BGH i.S. Planet49: Tracking coo­kies only with acti­ve consent

Update (12.08.20): The full text is e.g. here available.


Yester­day, the Ger­man Federal Court of Jus­ti­ce (BGH) han­ded down its ruling in the case of Planet49 ( I ZR 7/16) (which was refer­red to the ECJ deci­si­on in the case of Planet49 had led).

So far only the Media release avail­ab­le. It sta­tes that

  • the set­ting of Coo­kies at least then a Con­sent if the­se are used to crea­te user pro­files for adver­ti­sing or mar­ket rese­arch. This does not fol­low from the GDPR, but from a Direc­ti­ve-com­pli­ant (and legal­ly crea­ti­ve) inter­pre­ta­ti­on of the Ger­man Tele­me­dia Act (i.e., com­pli­ant with Art. 5(3) of the e‑Privacy Direc­ti­ve, accord­ing to which coo­kies that are not “strict­ly necessa­ry” requi­re consent);
  • this con­sent not in GTC becau­se such con­sent would con­sti­tu­te an “unre­a­son­ab­le dis­ad­van­ta­ge” (i.e., from a Swiss per­spec­ti­ve, it would be abusi­ve in the sen­se of the con­tent con­trol under unfair com­pe­ti­ti­on law);
  • a con­sent also not by pre­set check­box can be obtai­ned, and alrea­dy befo­re the GDPR could not;
  • this legal situa­ti­on has not chan­ged as a result of the GDPR.

In Ger­ma­ny, it is thus clear that at least cer­tain coo­kies always requi­re con­sent, even if no per­so­nal data should be pro­ces­sed via the­se coo­kies, and that this con­sent can only be given actively.

Com­ments on the judgment have e.g. Simon Assi­on authored

BGH i.S. Planet49: Tracking-Coo­kies nur mit akti­ver Ein­wil­li­gung

Der deut­sche Bun­des­ge­richts­hof (BGH) hat gestern sein Urteil i.S. Planet49 ( I ZR 7/16) gefällt (das vor­la­ge­wei­se zum EuGH-Ent­scheid i.S. Planet49 geführt hat­te).

Bis­her ist erst die Medi­en­mit­tei­lung ver­füg­bar. Dar­in wird fest­ge­hal­ten, dass

  • das Set­zen von Coo­kies zumin­dest dann eine Ein­wil­li­gung vor­aus­setzt, wenn die­se zur Erstel­lung von Nut­zer­pro­fi­len zur Wer­bung oder Markt­for­schung die­nen. Das ergibt sich nicht aus der DSGVO, aber aus einer richt­li­ni­en­kon­for­men (und juri­stisch krea­ti­ven) Aus­le­gung des deut­schen Tele­me­di­en­ge­set­zes (d.h. kon­form mit Art. 5 Abs. 3 der e‑Pri­va­cy-Richt­li­nie, wonach Coo­kies, die nicht “unbe­dingt erfor­der­lich” sind, eine Ein­wil­li­gung ver­lan­gen);
  • die­se Ein­wil­li­gung nicht in AGB ein­ge­holt wer­den kann, weil eine sol­che Ein­wil­li­gung eine “unan­ge­mes­se­ne Benach­tei­li­gung” dar­stellt (aus schwei­ze­ri­scher Optik also miss­bräuch­lich i.S der lau­ter­keits­recht­li­chen Inhalts­kon­trol­le wäre);
  • eine Ein­wil­li­gung auch nicht durch vor­ein­ge­stell­tes Ankreuz­käst­chen ein­ge­holt wer­den kann, und schon vor der DSGVO nicht konn­te;
  • sich an die­ser Rechts­la­ge durch die DSGVO nichts geän­dert hat.

In Deutsch­land ist damit klar, dass zumin­dest bestimm­te Coo­kies immer ein­wil­li­gungs­be­düf­tig sind, auch dann, wenn über die­se Coo­kies kei­ne Per­so­nen­da­ten bear­bei­tet wer­den soll­ten, und dass die­se Ein­wil­li­gung nur aktiv erteilt wer­den kann.

Anmer­kun­gen zum Urteil hat z.B. Simon Assi­on ver­fasst.