EDSA: Gui­de­li­nes on the inter­pre­ta­ti­on of Art. 6 para. 1 b GDPR adopted

The Euro­pean Data Pro­tec­tion Board adop­ted “Gui­de­li­nes on the pro­ces­sing of per­so­nal data based on Arti­cle 6(1)(b) GDPR in the con­text of online ser­vices” at its ninth ple­na­ry ses­si­on on April 9, 2019. Accord­ing to Press release of the Federal Com­mis­sio­ner for Data Pro­tec­tion and Free­dom of Infor­ma­ti­on in Ger­ma­ny, the EDSA restricts the pos­si­bi­li­ty for com­pa­nies to base the pro­ces­sing of users’ data on the legal basis of “con­tract per­for­mance”. In par­ti­cu­lar, social net­work pro­vi­ders are to be pre­ven­ted from cir­cum­ven­ting the strict requi­re­ments of con­sent by inclu­ding data pro­ces­sing that actual­ly has not­hing to do with the pro­vi­si­on of an online ser­vice in the text of the con­tract. Accord­ing to the EDSA press release in this con­text, explana­ti­ons on the gene­ral data pro­tec­tion princi­ples, on other legal grounds and, abo­ve all, pro­bab­ly on the pro­hi­bi­ti­on of tying are to be expected.

After com­ple­ti­on of the for­mal, legal and lin­gu­istic review, the new gui­de­li­nes will be published on the EDSA web­site. They will be open to com­ment by inte­re­sted par­ties through a public consultation.

Arti­cle 6 (1) b DSGVO reads as follows:

Arti­cle 6

Law­ful­ness of the processing

(1) Pro­ces­sing shall be law­ful only if at least one of the fol­lo­wing con­di­ti­ons is met:

[…]

(b) pro­ces­sing is necessa­ry for the per­for­mance of a con­tract to which the data sub­ject is par­ty or for the imple­men­ta­ti­on of pre-con­trac­tu­al mea­su­res taken at the data subject’s request;

Der Euro­päi­sche Daten­schutz­aus­schuss hat in sei­ner neun­ten Ple­nar­sit­zung am 9. April 2019 “Leit­li­ni­en zur Ver­ar­bei­tung per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­ner Daten auf Grund­la­ge des Arti­kels 6 Abs. 1 b DSGVO im Kon­text von Online-Dienst­lei­stun­gen” beschlos­sen. Gemäss Pres­se­mit­tei­lung des Bun­des­be­auf­trag­ten für den Daten­schutz und die Infor­ma­ti­ons­frei­heit in Deutsch­land beschränkt der EDSA dar­in die Mög­lich­keit für Unter­neh­men, die Ver­ar­bei­tung von Daten der Nut­ze­rin­nen und Nut­zer auf die Rechts­grund­la­ge “Ver­trags­er­fül­lung” zu stüt­zen. Ins­be­son­de­re sol­len Anbie­ter sozia­ler Netz­wer­ke dar­an gehin­dert wer­den, die stren­gen Vor­aus­set­zun­gen einer Ein­wil­li­gung dadurch zu umge­hen, indem sie Daten­ver­ar­bei­tun­gen, die eigent­lich nichts mit der Erbrin­gung eines Online-Dien­stes zu tun haben, in den Ver­trags­text mit auf­neh­men. Nach der Pres­se­mit­tei­lung des EDSA sind in die­sem Zusam­men­hang Aus­füh­run­gen zu den all­ge­mei­nen Daten­schutz­grund­sät­zen, zu ande­ren Rechts­grün­den und vor allem wohl zum Kop­pe­lungs­ver­bot zu erwar­ten.

Nach Abschluss der for­ma­len, recht­li­chen und sprach­li­chen Prü­fung wer­den die neu­en Leit­li­ni­en auf der Web­sei­te des EDSA ver­öf­fent­licht wer­den. Sie kön­nen von inter­es­sier­ten Stel­len im Rah­men einer öffent­li­chen Kon­sul­ta­ti­on kom­men­tiert wer­den.

Arti­kel 6 Abs. 1 b DSGVO lau­tet wie folgt:

Arti­kel 6

Recht­mä­ssig­keit der Ver­ar­bei­tung

(1) Die Ver­ar­bei­tung ist nur recht­mä­ssig, wenn min­de­stens eine der nach­ste­hen­den Bedin­gun­gen erfüllt ist:

[…]

(b) die Ver­ar­bei­tung ist für die Erfül­lung eines Ver­trags, des­sen Ver­trags­par­tei die betrof­fe­ne Per­son ist, oder zur Durch­füh­rung vor­ver­trag­li­cher Mass­nah­men erfor­der­lich, die auf Anfra­ge der betrof­fe­nen Per­son erfol­gen;

Posted by Caroline Gaul