2C_653/2018: Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve assi­stance to Fran­ce to estab­lish the iden­ti­ty of UBS clients

In a high-pro­fi­le ruling on July 26, 2019, the Federal Supre­me Court (2C_653/2018) ruled that the dis­clo­sure by Switz­er­land to Fran­ce of the iden­ti­ty of UBS cli­ents pre­su­med to be liable for tax in Fran­ce wit­hin the scope of admi­ni­stra­ti­ve assi­stance pro­ce­e­dings was lawful.

In May 2016, the French Direc­tion Géné­ra­le des Finan­ces Publi­qus (DGFP) a requ­est for admi­ni­stra­ti­ve assi­stance to the Swiss Federal Tax Admi­ni­stra­ti­on (FTA). On the basis of lists con­tai­ning around 40,000 account and other bank num­bers, it reque­sted the iden­ti­ty and account balan­ces of the cor­re­spon­ding bank custo­mers of the UBS. The account and bank num­bers ori­gi­na­ted from per­sons pre­su­med to be liable for tax in Fran­ce. The lists were sei­zed from Ger­man bran­ches in 2012 and 2013 as part of a cri­mi­nal inve­sti­ga­ti­on in Ger­ma­ny and later for­war­ded to France.

After the FTA had gran­ted the requ­est for admi­ni­stra­ti­ve assi­stance in 2018, the UBS The com­pa­ny filed an appeal against this deci­si­on with the Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court (FAC). The appeal of the UBS was appro­ved by the Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court in its ruling of July 30, 2018. The appeal of this judgment by the FTA has now led to the supre­me court cla­ri­fy­ing the que­sti­on of whe­ther France’s “list requ­est” should be granted.

The Federal Supre­me Court has publicly deli­be­ra­ted the case. The writ­ten rea­sons for the ruling are still pen­ding. The ver­dict was clo­se, with three votes in favor and two against. In par­ti­cu­lar, the que­sti­on of whe­ther the requ­est for admi­ni­stra­ti­ve assi­stance con­sti­tuted an inad­mis­si­ble fishing expe­di­ti­on was dis­puted. Accord­ing to cur­rent prac­ti­ce, “fishing expe­di­ti­ons” are pure­ly spe­cu­la­ti­ve inqui­ries that have no appa­rent con­nec­tion with ongo­ing inqui­ries or inve­sti­ga­ti­ons. A “fishing expe­di­ti­on” is, in the words of the Federal Supre­me Court in an ear­lier ruling, a requ­est for “infor­ma­ti­on at ran­dom” (BGE 141 II 436 S. 445 E. 4.4.3 m.w.H.; cf. FTA, Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve and Legal Assi­stance in Tax Mat­ters, Decem­ber 2017, p. 8). The majo­ri­ty of the federal jud­ges denied the exi­stence of a “fishing expe­di­ti­on” in the spe­ci­fic case. In their view, the infor­ma­ti­on pro­vi­ded by Fran­ce was suf­fi­ci­ent to con­clu­de that the­re was a sus­pi­ci­on of ille­gal con­duct. The sus­pi­ci­on of ille­gal con­duct rela­ted to the fact that “some of the per­sons con­cer­ned were tax­able per­sons in Fran­ce who had not ful­fil­led their fis­cal obli­ga­ti­ons” (cf. Media release of the Federal Supre­me Court). The Federal Supre­me Court thus con­clu­des that, in the case of list or group requests, it is suf­fi­ci­ent if only the fol­lo­wing con­di­ti­ons are met one part of the group – and not the group as a who­le – has not ful­fil­led its tax obli­ga­ti­ons. It is hoped that the writ­ten rea­sons for the judgment will pro­vi­de fur­ther infor­ma­ti­on on the pre­cise rea­so­ning and the necessa­ry pro­of that the­re is a sus­pi­ci­on that part of the group are tax eva­ders in France.

Fur­ther­mo­re, the majo­ri­ty of the federal jud­ges came to the con­clu­si­on that the princip­le of spe­cia­li­ty (accord­ing to which a use of the data con­tra­ry to its inten­ded pur­po­se is inad­mis­si­ble) does not justi­fy a refu­sal eit­her. The federal jud­ges agreed that the princip­le of spe­cia­li­ty must be obser­ved. The UBS had fea­red in this con­nec­tion that the infor­ma­ti­on could be used against it in the ongo­ing cri­mi­nal pro­ce­e­dings, which are being con­duc­ted in Fran­ce on alle­ga­ti­ons of money laun­de­ring against the UBS is used. In order to pre­vent such use and thus a vio­la­ti­on of the princip­le of spe­cia­li­ty, the Federal Supre­me Court requi­red expli­cit assuran­ces from the French aut­ho­ri­ties. The majo­ri­ty of the federal jud­ges con­si­der the gua­ran­tees given by the French aut­ho­ri­ties to the federal admi­ni­stra­ti­on in this regard to be sufficient.

The majo­ri­ty of initi­al reac­tions to the ruling have been cri­ti­cal. In fact, it is dif­fi­cult to deter­mi­ne whe­re the bor­der­line to an inad­mis­si­ble “fishing expe­di­ti­on” should still run, if the sus­pi­ci­on of fis­cal mis­con­duct with regard to a part of a group is suf­fi­ci­ent for a list requ­est. Howe­ver, a final clas­si­fi­ca­ti­on and assess­ment will only be pos­si­ble after publi­ca­ti­on of the writ­ten rea­sons for the ruling. The­re are also serious doubts as to whe­ther Fran­ce will actual­ly adhe­re to the princip­le of spe­cia­li­ty or whe­ther the data will not ulti­mate­ly be used for other pur­po­ses (or at least in fact to form opi­ni­ons in French cri­mi­nal pro­ce­e­dings against the UBS will contribute).

In einem viel­be­ach­te­ten Urteil hat das Bun­des­ge­richt am 26. Juli 2019 die (2C_653/2018) die Bekannt­ga­be der Iden­ti­tät von mut­mass­li­chen in Frank­reich steu­er­pflich­ti­gen UBS-Kun­­­den durch die Schweiz an Frank­reich im Rah­men eines Amts­hil­fe­ver­fah­rens als recht­mä­ssig ein­ge­stuft.

Im Mai 2016 hat­te die fran­zö­si­sche Direc­tion Géné­ra­le des Finan­ces Publi­qus (DGFP) ein Amts­hil­fe­er­su­chen an die Eid­ge­nös­si­sche Steu­er­ver­wal­tung (ESTV) gerich­tet. Sie ver­lang­te gestützt auf Listen mit rund 40‘000 Kon­ten- und ande­ren Bank­num­mern die Iden­ti­tät und Kon­ten­stän­de der dazu­ge­hö­ri­gen Bank­kun­den der UBS. Die Kon­ten- und Bank­num­mern stamm­ten von mut­mass­lich in Frank­reich steu­er­pflich­ti­gen Per­so­nen. Die Listen wur­den in den Jah­ren 2012 und 2013 bei deut­schen Zweig­nie­der­las­sun­gen im Rah­men einer Straf­un­ter­su­chung in Deutsch­land beschlag­nahmt und spä­ter an Frank­reich über­mit­telt.

Nach­dem die ESTV dem Amts­hil­fe­er­su­chen im Jahr 2018 statt­ge­ge­ben hat­te, erhob die UBS dage­gen Beschwer­de an das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt (BVGer). Die Beschwer­de der UBS wur­de mit Urteil des BVGer vom 30. Juli 2018 gut­ge­hei­ssen. Der Wei­ter­zug die­ses Urteils durch die ESTV hat nun zur höchst­rich­ter­li­chen Klä­rung der Fra­ge geführt, ob dem „Listen­er­su­chen“ Frank­reichs statt­zu­ge­ben ist.

Das Bun­des­ge­richt hat den Fall öffent­lich bera­ten. Die schrift­li­che Begrün­dung des Urteils steht noch aus. Das Urteil fiel mit drei befür­wor­ten­den Stim­men und zwei Gegen­stim­men knapp aus. Umstrit­ten war ins­be­son­de­re die Fra­ge, ob es sich beim Amts­hil­fe­ge­such um eine unzu­läs­si­ge Beweis­aus­for­schung bzw. „fishing expe­di­ti­on“ han­delt. Als „fishing expe­di­ti­ons“ gel­ten gemäss der gel­ten­den Pra­xis rein spe­ku­la­ti­ve Anfra­gen, wel­che kei­nen ersicht­li­chen Zusam­men­hang mit den lau­fen­den Nach­for­schun­gen oder Ermitt­lun­gen auf­wei­sen. Eine „fishing expe­di­ti­on“ ist mit den Wor­ten des Bun­des­ge­richts aus einem frü­he­ren Urteil ein Ver­lan­gen von „Infor­ma­tio­nen aufs Gera­te­wohl“ (BGE 141 II 436 S. 445 E. 4.4.3 m.w.H.; s. ESTV, Amts- und Rechts­hil­fe in Steu­er­sa­chen, Dezem­ber 2017, S. 8). Die Mehr­heit der Bun­des­rich­ter ver­nein­te im kon­kre­ten Fall das Vor­lie­gen einer „fishing expe­di­ti­on“. Ihrer Ansicht nach genüg­ten die von Frank­reich gemach­ten Anga­ben, um auf einen Ver­dacht ille­ga­len Ver­hal­tens zu schlie­ssen. Der Ver­dacht ille­ga­len Ver­hal­tens bezog sich dar­auf, dass „die Betrof­fe­nen zum Teil in Frank­reich steu­er­pflich­ti­ge Per­so­nen sei­en, die ihre fis­ka­li­schen Ver­pflich­tun­gen nicht erfüllt hät­ten“ (s. Medi­en­mit­tei­lung des Bun­des­ge­richts). Das Bun­des­ge­richt kommt somit zum Schluss, dass es bei Listen- bzw. Grup­pen­er­su­chen aus­reicht, wenn ledig­lich ein Teil der Grup­pe – und nicht die gesam­te Grup­pe – ihren steu­er­recht­li­chen Pflich­ten nicht nach­ge­kom­men ist. Über die genaue Argu­men­ta­ti­on und den erfor­der­li­chen Nach­weis, dass der Ver­dacht besteht, bei einem Teil der Grup­pe hand­le es sich um Steu­er­sün­der in Frank­reich, wird hof­fent­lich die schrift­li­che Urteils­be­grün­dung wei­te­re Auf­schlüs­se brin­gen.

Wei­ter kommt die Mehr­heit der Bun­des­rich­ter zum Schluss, dass auch das Spe­zia­li­täts­prin­zip (wonach eine zweck­wid­ri­ge Ver­wen­dung der Daten unzu­läs­sig ist) eine Ver­wei­ge­rung nicht recht­fer­ti­ge. Einig waren sich die Bun­des­rich­ter dar­in, dass das Spe­zia­li­täts­prin­zip ein­zu­hal­ten ist. Die UBS hat­te in die­sem Zusam­men­hang befürch­tet, die Infor­ma­tio­nen könn­ten gegen sie ver­wen­det wer­den im lau­fen­den Straf­ver­fah­ren, wel­ches in Frank­reich wegen Geld­wä­sche­rei­vor­wür­fen gegen die UBS geführt wird. Um eine sol­che Ver­wen­dung und damit ein Ver­stoss gegen das Spe­zia­li­täts­prin­zip zu ver­hin­dern, hat das Bun­des­ge­richt expli­zi­te Zusi­che­run­gen der fran­zö­si­schen Behör­den ver­langt. Die von den fran­zö­si­schen Behör­den dazu gegen­über der Bun­des­ver­wal­tung abge­ge­ben Garan­ti­en erach­tet die Mehr­heit der Bun­des­rich­ter als aus­rei­chend.

Das Urteil wird in ersten Reak­tio­nen mehr­heit­lich kri­tisch auf­ge­nom­men. In der Tat ist schwie­rig ein­zu­ord­nen, wo die Gren­ze zur unzu­läs­si­gen „fishing expe­di­ti­on“ noch ver­lau­fen soll, wenn der Ver­dacht einer fis­ka­li­schen Ver­feh­lung hin­sicht­lich eines Teils einer Grup­pe für ein Listen­ge­such genügt. Eine abschlie­ssen­de Ein­ord­nung und Wür­di­gung wird aller­dings erst nach Publi­ka­ti­on der schrift­li­chen Urteils­be­grün­dung mög­lich sein. Gro­sse Zwei­fel wer­den zudem zur Fra­ge erho­ben, ob sich Frank­reich auch tat­säch­lich an das Spe­zia­li­täts­prin­zip hal­ten wer­de oder ob die Daten nicht letzt­lich doch zweck­wid­rig wei­ter­ver­wen­det wer­den (oder zumin­dest fak­tisch zur Mei­nungs­bil­dung im fran­zö­si­schen Straf­ver­fah­ren gegen die UBS bei­tra­gen wer­den).

Posted by Monique Sturny