BVGer A‑4494/2020: no insight into “Cryp­to case”.

Swiss Export Risk Insu­rance (SERV) right­ly denied an edi­tor of “Rund­schau” access to its docu­ments. This was deci­ded by the Fede­ral Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court on April 20, 2021 (BVGer A‑4494/2020). The lists in dis­pu­te con­cer­ned the Cipher export of Cryp­to AG and Cryp­to Inter­na­tio­nal AG.

In essence, SERV had refu­sed access for three rea­sons: out of con­side­ra­ti­on for Switzerland’s for­eign poli­cy inte­rests (Art. 7 para. 1 let. d of the Fede­ral Act on Export Risk Gua­ran­tees), to pro­tect busi­ness secrets (Art. 7 para. 1 let. g of the Fede­ral Act on Export Risk Gua­ran­tees), and in respect for the pri­va­cy of third par­ties (Art. 7 para. 2 and Art. 9 of the Fede­ral Act on Export Risk Gua­ran­tees). For tho­se docu­ments which had still been drawn up by its pre­de­ces­sor orga­nizati­on, the Export Risk Gua­ran­tee foun­ded in 1934, it con­side­red the Fede­ral Act on Export Risk Gua­ran­tees, which ente­red into force in 2006, not to be appli­ca­ble from the outset.

Fol­lo­wing the pre­vious instance, the Fede­ral Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court sta­ted that lists drawn up from older infor­ma­ti­on with a view to con­ci­lia­ti­on pro­ce­e­dings do not, by vir­tue of this alo­ne, fall within the tem­po­ral scope of the Public Infor­ma­ti­on Act (E. 3.3). Such “vir­tu­al” docu­ments in the sen­se of Art. 5, para. 2 of the Code of Obli­ga­ti­ons, in other words no new timestamp. The date of com­ple­ti­on remains decisi­ve (E. 3.1; Art. 23 FSIO).

The more recent docu­ments were sub­ject to the Public Access Act, but their acce­s­si­bi­li­ty fai­led due to the reser­va­ti­on of the Thre­at to for­eign poli­cy inte­rests. In its assess­ment, the court reli­ed in par­ti­cu­lar on the report of the Busi­ness Audit Dele­ga­ti­on on the “Cryp­to case” (BBl 2021 156 ff.). At the same time, it empha­si­zed that the sub­stan­tia­ti­on of such fore­casts “not only on ‘hard’ facts but must neces­s­a­ri­ly also be based on assump­ti­ons, pre­sump­ti­ons or hypo­the­ses that are for­med on the basis of the cir­cum­stances of the spe­ci­fic case.” (E. 5.8). As a result, it con­side­red the thre­at to Switzerland’s for­eign poli­cy inte­rests asser­ted by the com­plainants to be plausible:

In sum­ma­ry […] from a serious risk to assu­me that publi­ca­ti­on of the infor­ma­ti­on con­tai­ned on the list could harm Switzerland’s for­eign poli­cy inte­rests and inter­na­tio­nal rela­ti­ons.” (E. 5.8 f.)

With this out­co­me, it was not neces­sa­ry to exami­ne the remai­ning excep­ti­ons, in par­ti­cu­lar the pro­tec­tion of busi­ness secrets. Anony­mizati­on of the list was also out of the que­sti­on, becau­se this would redu­ce the infor­ma­ti­ve value to such an ext­ent that access could just as well have been denied (E. 5.10.2). The appeal was rejec­ted in its enti­re­ty. Becau­se of the poli­ti­cal explo­si­ve­ness, the Fede­ral Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court trea­ted the case as a “cau­se célèb­re” and published a Media release in this matter.

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

BVGer A‑4494/2020: kei­ne Ein­sicht in «Fall Crypto»

Die Schwei­ze­ri­sche Export­ri­si­ko­ver­si­che­rung (SERV) hat einer Redak­teu­rin der «Rund­schau» zurecht die Ein­sicht in ihre Unter­la­gen ver­wehrt. Dies ent­schied das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt am 20. April 2021 (BVGer A‑4494/2020). Die streit­ge­gen­ständ­li­chen Listen betra­fen den Export von Chif­frier­ge­rä­ten der Cryp­to AG und der Cryp­to Inter­na­tio­nal AG.

Im Wesent­li­chen hat­te die SERV den Zugang aus drei Grün­den ver­wei­gert: aus Rück­sicht auf die aussen­po­li­ti­schen Inter­es­sen der Schweiz (Art. 7 Abs. 1 Bst. d BGÖ), zur Wah­rung von Geschäfts­ge­heim­nis­sen (Art. 7 Abs. 1 Bst. g BGÖ) und in Ach­tung der Pri­vat­sphä­re Drit­ter (Art. 7 Abs. 2 und Art. 9 BGÖ). Für die­je­ni­gen Doku­men­te, die noch von ihrer Vor­gän­ger­or­ga­ni­sa­ti­on, der 1934 gegrün­de­ten Export­ri­si­ko­ga­ran­tie, erstellt wor­den waren, erach­te­te sie das 2006 in Kraft getre­te­ne BGÖ von vorn­her­ein nicht für anwendbar.

Der Vor­in­stanz fol­gend erklär­te das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt, dass Listen, die aus älte­ren Infor­ma­tio­nen mit Blick auf ein Schlich­tungs­ver­fah­ren erstellt wor­den sind, nicht schon dadurch in den zeit­li­chen Gel­tungs­be­reich des Öffent­lich­keits­ge­setz­tes fal­len (E. 3.3). Sol­che «vir­tu­el­len» Doku­men­te i.S.v. Art. 5 Abs. 2 BGÖ begrün­den mit ande­ren Wor­ten kei­nen neu­en Zeits­tem­pel. Mass­geb­lich bleibt das Datum der Fer­tig­stel­lung (E. 3.1; Art. 23 BGÖ).

Die neue­ren Doku­men­te unter­stan­den zwar dem Öffent­lich­keits­ge­setz, doch schei­ter­te ihre Zugäng­lich­ma­chung am Vor­be­halt der Gefähr­dung aussen­po­li­ti­scher Inter­es­sen. In sei­ner Wür­di­gung griff das Gericht ins­be­son­de­re auf den ins Recht geleg­ten Bericht der Geschäfts­prü­fungs­de­le­ga­ti­on zum «Fall Cryp­to» zurück (BBl 2021 156 ff.). Gleich­zei­tig beton­te es, dass die Sub­stan­ti­ie­rung sol­cher Pro­gno­sen «nicht nur auf ‹har­ten› Fak­ten beru­hen kann, son­dern sich zwangs­läu­fig auch auf Annah­men, Ver­mu­tun­gen oder Hypo­the­sen stüt­zen muss, die auf­grund der Umstän­de des kon­kre­ten Fal­les gebil­det wer­den» (E. 5.8). Im Ergeb­nis erach­te­te es die von den Beschwer­de­füh­re­rin­nen gel­tend gemach­te Gefähr­dung der aussen­po­li­ti­schen Inter­es­sen der Schweiz als plausibel:

«Zusam­men­fas­send ist […] von einem ernst­haf­ten Risi­ko aus­zu­ge­hen, dass die Ver­öf­fent­li­chung der auf der Liste ent­hal­te­nen Infor­ma­tio­nen den aussen­po­li­ti­schen Inter­es­sen und inter­na­tio­na­len Bezie­hun­gen der Schweiz scha­den könn­te.» (E. 5.8 f.)

Bei die­sem Aus­gang erüb­rig­te sich eine Prü­fung der ver­blie­be­nen Aus­nah­me­tat­be­stän­de, ins­be­son­de­re der Wah­rung von Geschäfts­ge­heim­nis­sen. Auch kam eine Anony­mi­sie­rung der Liste nicht infra­ge, weil die Aus­sa­ge­kraft dadurch so weit geschmä­lert wür­de, dass der Zugang eben­so gut hät­te ver­wei­gert wer­den kön­nen (E. 5.10.2). Die Beschwer­de wur­de voll­um­fäng­lich abge­wie­sen. Wegen der poli­ti­schen Bri­sanz behan­del­te das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt den Fall als «cau­se célèb­re» und ver­öf­fent­lich­te eine Medi­en­mit­tei­lung in die­ser Sache.