datenrecht.ch

Fede­ral Act on the Use of Elec­tro­nic Means for the Per­for­mance of Offi­ci­al Duties (EMBAG): adopted in final vote

The Fede­ral Law on the Use of Elec­tro­nic Means for the Per­for­mance of Govern­ment Tasks (EMBAG) is inten­ded to Legal foun­da­ti­ons for a digi­tal trans­for­ma­ti­on in the fede­ral admi­ni­stra­ti­on and coope­ra­ti­on bet­ween aut­ho­ri­ties in the area of e‑government – but for the time being wit­hout digi­tal pro­ce­s­ses being bin­ding (a sepa­ra­te con­sti­tu­tio­nal basis for this is under discussion).

It applies in prin­ci­ple to the cen­tral fede­ral admi­ni­stra­ti­onif the Fede­ral Coun­cil does not extend the scope of appli­ca­ti­on to units of the decen­tra­li­zed fede­ral admi­ni­stra­ti­on by ordi­nan­ce. On March 4, 2022, the Fede­ral Coun­cil had adopted the dis­patch on the EMBAG (on this here).

During the deli­be­ra­ti­ons, a detail­ed que­sti­on regar­ding the com­pe­tence of the Fede­ral Coun­cil to con­clude agree­ments and trea­ties under inter­na­tio­nal law in this area was still con­tro­ver­si­al. After the Natio­nal Coun­cil had third round of the adjust­ment of dif­fe­ren­ces had joi­n­ed the Coun­cil of Sta­tes on March 13, the Coun­cils pas­sed the law in the Final vote of March 17, 2023 appro­ved with lar­ge majo­ri­ties.

The main pur­po­se of EMBAG for the fede­ral govern­ment as a who­le is to crea­te “suf­fi­ci­ent legal bases for the use of elec­tro­nic means in the per­for­mance of its tasks,” and here, abo­ve all, for the Coope­ra­ti­on of the Con­fe­de­ra­ti­on with other com­mu­ni­ties, other sta­tes and natio­nal and inter­na­tio­nal orga­nizati­ons. For exam­p­le, the Con­fe­de­ra­ti­on should be able to con­clude agree­ments with the can­tons and par­ti­ci­pa­te in organizations.

Also regu­la­ted is the dele­ga­ti­on of tasks in the field of admi­ni­stra­ti­ve sup­port acti­vi­ties in the use of elec­tro­nic means. Accor­ding to Art. 8 para. 1 EMBAG, which was adopted in par­lia­ment wit­hout dis­cus­sion, the Fede­ral Coun­cil is com­pe­tent and aut­ho­ri­zed to trans­fer tasks by ordi­nan­ce or trea­ty – accor­ding to the dis­patch: trea­ties under admi­ni­stra­ti­ve law. The dis­patch fur­ther refers here to Art. 178 para. 3 BV (“Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve tasks may be trans­fer­red by law to orga­nizati­ons and per­sons under public or pri­va­te law that are out­side the fede­ral admi­ni­stra­ti­on”). What is requi­red, the­r­e­fo­re, is a for­mal legal basis, which Art. 8 EMBAG seeks to create.

Howe­ver, this requi­re­ment does not neces­s­a­ri­ly refer to the invol­vement of third par­ties in the con­text of the admi­ni­stra­ti­on of needs, at least if the legal posi­ti­on of the per­sons con­cer­ned is not affec­ted by this – such invol­vement should be pos­si­ble wit­hout its own basis. This is also the view of the Fede­ral Chan­cel­lery, which in the Public Cloud Report August 31, 2022 has recorded,

In prin­ci­ple, the use of cloud ser­vices is regard­ed as a admi­ni­stra­ti­ve sup­port acti­vi­ty (demand manage­ment). Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve sup­port acti­vi­ty means the pro­cu­re­ment of tho­se neces­sa­ry mate­ri­al goods or ser­vices that the admi­ni­stra­ti­on needs to ful­fill its public task. Examp­les of this are the pro­cu­re­ment of office sup­plies, the con­clu­si­on of work con­tracts for the cons­truc­tion of a public buil­ding, or even the invol­vement of an ICT ser­vice pro­vi­der. In prin­ci­ple, the admi­ni­stra­ti­ve unit con­clu­des con­tracts under pri­va­te law. The legal basis is deri­ved direct­ly from the legal basis of the respec­ti­ve public task. Howe­ver, depen­ding on the sub­ject mat­ter or natu­re of the data pro­ce­s­sed, the fol­lo­wing app­ly more spe­ci­fic requi­re­ments to the legal basis. This applies in gene­ral name­ly when per­so­nal data is the sub­ject of a cloud sourcing are.

It remain­ed unclear what mea­ning the refe­rence to per­so­nal data in cloud sourcing should have here. In the Report of the BK “Legal basis – Cloud-enab­ling office auto­ma­ti­on” of Febru­ary 15, 2023 the BK has repea­ted its view, but now expli­ci­t­ly also when per­so­nal data is involved:

The pre­sent pro­ject con­cerns the fur­ther deve­lo­p­ment of office auto­ma­ti­on (OA), which sup­ports the ful­fill­ment of fede­ral tasks and is neces­sa­ry for eco­no­mic­al and com­pre­hen­si­ble admi­ni­stra­ti­ve acti­vi­ties. The ope­ra­ti­on of the BA does not invol­ve any inter­fe­rence with the rights of indi­vi­du­als. Under the­se cir­cum­stances, the ope­ra­ti­on of the BA can be based direct­ly on the trans­fer of the cor­re­spon­ding admi­ni­stra­ti­ve tasks. A Expli­cit legal basis is thus not neces­sa­ry; this also applies to the out­sour­cing of the BA to the public cloud. When out­sour­cing pro­ce­s­sing to the public cloud it is a mat­ter of order data pro­ce­s­sing (Micro­soft is an order pro­ces­sor) within the mea­ning of data pro­tec­tion legis­la­ti­on. Accor­din­gly, the data pro­tec­tion pro­vi­si­ons must be com­plied with. The legal basis for the pro­ce­s­sing of data by the fede­ral admi­ni­stra­ti­on is deri­ved from RVOG 57h. The data pro­tec­tion pro­vi­si­ons are ful­fil­led with the sup­ple­ments to SCC and reco­gni­ti­on of the CH DSG.

This is cor­rect becau­se the out­sour­cing of elec­tro­nic data pro­ce­s­sing to a ser­vice pro­vi­der does not in prin­ci­ple requi­re its own legal basis even if per­so­nal data are invol­ved. This fol­lows from the inter­ac­tion, or rather the dif­fe­rence, bet­ween Art. 10a FADP (new Art. 9; here refer­ring to fede­ral bodies) and Art. 19 FADP (new Art. 36): Sub­ject to the excep­ti­ons, the “dis­clo­sure” of per­so­nal data requi­res a legal basis, but order pro­ce­s­sing must be distin­gu­is­hed from this. It is worth recal­ling the rela­ted distinc­tion bet­ween con­tracts under admi­ni­stra­ti­ve law and con­tracts under pri­va­te law (e.g. in BGE 134 II 297):

A con­tract under admi­ni­stra­ti­ve law direct­ly con­cerns the per­for­mance of a public task or rela­tes to an object gover­ned by public law, for exam­p­le a deve­lo­p­ment, expro­pria­ti­on or sub­s­idy […]. In con­trast, an agree­ment under pri­va­te law exists if the sta­te mere­ly pro­cu­res the resour­ces it needs to ful­fill its public duties by means of a purcha­se, a con­tract for work or an order.

This unders­cores the fact that Art. 8 EMBAG can­not actual­ly be about the pro­cu­re­ment of elec­tro­nic aids for the per­for­mance of sta­te tasks, becau­se the legal basis that Art. 8 EMBAG seeks to crea­te is not requi­red here in accordance with Art. 178 BV and the dis­patch under­stands the expres­si­on “agree­ment” in Art. 8 EMBAG as an agree­ment under admi­ni­stra­ti­ve law, but when a cloud ser­vice, for exam­p­le, is pro­cu­red, a con­tract under pri­va­te law is con­clu­ded. It is not exclu­ded that the Fede­ral Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court will deal with this que­sti­on (cf. here).

Other key are­as of regu­la­ti­on are

  • the con­clu­si­on of Agree­ments by the fede­ral govern­ment inclu­ding, whe­re appro­pria­te, the crea­ti­on of or par­ti­ci­pa­ti­on in joint orga­nizati­ons e.g. with the can­tons (so could the Digi­tal Manage­ment Switz­er­land beco­me a sepa­ra­te legal entity),
  • the use of Open Source Soft­ware - to the ext­ent pos­si­ble, the fede­ral govern­ment should dis­c­lo­se the source code of soft­ware that it deve­lo­ps or has deve­lo­ped for free reuse,
  • The gra­du­al public pro­vi­si­on of data obtai­ned or gene­ra­ted for the ful­fill­ment of sta­tu­to­ry tasks (Open Govern­ment Data),
  • the pro­vi­si­on or purcha­se of Shared Ser­vices by the fede­ral aut­ho­ri­ties, and
  • the imple­men­ta­ti­on of Pilot test­ing.

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

datenrecht.ch

Bun­des­ge­setz über den Ein­satz elek­tro­ni­scher Mit­tel zur Erfül­lung von Behör­den­auf­ga­ben (EMBAG): in Schluss­ab­stim­mung angenommen

Das Bun­des­ge­setz über den Ein­satz elek­tro­ni­scher Mit­tel zur Erfül­lung von Behör­den­auf­ga­ben (EMBAG) soll die Rechts­grund­la­gen für eine digi­ta­le Trans­for­ma­ti­on in der Bun­des­ver­wal­tung und die Zusam­men­ar­beit zwi­schen Behör­den im Gebiet E‑Government schaf­fen – vor­erst aber ohne dass digi­ta­le Pro­zes­se ver­bind­lich sein sol­len (dafür ist eine eige­ne Ver­fas­sungs­grund­la­ge in Diskussion).

Es gilt grund­sätz­lich für die zen­tra­le Bun­des­ver­wal­tung, falls der Bun­des­rat den Gel­tungs­be­reich nicht auf dem Ver­ord­nungs­weg auf Ein­hei­ten der dezen­tra­len Bun­des­ver­wal­tung aus­dehnt. Am 4. März 2022 hat­te der Bun­des­rat die Bot­schaft zum EMBAG ver­ab­schie­det (dazu hier).

In der Bera­tung war zuletzt noch eine Detail­fra­ge zur Kom­pe­tenz des Bun­des­rats für den Abschluss von Ver­ein­ba­run­gen und völ­ker­recht­li­chen Ver­trä­gen in die­sem Bereich umstrit­ten. Nach­dem sich der Natio­nal­rat in der drit­ten Run­de der Dif­fe­renz­be­rei­ni­gung am 13. März dem Stän­de­rat ange­schlos­sen hat­te, haben die Räte das Gesetz in der Schluss­ab­stim­mung vom 17. März 2023 mit gro­ssen Mehr­hei­ten ange­nom­men.

Das EMBAG soll für den Bund ins­ge­samt vor allem “hin­rei­chen­de Rechts­grund­la­gen für die Ver­wen­dung elek­tro­ni­scher Mit­tel zur Erfül­lung sei­ner Auf­ga­ben” schaf­fen, und hier vor allem für die Zusam­men­ar­beit des Bun­des mit ande­ren Gemein­we­sen, ande­ren Staa­ten und natio­na­len wie inter­na­tio­na­len Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen. Bspw. soll der Bund Ver­ein­ba­run­gen mit den Kan­to­nen schlie­ssen und sihc an Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen betei­li­gen können.

Eben­falls gere­gelt wird die Über­tra­gung von Auf­ga­ben im Bereich der admi­ni­stra­ti­ven Hilfs­tä­tig­keit beim Ein­satz elek­tro­ni­scher Mit­tel. Nach dem im Par­la­ment dis­kus­si­ons­los ange­nom­me­nen Art. 8 Abs. 1 EMBAG ist der Bun­des­rat zustän­dig und befugt, durch Ver­ord­nung oder Ver­trä­ge – laut Bot­schaft: ver­wal­tungs­recht­li­che Ver­trä­ge – Auf­ga­ben zu über­tra­gen. Die Bot­schaft ver­weist hier wei­ter auf Art. 178 Abs. 3 BV (“Ver­wal­tungs­auf­ga­ben kön­nen durch Gesetz Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen und Per­so­nen des öffent­li­chen oder des pri­va­ten Rechts über­tra­gen wer­den, die ausser­halb der Bun­des­ver­wal­tung ste­hen”). Erfor­der­lich ist also eine for­mell­ge­setz­li­che Grund­la­ge, die Art. 8 EMBAG schaf­fen will.

Die­se Anfor­de­rung bezieht sich aller­dings nicht unbe­dingt auf den Ein­be­zug Drit­ter im Rah­men der Bedarfs­ver­wal­tung, jeden­falls wenn die Rechts­stel­lung der betrof­fe­nen Per­so­nen davon nicht berührt wird – ein sol­cher Ein­be­zug soll­te ohne eige­ne Grund­la­ge mög­lich sein. Dies ist auch die Auf­fas­sung der Bun­des­kanz­lei, die im Public Cloud-Bericht vom 31. August 2022 fest­ge­hal­ten hat,

Die Nut­zung von Cloud-Dien­sten ist im Grund­satz als admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Hilfs­tä­tig­keit (Bedarfs­ver­wal­tung) ein­zu­stu­fen. Als admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Hilfs­tä­tig­keit ist die Beschaf­fung jener not­wen­di­gen Sach­gü­ter oder Lei­stun­gen gemeint, die die Ver­wal­tung zur Erfül­lung ihrer öffent­li­chen Auf­ga­be benö­tigt. Bei­spie­le dafür sind die Beschaf­fung von Büro­ma­te­ri­al, der Abschluss von Werk­ver­trä­gen für die Errich­tung einer öffent­li­chen Bau­te oder eben das Bei­zie­hen eines IKT-Lei­stungs­er­brin­gers. Die Ver­wal­tungs­ein­heit schliesst dabei grund­sätz­lich pri­vat­recht­li­che Ver­trä­ge ab. Die gesetz­li­che Grund­la­ge lei­tet sich unmit­tel­bar aus der Rechts­grund­la­ge der jewei­li­gen öffent­li­chen Auf­ga­be ab. Je nach Sach­be­reich oder Natur der bear­bei­te­ten Daten gel­ten jedoch spe­zi­fi­sche­re Anfor­de­run­gen an die Rechts­grund­la­ge. Das gilt all­ge­mein nament­lich dann, wenn Per­so­nen­da­ten Gegen­stand eines Cloud-Sourcing sind.

Unklar blieb, wel­che Bedeu­tung hier der Hin­weis auf die Per­so­nen­da­ten beim Cloud-Sourcing haben soll. Im Bericht der BK “Recht­li­che Grund­la­gen – Cloud-Enab­ling Büro­au­to­ma­ti­on” vom 15. Febru­ar 2023 hat die BK ihre Auf­fas­sung wie­der­holt, nun aber aus­drück­lich auch dann, wenn Per­so­nen­da­ten betrof­fen sind:

Beim vor­lie­gen­den Pro­jekt han­delt es sich um die Wei­ter­ent­wick­lung der Büro­au­to­ma­ti­on (BA), wel­che die Erfül­lung von Bun­des­auf­ga­ben unter­stützt und für eine wirt­schaft­li­che und nach­voll­zieh­ba­re Ver­wal­tungs­tä­tig­keit not­wen­dig ist. Mit dem Betrieb der BA sind kei­ne Ein­grif­fe in die Rech­te Ein­zel­ner ver­bun­den. Unter die­sen Umstän­den kann für den Betrieb der BA direkt auf die Über­tra­gung der ent­spre­chen­den Ver­wal­tungs­auf­ga­ben abge­stellt wer­den. Eine expli­zi­te Rechts­grund­la­ge ist damit nicht not­wen­dig; dies gilt auch für die Aus­la­ge­rung der BA in die Public Cloud. Bei der Aus­la­ge­rung der Bear­bei­tung in die Public Cloud han­delt es sich um eine Auf­trags­da­ten­be­ar­bei­tung (Micro­soft ist Auf­trags­be­ar­bei­ter) im Sin­ne der Daten­schutz­ge­setz­ge­bung. Ent­spre­chend sind die Daten­schutz­be­stim­mun­gen zu erfül­len. Die Recht­li­che Grund­la­ge für die Bear­bei­tung der Daten durch die Bun­des­ver­wal­tung erge­ben sich aus RVOG 57h. Die Daten­schutz­be­stim­mun­gen wer­den mit den Ergän­zun­gen zu SCC und Aner­ken­nung der CH DSG erfüllt.

Dies ist rich­tig, weil die Aus­la­ge­rung der elek­tro­ni­schen Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung an einen Dienst­lei­ster auch dann nicht grund­sätz­lich eine eige­ne gesetz­li­che Grund­la­ge ver­langt, wenn Per­so­nen­da­ten betrof­fen sind. Das folgt aus dem Zusam­men­spiel oder viel­mehr dem Unter­schied von Art. 10a DSG (neu Art. 9; hier bezo­gen auf Bun­des­or­ga­ne) mit Art. 19 DSG (neu Art. 36): Die “Bekannt­ga­be” von Per­so­nen­da­ten ver­langt vor­be­halt­lich der Aus­nah­men eine gesetz­li­che Grund­la­ge, aber davon ist die Auf­trags­be­ar­bei­tung abzu­gren­zen. In Erin­ne­rung zu rufen ist dabei die ver­wand­te Unter­schei­dung zwi­schen ver­wal­tungs­recht­li­chen und pri­vat­recht­li­chen Ver­trä­gen (etwa in BGE 134 II 297):

Ein ver­wal­tungs­recht­li­cher Ver­trag hat direkt die Erfül­lung einer öffent­li­chen Auf­ga­be zum Inhalt oder betrifft einen im öffent­li­chen Recht gere­gel­ten Gegen­stand, zum Bei­spiel eine Erschlie­ssung, Ent­eig­nung oder Sub­ven­ti­on […]. Dem­ge­gen­über liegt eine pri­vat­recht­li­che Ver­ein­ba­rung vor, wenn sich der Staat durch Kauf, Werk­ver­trag oder Auf­trag bloss die Hilfs­mit­tel beschafft, derer er zur Erfül­lung sei­ner öffent­li­chen Auf­ga­ben bedarf.

Das unter­streicht, dass es in Art. 8 EMBAG eigent­lich nicht um die Beschaf­fung elek­tro­ni­scher Hilfs­mit­tel der staat­li­chen Auf­ga­ben­er­fül­lung gehen kann, weil die gesetz­li­che Grund­la­ge, die Art. 8 EMBAG schaf­fen will, hier nach Mass­ga­be von Art. 178 BV nicht erfor­der­lich ist und die Bot­schaft den Aus­druck der “Ver­ein­ba­rung” in Art. 8 EMBAG als ver­wal­tungs­recht­li­che Ver­ein­ba­rung ver­steht, bei der Beschaf­fung etwa eines Cloud-Dien­stes aber ein pri­vat­recht­li­cher Ver­trag geschlos­sen wird. Es ist nicht aus­ge­schlos­sen, dass sich das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt mit die­ser Fra­ge aus­ein­an­der­set­zen wird (sie­he hier).

Wei­te­re Rege­lungs­schwer­punk­te sind

  • der Abschluss von Ver­ein­ba­run­gen durch den Bund ein­schliess­lich ggf. der Schaf­fung von oder die Betei­li­gung an gemein­sa­mer Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen z.B. mit den Kan­to­nen (so könn­te die Digi­ta­le Ver­wal­tung Schweiz eine eige­ne Rechts­per­son werden),
  • der Ein­satz von Open Source Soft­ware – soweit mög­lich soll der Bund den Source­code von Soft­ware zur kosten­lo­sen Wei­ter­ver­wen­dung offen­le­gen, die er ent­wickelt oder ent­wickeln lässt,
  • die schritt­wei­se öffent­li­che Bereit­stel­lung von Daten, die zur Erfül­lung der gesetz­li­chen Auf­ga­ben beschafft oder gene­riert wer­den (Open Govern­ment Data),
  • die Erbrin­gung bzw. den Bezug von Shared Ser­vices durch die Bun­des­be­hör­den, und
  • die Durch­füh­rung von Pilot­ver­su­chen.

Behörde

Gebiet

Themen

Ähnliche Beiträge

Newsletter