BVGer A‑5706/2020 and A‑5709/2020: Redac­tions in legal assi­stance cases

On March 5, 2021, the Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court addres­sed the issue in two rulings (A‑5706/2020 and A‑5709/2020) with the redac­tion requ­est of a bank employee. She had reque­sted that her per­so­nal data on the bank records of a custo­mer be made anony­mous after the docu­ments had been redac­ted with a view to trans­mit­ting them by way of mutu­al legal assistance.

The Office of the Attor­ney Gene­ral of Switz­er­land had rejec­ted the requ­est on the grounds that objec­tions based on data pro­tec­tion law in any case “only pos­si­ble to a limi­ted extent” in the case of mutu­al legal assi­stance in cri­mi­nal mat­ters were. Spe­ci­fi­cal­ly, it argued that (i) the­re was not­hing to pre­vent dis­clo­sure to coun­tries with an ade­qua­te level of data pro­tec­tion, (ii) this safe­guard could not be invo­ked in the cases of Art. 11f (iii) dis­clo­sure in mutu­al assi­stance pro­ce­e­dings is to be “regar­ded a prio­ri as gene­ral­ly per­mis­si­ble”, (iv) the DPA does not app­ly to mutu­al assi­stance pro­ce­e­dings in cri­mi­nal mat­ters, and (v) the­re are doubts as to the legi­ti­ma­cy of the appeal becau­se, pur­suant to Art. 9a a IRSV, only the account hol­der is per­so­nal­ly and direct­ly affected.

Of the­se argu­ments, the Federal Admi­ni­stra­ti­ve Court dealt only with the fourth one by not acting on the appeal for for­mal rea­sons: on the one hand, the Office of the Attor­ney Gene­ral of Switz­er­land in this mat­ter is No admis­si­ble lower instance wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 33 FAC (E. 2.2). On the other hand, the invo­ked refe­rence pro­vi­si­on of Art. 33 DPA does not lead any fur­ther here eit­her, becau­se while it gene­ral­ly assigns data pro­tec­tion pro­ce­e­dings to the federal admi­ni­stra­ti­on of jus­ti­ce, the DPA in the area of inter­na­tio­nal judi­cial assi­stance does not even not for use (Art. 2 para. 2 let. c FADP).

The Federal Cri­mi­nal Court dis­mis­sed the two par­al­lel appeals as unfoun­ded in its deci­si­on of Febru­a­ry 2, 2021 (RR.2020.308 and RR.2020.311).

BVGer A‑5706/2020 und A‑5709/2020: Schwärzun­gen in Rechtshilfesachen

Am 5. März 2021 befass­te sich das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt in zwei Urtei­len (A‑5706/2020 und A‑5709/2020) mit dem Schwärzungs­an­trag einer Bank­an­ge­stell­ten. Sie hat­te dar­um ersucht, ihre Per­so­nen­da­ten auf den Bank­un­ter­la­gen einer Kun­din anony­mi­sie­ren zu las­sen, nach­dem die Doku­men­te mit Blick auf eine rechts­hil­fe­wei­se Über­mitt­lung ediert wor­den waren.

Die Bun­des­an­walt­schaft hat­te das Gesuch mit der Begrün­dung abge­wie­sen, dass daten­schutz­recht­li­che Ein­wän­de bei der Rechts­hil­fe in Straf­sa­chen ohne­hin «nur begrenzt mög­lich» sei­en. Kon­kret führ­te sie ins Feld, dass (i) einer Wei­ter­ga­be an Staa­ten mit ange­mes­se­nem Daten­schutz­ni­veau nichts ent­ge­gen­ste­he, (ii) auf die­se Schutz­vor­kehr in den Fäl­len von Art. 11f Abs. 3 IRSG sogar ver­zich­tet wer­den kön­ne, (iii) eine Wei­ter­ga­be in Rechts­hil­fe­ver­fah­ren «a prio­ri als all­ge­mein zuläs­sig zu betrach­ten» sei, (iv) das DSG für Rechts­hil­fe­ver­fah­ren in Straf­sa­chen nicht gel­te und (v) Zwei­fel an der Beschwer­de­le­gi­ti­ma­ti­on bestehen, weil nach Art. 9a Bst. a IRSV nur der Kon­to­in­ha­ber per­sön­lich und direkt­be­trof­fen sei.

Von die­sen Argu­men­ten behan­del­te das Bun­des­ver­wal­tungs­ge­richt nur das vier­te, indem es auf die Beschwer­de aus for­mel­len Grün­den nicht ein­trat: Einer­seits ist die Bun­des­an­walt­schaft in die­ser Ange­le­gen­heit kei­ne zuläs­si­ge Vor­in­stanz i.S.v. Art. 33 VGG (E. 2.2). Ande­rer­seits führt auch die ange­ru­fe­ne Ver­weis­norm von Art. 33 DSG hier nicht wei­ter, weil sie zwar daten­schutz­recht­li­che Ver­fah­ren gene­rell der Bun­des­rechts­pfle­ge zuweist, das DSG im Bereich der inter­na­tio­na­len Rechts­hil­fe aber gar nicht zur Anwen­dung gelangt (Art. 2 Abs. 2 Bst. c DSG).

Das Bun­des­straf­ge­richt wies die bei­den par­al­lel erho­be­nen Beschwer­den mit Ent­scheid vom 2. Febru­ar 2021 als unbe­grün­det ab (RR.2020.308 und RR.2020.311).