para. 5 let. b KVG law­ful, that is, if the per­son con­cer­ned has con­sen­ted in wri­ting in the indi­vi­du­al case.

From this it can only be con­clu­ded that com­pli­an­ce with Art. 84a KVG not only a vio­la­ti­on of the secrecy obli­ga­ti­on of Art. 33 ATSG but also the requi­re­ment of a legal basis for the dis­clo­sure of data. This should also sett­le the que­sti­on of whe­ther con­sent wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 17(2)(c) and Art. 19(2)(b) is requi­red. FDPA only from the requi­re­ment of for­mal legal basis dis­pen­sed with or, more gene­ral­ly, from the requi­re­ment of a legal basis: Effec­ti­ve con­sent is sur­ro­ga­te for a legal basis. This is the only way to exp­lain why the FAC would allow data to be dis­c­lo­sed on the basis of effec­ti­ve con­sent, even though the OKP pro­vi­der would have no basis for this in the KVG (which is not so clear in this case – one could have based the dis­clo­sure on Art. 19 para. 1 of the Ger­man Civil Code). KVG can sup­port: “Insu­rers pro­mo­te the pre­ven­ti­on of diseases”).

Moreo­ver, the first sen­tence in the cited E. 4.8.2 almost seems to sug­gest that, in the view of the FAC, a dis­clo­sure of data wit­hin the same legal enti­ties does not necessa­ri­ly com­ply with the restric­tions of Art. 84a KVG is sub­ject to. This would be sur­pri­sing, becau­se until now it has gene­ral­ly been assu­med that the con­fi­dentia­li­ty requi­re­ment of Art. 33 ATSG also app­lies wit­hin the same orga­niz­a­ti­on, which is why a data dis­clo­sure from the OKP into the sup­ple­men­ta­ry insuran­ce poten­ti­al­ly Art. 33 ATSG vio­la­tes and the­re­fo­re meets the requi­re­ments of Art. 84a KVG is sub­ject to. This results in a sepa­ra­ti­on requi­re­ment that is dif­fi­cult to imple­ment. Howe­ver, it can hard­ly be infer­red from the pre­sent ruling that the Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court wants to abolish this.

Das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt hat in Sachen EDÖB vs. Helsa­na betr. Helsana+-App das lang­erwar­te­te Urteil gefällt (Urteil A‑3548/2018 vom 19. März 2019). Die Helsana+-App ist eine App für das Bonus­pro­gramm Helsa­na+, bei dem Teil­neh­mer Punk­te sam­meln und die­se in Boni umwan­deln kön­nen. Dabei stell­ten sich u.a. Fra­gen im Zusam­men­hang mit der Ein­wil­li­gung, mit der Bekannt­ga­be von Per­so­nen­da­ten durch Grund­ver­si­che­rer. Strit­tig war fer­ner die Fra­ge, ob die Boni­fi­zie­rung der App-Nut­­zer gegen das kran­ken­ver­si­che­rungs­recht­li­che Ver­bot der Prä­mi­en­rück­erstat­tung ver­stiess und – falls ja – ob sich dar­aus ergab, dass auch die damit im Zusam­men­hang ste­hen­den Daten­be­ar­bei­tun­gen unrecht­mä­ssig (i.S.v. Art. 4 Abs. 1 DSG) sind (was der EDÖB gel­tend gemacht hat­te).

Hintergrund

Die App funk­tio­niert – in der beur­teil­ten Ver­si­on – wie folgt (E. A):

Die Helsa­na Zusatz­ver­si­che­run­gen AG betreibt das App-gestüt­z­te Bonus­pro­gramm „Helsa­na+“ […]. Die Teil­neh­me­rin­nen und Teil­neh­mer am Pro­gramm kön­nen […] Plus­punk­te sam­meln, die sie in Boni […] umwan­deln kön­nen. Bonus­be­rech­tigt sind nur die Ver­si­che­rungs­neh­mer einer Ver­si­che­rungs­ge­sell­schaft der Helsa­na AG (Helsa­na Zusatz­ver­si­che­run­gen AG, Helsa­na Ver­si­che­run­gen AG und Pro­g­res Ver­si­che­run­gen AG). Die App über­mit­telt kei­ne Gesun­d­heits- und Bewe­gungs­da­ten […]. Für Ver­si­che­rungs­neh­mer der obli­ga­to­ri­schen Kran­ken­pfle­ge­ver­si­che­rung und der Zusatz­ver­si­che­rung wer­den unter­schied­li­che Boni gewährt. Für die Ermitt­lung der Teil­nah­me­be­rech­ti­gung sowie die Berech­nung der Höhe der Boni klärt die Helsa­na Zusatz­ver­si­che­run­gen AG die Ver­si­cher­ten­ei­gen­schaf­ten der Teil­neh­me­rin­nen und Teil­neh­mer ab. Dafür for­dert sie von die­sen im Rah­men des Regi­strie­rungs­pro­zes­ses über die App die Ein­wil­li­gung ein, Daten von der obli­ga­to­ri­schen Kran­ken­pfle­ge­ver­si­che­rung der Hel­sa­­na-Grup­­pe zur Zusatz­ver­si­che­rung zu über­tra­gen.

Dabei sahen die Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen vor:

Für die Regi­strie­rung und Iden­ti­fi­ka­ti­on des Nut­zers zur Voll­ver­si­on ist die Anga­be der Ver­si­cher­ten­num­mer, der PLZ und des Geburts­da­tums sowie der E‑Mail-Adre­s­­se erfor­der­lich.

Helsa­na ist berech­tigt, zwecks Iden­ti­fi­ka­ti­on des Nut­zers Ein­blick in die ent­spre­chen­den Daten der jewei­li­gen Ver­si­che­rungs­ge­sell­schaf­ten der Hel­sa­­na-Grup­­pe zu neh­men.

In Ziff. B.4 „Ein­wil­li­gung zum Abgleich mit Ver­si­cher­ten­da­ten des Nut­zers“ sahen die Bestim­mun­gen fer­ner vor:

Der Nut­zer stimmt aus­drück­lich zu, dass Helsa­na im Rah­men der Abwick­lung der Helsa­na+ App auf die bei den Ver­si­che­rungs­ge­sell­schaf­ten der Hel­sa­­na-Grup­­pe vor­han­de­nen Ver­si­cher­ten­da­ten des Nut­zers zurück­grei­fen darf.

Bereits vor dem Ent­scheid des BVGer stell­te die Helsa­na die Funk­ti­ons­wei­se der App aller­dings um. Neu erfolgt kei­ne Bekannt­ga­be von Daten durch den Grund­ver­si­che­rer mehr. Die Teil­neh­mer laden viel­mehr ein Foto ihrer Kran­ken­kas­sen­kar­te hoch. Eine Ein­wil­li­gung ist daher gar nicht mehr erfor­der­lich, wes­halb der Ent­scheid des BVGer für die App kei­ne Aus­wir­kun­gen mehr hat.

Zur Rechtmässigkeit i.S.v. Art. 4 Abs. 1 DSG

In die­sem Punkt ist das Urteil klar: Eine Ver­let­zung gesetz­li­cher Bestim­mun­gen führt nur dann zur Unrecht­mä­ssig­keit der Daten­be­ar­bei­tung, wenn die ver­letz­te Norm den Schutz der Per­sön­lich­keit bezweckt:

5.4.4 Zusam­men­fas­send ist der Grund­satz der Recht­mä­ssig­keit von Art. 4 Abs. 1 DSG so zu ver­ste­hen, dass eine Daten­be­ar­bei­tung zu einem rechts­wid­ri­gen Zweck erst dann unrecht­mä­ssig im Sin­ne des Daten­schutz­ge­set­zes ist, wenn dabei gegen eine Norm ver­sto­ssen wird, die zumin­dest auch, direkt oder indi­rekt, den Schutz der Per­sön­lich­keit einer Per­son bezweckt.

Dem­ge­gen­über ist die Ver­let­zung eine Norm daten­schutz­recht­lich irrele­vant, wenn die­se Norm kei­nen Per­sön­lich­keits­schutz bezweckt. Das ist an sich selbst­ver­ständ­lich, denn wie jedes ande­re Rechts­ge­biet hat das Daten­schutz­recht sei­nen eige­nen Schutz­zweck, auch wenn das Daten­schutz­recht durch den brei­ten sach­li­chen Anwen­dungs­be­reich – Bear­bei­tung von Per­so­nen­da­ten – das Poten­ti­al hat, zu einer undif­fe­ren­zier­ten Super­re­gu­lie­rung zu wer­den. Aber wür­de man jede Rechts­ver­let­zung als Daten­schutz­ver­let­zung sehen, sobald dabei Per­so­nen­da­ten bear­bei­tet wer­den, dann müss­te – nur leicht über­spitzt – auch die Luft­rein­hal­te­ver­ord­nung ver­letzt sein, wenn der Täter atmet. Es bestehen durch­aus Anzei­chen dafür, dass der Rege­lungs­an­spruch des Daten­schutz­rechts über­dehnt wird, wenn man an Bestim­mun­gen kar­tell­recht­li­chen Ein­schlags wie das auch in der Schweiz pro­pa­gier­te Recht auf Daten­por­ta­bi­li­tät denkt oder an die Tat­sa­che, dass im Ingress des revi­dier­ten Daten­schutz­ge­set­zes neu­er­dings auch Art. 97 Abs. 1 BV genannt wird, die Ver­fas­sungs­grund­la­ge des Kon­su­men­ten­schutz­rechts. Vor die­sem Hin­ter­grund lässt sich der kürz­li­che Ent­scheid des deut­schen Bun­des­kar­tell­amts in Sachen Face­book als berech­tig­te Reak­ti­on des Kar­tell­rechts auf Ver­ein­nah­mungs­ver­su­che durch das Daten­schutz­recht lesen. Mit dem Urteil des BVGer ist nun hof­fent­lich klar, dass das Daten­schutz­recht kein Vehi­kel ist, anders­ar­ti­gen Rege­lungs­zie­len zum Durch­bruch zu ver­hel­fen. Das wird umso wich­ti­ger, wenn die daten­schutz­recht­li­chen Sank­tio­nen ver­stärkt wer­den.

Zur Einwilligung

Für die Pra­xis bedeut­sam sind die Erwä­gun­gen des BVGer zum The­ma Ein­wil­li­gung. Hier gab das BVGer dem EDÖB teil­wei­se recht: Die Ein­wil­li­gung der grund­ver­si­cher­ten Nut­zer der App in die Bekannt­ga­be ihrer Daten an die Betrei­be­rin der App, die Trä­ge­rin der Zusatz­ver­si­che­rung, sei unwirk­sam.

Weshalb ein Einwilligungserfordernis?

Ein Ein­wil­li­gungs­er­for­der­nis sah das BVGer offen­bar aus zwei Grün­den:

  1. Die Bear­bei­tung von Per­so­nen­da­ten aus der Grund­ver­si­che­rung (der obli­ga­to­ri­schen Kran­ken­pfle­ge­ver­si­che­rung, “OKP”) im Rah­men der App ver­letzt aus Sicht des BVGer den Zweck­bin­dungs­grund­satz (E. 4.7), was eine Recht­fer­ti­gung ver­langt.
  2. Sodann erfolg­te im Rah­men der App zunächst eine Bekannt­ga­be von Daten durch einen Grund­ver­si­che­rungs­trä­ger an die Helsa­na, weil die Grund­ver­si­cher­ten­ei­gen­schaft u.a. für die Berech­nung der Höhe der Boni rele­vant war. Daher liess sich die Helsa­na als Betrei­be­rin der App durch den OKP-Ver­­­si­che­­rer bestä­ti­gen, dass teil­neh­men­de Nut­zer grund­ver­si­chert waren. Dar­in liegt nach Auf­fas­sung des BVGer eine Daten­be­kannt­ga­be durch den OKP-Ver­­­si­che­­rer. Eine sol­che Daten­be­kannt­ga­be ist im Rah­men von Art. 84a KVG in bestimm­ten Kon­stel­la­tio­nen zuläs­sig, u.a. mit Ein­wil­li­gung i.S.v. Art. 84a Abs. 5 lit. b KVG.

Das BVGer folgt in sei­ner Prü­fung der Ein­wil­lung mehr oder weni­ger die­sem Auf­bau, prüft also zunächst die Wirk­sam­keit der Ein­wil­li­gung nach all­ge­mei­nen Grund­sät­zen und fragt im Anschluss, ob die Ein­wil­li­gung in die Bekannt­ga­be durch den OKP-Ver­­­si­che­­rer vor Art. 84a Abs. 5 KVG stand­hält.

Kopplungsverbot nicht verletzt

Zunächst hielt das BVGer fest, dass das Kopp­lungs­ver­bot nicht ver­letzt war, d.h. dass die Ver­bin­dung von App und Ein­wil­li­gung die Frei­wil­lig­keit der Ein­wil­li­gung nicht ent­fal­len liess. Der EDÖB hat­te in sei­ner Kla­ge die Ansicht ver­tre­ten, die Ein­wil­li­gung sei unfrei­wil­lig, weil der Zugang zur App an die Ein­wil­li­gung gekop­pelt war. Das BVGer sieht dies nun anders:

  • Zum einen war die Kopp­lung nicht sach­fremd:

    Die Ein­wil­li­gung erfolgt ent­ge­gen den Vor­brin­gen des Klä­gers frei­wil­lig, da der Nach­teil, der bei einer Nicht­ein­wil­li­gung droht – die Unmög­lich­keit der Teil­nah­me am Pro­gramm Helsa­na+ – einen direk­ten Bezug zu den Daten auf­weist, für deren Bear­bei­tung die Ein­wil­li­gung ein­ge­holt wird und damit kein unzu­läs­si­ger Zwang zur Ertei­lung der Ein­wil­li­gung vor­liegt […]: Ohne die Beschaf­fung der Per­so­nen­da­ten kann die Beklag­te nicht kon­trol­lie­ren, ob eine Ver­si­cher­ten­be­zie­hung zu einer andern Ver­si­che­rungs­ge­sell­schaft der Hel­sa­­na-Grup­­pe vor­liegt, was wie­der­um eine Vor­aus­set­zung für die Teil­nah­me am Pro­gramm Helsa­na+ dar­stellt, und zu Bonus­punk­ten im Rah­men des Pro­gramms berech­tigt.

  • Zum ande­ren lag auch dar­in, dass die Pro­gramm­teil­nah­me mone­tä­re Vor­tei­le hat­te, kein unzu­läs­si­ger Zwang :

    Der Umstand allein, dass die Beklag­te für die Teil­nah­me am Pro­gramm mit geld­wer­ten Vor­tei­len und ins­be­son­de­re mit Bar­geld­bo­ni wirbt (in der Höhe von maxi­mal Fr. 75.-pro Jahr bei nur grund­ver­si­cher­ten Per­so­nen), stellt eben­falls kei­nen unzu­läs­si­gen Zwang dar.

Die­se Hal­tung des BVGer war nicht unbe­dingt selbst­ver­ständ­lich, zumal das BGVer selbst – im KSS-Ent­­­scheid (A‑3908/2008 vom 4.8.2009) – eine recht restrik­ti­ve Hal­tung ver­tre­ten hat­te. Mit dem vor­lie­gen­den Urteil dürf­te nun aber fest­ste­hen, dass eine Kopp­lung des Zugang zu einer Lei­stung an eine Ein­wil­li­gung zumin­dest dann unschäd­lich ist, wenn die Kopp­lung sach­ge­recht ist, d.h. wenn die frag­li­che Daten­be­ar­bei­tung in der Aus­ge­stal­tung der betref­fen­den Lei­stung selbst ange­legt ist. Nicht ganz klar wird dage­gen, ob und unter wel­chen Umstän­den unver­hält­nis­mä­ssi­ge Vor­tei­le die Frei­wil­lig­keit ent­fal­len las­sen. Die zitier­te Pas­sa­ge klingt aber zumin­dest so, dass geld­wer­te Vor­tei­le die Frei­wil­lig­keit der Ein­wil­li­gung grund­sätz­lich nicht ent­fal­len las­sen kön­nen.

Art. 84a Abs. 5 KVG verletzt

Mit Bezug auf die Bekannt­ga­be durch den OKP-Ver­­­si­che­­rer prüft das BVGer die Vor­aus­set­zun­gen von Art. 84a Abs. 5 lit. b KVG. Danach dür­fen Per­so­nen­da­ten bekannt­ge­ge­ben wer­den, 

sofern die betrof­fe­ne Per­son im Ein­zel­fall schrift­lich ein­ge­wil­ligt hat oder, wenn das Ein­ho­len der Ein­wil­li­gung nicht mög­lich ist, die­se nach den Umstän­den als im Inter­es­se der ver­si­cher­ten Per­son vor­aus­ge­setzt wer­den darf.

Vor die­sem Hin­ter­grund sieht das BVGer vor­lie­gend kei­ne wirk­sa­me Ein­wil­li­gung in die Daten­be­kannt­ga­be: 

  • Aus Art. 84a Abs. 5 lit. b KVG und auch aus Art. 19 Abs. 1 lit. b DSG folgt näm­lich, dass eine Ein­wil­li­gung nur „im Ein­zel­fall“ wirk­sam ist. Das tref­fe vor­lie­gend nicht zu, weil die Daten im Rah­men der App mehr­mals jähr­lich auto­ma­ti­siert bezo­gen wer­den. Dabei hand­le es sich nicht um einen Ein­zel­fall. Das ist kei­ne selbst­ver­ständ­li­che Schluss­fol­ge­rung, denn die Bedeu­tung von “im Ein­zel­fall” ist kei­nes­wegs klar. Die­ses Erfor­der­nis fin­det sich auch in Art. 6 Abs. 2 lit. b DSG bei der Bekannt­ga­be ins Aus­land, und hier geht die Pra­xis davon aus, dass “im Ein­zel­fall” soviel bedeu­tet wie “für klar bestimm­te, sich ggf. aber wie­der­ho­len­de” Daten­be­ar­bei­tun­gen. Das BVGer scheint den Ein­zel­fall hier aber wört­lich zu ver­ste­hen, d.h. für ein­zel­ne, sich nicht wie­der­ho­len­de Fäl­le. Es ver­weist dabei auf eine Lite­ra­tur­stel­le (Eugster), die sich tat­säch­lich so äussert, dies aber nicht wei­ter begrün­det. Hier hät­te man sich eine nähe­re Aus­ein­an­der­set­zung mit die­ser prak­tisch wich­ti­gen Fra­ge gewünscht. Aus Sicht des Schut­zes der betrof­fe­nen Per­son drängt sich die restrik­ti­ve Aus­le­gung des BVGer jeden­falls nicht auf, denn es besteht kein Grund zur Annah­me, dass eine Ein­wil­li­gung für einen kon­kret umschrie­be­nen Fall nicht auch wie­der­holt erteilt wür­de.
  • Über­dies feh­le es an der Schrift­lich­keit, die Art. 84a Abs. 5 lit. b KVG ver­langt. Hier ver­weist das BVGer auf Art. 14 OR (eigen­hän­di­ge Unter­schrift), was gestützt auf Art. 7 ZGB nicht abwe­gig ist, aber auch nicht zwin­gend. Es bestün­de durch­aus Raum für eine dif­fe­ren­zier­te Aus­le­gung des Begriffs der Schrift­lich­keit je nach Rechts­ge­biet. Auch hier hät­te man sich ver­tief­te­re Aus­ein­an­der­set­zun­gen gewünscht, und das letz­te Wort zu die­sem The­ma ist sicher noch nicht gespro­chen.

Transparenzanforderungen

Sodann sieht das BVGer auch das Infor­ma­ti­ons­er­for­der­nis ver­letzt (“infor­mier­te” Ein­wil­li­gung), aus zwei Grün­den:

  • Die Ein­wil­li­gung erfol­ge in “umfang­rei­chen Nut­zungs- und Daten­schutz­be­stim­mun­gen”, was es erschwe­re zu erken­nen, in wel­che Daten­be­ar­bei­tun­gen ein­ge­wil­ligt wer­de; und
  • die Ein­wil­li­gung ver­wei­se nicht auf einen bestimm­ten Zweck der Daten­be­ar­bei­tung und beschrän­ke sich nicht auf die weni­gen, kon­kret erfor­der­li­chen Daten­punk­te, son­dern sei “breit und ohne Ein­schrän­kun­gen” for­mu­liert.

Auch hier ist der Ent­scheid des BVGer zumin­dest etwas ober­fläch­lich. Die Anfor­de­run­gen an die Infor­miert­heit der Ein­wil­li­gun­gen erge­ben sich aus dem Grund­satz von Treu und Glau­ben, sind also varia­bel je nach Risi­ko. Vor­lie­gend waren die von der OKP über­mit­tel­ten Daten aller­dings völ­lig harm­los – es ging im Wesent­li­chen um die Bestä­ti­gung, dass eine bestimm­te Per­son tat­säch­lich bei der Helsa­na grund­ver­si­chert ist. Dabei han­delt es sich weder um ein beson­ders schüt­zens­wer­tes Datum noch sonst um eine heik­le Infor­ma­ti­on. Wes­halb hier eine Ein­schrän­kung auf bestimm­te Daten­punk­te not­wen­dig sein soll, geht aus dem Ent­scheid nicht her­vor, und es ist auch in der Sache nicht ein­leuch­tend. Breit for­mu­lier­te Ein­wil­li­gun­gen sind schlicht unver­meid­bar und wohl ein­schrän­kend aus­zu­le­gen, aber nicht grund­sätz­lich unwirk­sam. Wich­ti­ger ist die Beschrän­kung der Ein­wil­li­gung auf einen bestimm­ten Zweck. Vor­lie­gend dürf­te es aber offen­sicht­lich gewe­sen sein, dass die Ein­wil­li­gung zum Zweck der Abwick­lung der App erfolg­te. Dies nicht noch­mals aus­drück­lich fest­zu­hal­ten, macht eine Ein­wil­li­gung kei­nes­falls unwirk­sam, zumin­dest nicht bei Tri­vi­al­da­ten wie hier.

Legalitätsprinzip vs. Einwilligung

Beson­ders bemer­kens­wert ist die fol­gen­de Erwä­gung des BVGer, viel­leicht sogar der wich­tig­ste Punkt im Urteil:

4.8.2 Da es sich bei der Helsa­na Ver­si­che­run­gen AG und der Pro­g­res Ver­si­che­run­gen AG eben­so wie bei der Beklag­ten um juri­sti­sche Per­so­nen han­delt, gilt die Bekannt­ga­be von Per­so­nen­da­ten einer die­ser Ver­si­che­rungs­ge­sell­schaf­ten an die Beklag­te als Bekannt­ga­be an eine drit­te Per­son. Die Bekannt­ga­be der Per­so­nen­da­ten aus der obli­ga­to­ri­schen Kran­ken­pfle­ge­ver­si­che­rung erfolgt vor­lie­gend nicht in Aus­übung einer durch das Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rungs­ge­setz über­tra­ge­nen Auf­ga­be. […] Eine Aus­nah­me von der sozi­al­verei­che­rungs­recht­li­chen Ver­schwie­gen­heits­pflicht ist damit vor­lie­gend nur unter den kumu­la­ti­ven Vor­aus­set­zun­gen von Art. 19 Abs. 1 DSG und Art. 84a Abs. 5 Bst. b KVG recht­mä­ssig, das heisst, wenn die betrof­fe­ne Per­son im Ein­zel­fall schrift­lich zuge­stimmt hat.

Dar­aus kann nur geschlos­sen wer­den, dass die Ein­hal­tung von Art. 84a KVG nicht nur eine Ver­let­zung der Geheim­hal­tungs­pflicht von Art. 33 ATSG ent­fal­len lässt, son­dern dar­über hin­aus auch das Erfor­der­nis einer gesetz­li­chen Grund­la­ge für die Daten­be­kannt­ga­be. Damit müss­te auch die Streit­fra­ge ent­schie­den sein, ob die Ein­wil­li­gung i.S.v. Art. 17 Abs. 2 lit. c und Art. 19 Ans. 2 lit. b DSG nur vom Erfor­der­nis der for­mell­ge­setz­li­chen Grund­la­ge dis­pen­siert oder ganz all­ge­mein vom Erfor­der­nis der Rechts­grund­la­ge: Eine wirk­sa­me Ein­wil­li­gung ist Sur­ro­gat für eine Geset­zes­grund­la­ge. Nur so ist erklär­bar, dass das BVGer eine Daten­be­kannt­ga­be gestützt auf eine wirk­sa­me Ein­wil­li­gung zulas­sen wür­de, obwohl dem OKP-Trä­­ger dabei eine Grund­la­ge im KVG feh­le (was hier aber gar nicht so klar ist – man hät­te die Bekannt­ga­be allen­falls auf Art. 19 Abs. 1 KVG stüt­zen kön­nen: “Die Ver­si­che­rer för­dern die Ver­hü­tung von Krank­hei­ten”).

Der erste Satz in der zitier­ten E. 4.8.2 scheint zudem fast nahe­zu­le­gen, dass eine Daten­be­kannt­ga­be inner­halb der glei­chen juri­sti­schen Per­so­nen aus Sicht des BVGer nicht unbe­dingt den Ein­schrän­kun­gen von Art. 84a KVG unter­liegt. Das wäre über­ra­schend, denn bis­her wird all­ge­mein davon aus­ge­gan­gen, dass das Ver­schwie­gen­heits­ge­bot von Art. 33 ATSG auch inner­halb der glei­chen Orga­ni­sa­ti­on gilt, wes­halb eine Daten­be­kannt­ga­be von der OKP in die Zusatz­ver­si­che­rung poten­ti­ell Art. 33 ATSG ver­letzt und daher den Vor­aus­set­zun­gen von Art. 84a KVG unter­liegt. Dar­aus folgt ein schwie­rig umzu­set­zen­des Tren­nungs­ge­bot. Dass das BVGer die­ses abschaf­fen will, kann man dem vor­lie­gen­den Urteil aller­dings kaum ent­neh­men.

Posted by David Vasella

RA Dr. David Vasella ist Rechtsanwalt bei FRORIEP. Er ist auf IT-, Datenschutz- und Immaterialgüterrecht spezialisiert und ist Lehrbeauftragter der Universität Zürich. Er ist Gründer von swissblawg.