Laws

EU: draft ade­qua­cy decis­i­on for TADPF; ent­ry into force pos­si­ble in mid-2023

As suc­ces­sors to the old Safe Har­bour Frame­work and then the Pri­va­cy Shield, each of which was over­tur­ned by the ECJ (Schrems I and II), the “EU‑U.S. Data Pri­va­cy Frame­work” (“EU‑U.S. DPF” or “Trans­at­lan­tic Data Pri­va­cy Frame­work,” “TADPF”) is pro­vi­ded for. As befo­re, the frame­work is based on a U.S. offer and a rela­ted ade­qua­cy decis­i­on by the EU Commission.

After Joe Biden issued the Octo­ber 7, 2022 Exe­cu­ti­ve Order On Enhan­cing Safe­guards For United Sta­tes Signals Intel­li­gence Acti­vi­ties (EO 14086) signed and the Att­or­ney Gene­ral Imple­men­ting regu­la­ti­ons for the new Data Pro­tec­tion Review Court, the ball was in the EU’s court.

The EU Com­mis­si­on has now, on Decem­ber 13, 2022. Draft of a cor­re­spon­ding ade­qua­cy decis­i­on sub­mit­ted and thus initia­ted the pro­ce­du­re that should lead to an ade­qua­cy decis­i­on (see Media release). The draft con­ta­ins an assess­ment of the U.S. data pro­tec­tion frame­work and the limi­ta­ti­ons on agen­cy access to trans­fer­red data and, of cour­se, con­clu­des that the Exe­cu­ti­ve Order addres­ses the ECJ’s con­cerns in the Schrems II decision.

This now marks the begin­ning of a rough­ly six-month pha­se, in which the Euro­pean Data Pro­tec­tion Board (EDPB) will give its opi­ni­on befo­re mem­ber sta­tes would have to get behind ade­qua­cy. Until approx. Mid 2023 ade­qua­cy could be for­mal­ly established.

The decis­i­on con­ta­ins as annexes:

  • Annex IEU‑U.S. Data Pri­va­cy Frame­work Prin­ci­ples of the U.S. Depart­ment of Com­mer­ce. The­se prin­ci­ples set out the rules for sub­jec­ting com­pa­nies to the TADPF, inclu­ding sub­stan­ti­ve requi­re­ments for the hand­ling by the­se com­pa­nies of per­so­nal data trans­fer­red (inclu­ding encrypt­ed data). The­se prin­ci­ples are stron­gly remi­nis­cent of the Pri­va­cy Shield;
  • Annex II: Let­ter from U.S. Secre­ta­ry of Com­mer­ce Gina Raimondo;
  • Annex III: Let­ter from Under Secre­ta­ry of Com­mer­ce for Inter­na­tio­nal Trade Mari­sa Lago adding the role of the Depart­ment of Com­mer­ce to pro­vi­de admi­ni­stra­ti­ve sup­port to the TADPF, inclu­ding main­tai­ning the list of sub­or­di­na­te com­pa­nies and veri­fy­ing their com­pli­ance with the TADPF;
  • Annex IVLet­ter from Lina M. Khan, Chair­man of the Fede­ral Trade Com­mis­si­on. The FTC helps enforce the TADPF by being able to pro­se­cu­te actions that are under­s­tood by Euro­peans to fall under fair tra­ding law, inclu­ding non-com­pli­ance with the TADPF by sub­ject com­pa­nies. Annex IV con­ta­ins a list of cases in which the FTC has pro­se­cu­ted rela­ted vio­la­ti­ons under Safe Har­bor and the Pri­va­cy Shield;
  • Annex V: Let­ter from Pete Butt­i­gieg, Secre­ta­ry of Trans­por­ta­ti­on, which may take ana­log­ous action to the FTC for vio­la­ti­ons by air­lines and air tra­vel providers;
  • Annex VI: Let­ter from Bruce C. Swartz, U.S. Depart­ment of Justi­ce, Cri­mi­nal Divi­si­on. This let­ter pro­vi­des a con­cise over­view of the fede­ral inve­sti­ga­ti­ve tools available to hand­le cor­po­ra­te data in the U.S. for law enforce­ment pur­po­ses and to pro­tect other inte­rests. It also inclu­des expl­ana­ti­ons of sub­poe­nas and war­rants and their requi­re­ments and effects, and of the Stored Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons Act, among other things;
  • Annex VIILet­ter from Chri­sto­pher C. Fon­zo­ne for the Office of the Direc­tor of Natio­nal Intel­li­gence, inclu­ding comm­ents on FISA. Among other things, it con­firms that the intel­li­gence agen­ci­es (the “Intel­li­gence Com­mu­ni­ty”)… App­ly Biden’s Exe­cu­ti­ve Order to mea­su­res under FISA 702 be

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

EU: Ent­wurf der Ange­mes­sen­heits­ent­schei­dung für das TADPF; Inkraft­set­zung Mit­te 2023 möglich

Als Nach­fol­ger des alten Safe Har­bour Frame­works und danach des Pri­va­cy Shields, die der EuGH jeweils kas­siert hat (Schrems I und II), ist das “EU‑U.S. Data Pri­va­cy Frame­work” (“EU‑U.S. DPF” oder “Trans­at­lan­tic Data Pri­va­cy Frame­work”, “TADPF”) vor­ge­se­hen. Wie zuvor beruht das Frame­work auf einem Ange­bot der USA und einer dar­auf bezo­ge­nen Ange­mes­sen­heits­ent­schei­dung der EU-Kommission.

Nach­dem Joe Biden am 7. Okto­ber 2022 die Exe­cu­ti­ve Order On Enhan­cing Safe­guards For United Sta­tes Signals Intel­li­gence Acti­vi­ties (EO 14086) unter­zeich­net und der Att­or­ney Gene­ral Aus­füh­rungs­be­stim­mun­gen für das neue “Data Pro­tec­tion Review Court” ver­ab­schie­det hat­te, war der Ball bei der EU.

Die EU-Kom­mis­si­on hat nun, am 13. Dezem­ber 2022, den Ent­wurf einer ent­spre­chen­den Ange­mes­sen­heits­ent­schei­dung vor­ge­legt und damit das Ver­fah­ren ein­ge­lei­tet, das zu einem Ange­mes­sen­heits­be­schluss füh­ren soll (sie­he Medi­en­mit­tei­lung). Der Ent­wurf ent­hält eine Bewer­tung des US-ame­ri­ka­ni­schen Daten­schutz­rah­mens und der Beschrän­kun­gen des Behör­den­zu­griffs auf über­mit­tel­te Daten und kommt natür­lich zum Ergeb­nis, dass die Exe­cu­ti­ve Order die Beden­ken des EuGH im Schrems II-Ent­scheid auszuräumt.

Damit beginnt nun eine rund sechs­mo­na­ti­ge Pha­se, in der sich das Euro­pean Data Pro­tec­tion Board (EDPB) äussern wird, bevor sich die Mit­glied­staa­ten hin­ter die Ange­mes­sen­heit stel­len müss­ten. Bis etwa Mit­te 2023 könn­te die Ange­mes­sen­heit for­mal fest­ge­stellt werden.

Die Ent­schei­dung ent­hält als Anhänge:

  • Annex I: EU‑U.S. Data Pri­va­cy Frame­work Prin­ci­ples des U.S. Depart­ment of Com­mer­ce. Hier fin­den sich die Regeln für die Unter­stel­lung von Unter­neh­men unter das TADPF ein­schliess­lich inhalt­li­cher Anfor­de­run­gen an den Umgang die­ser Unter­neh­men mit über­mit­tel­ten Per­so­nen­da­ten (ein­schliess­lich ver­schlüs­sel­ter Daten). Die­se Prin­ci­ples erin­nern stark an den Pri­va­cy Shield;
  • Annex II: Let­ter from U.S. Secre­ta­ry of Com­mer­ce Gina Raimondo;
  • Annex III: Let­ter from Under Secre­ta­ry of Com­mer­ce for Inter­na­tio­nal Trade Mari­sa Lago mit Ergän­zun­gen zur Rol­le des Depart­ment of Com­mer­ce, das das TADPF in admi­ni­stra­ti­ver Hin­sicht betreut, u.a. die Liste der unter­stell­ten Unter­neh­men pflegt und die Ein­hal­tung des TADPF durch die­se Unter­neh­men prü­fen will;
  • Annex IV: Schrei­ben von Lina M. Khan, der Vor­sit­zen­den der Fede­ral Trade Com­mis­si­on. Die FTC trägt zur Durch­set­zung des TADPF bei, indem sie Hand­lun­gen ver­fol­gen kann, die nach Euro­päi­schem Ver­ständ­nis dem Lau­ter­keits­recht zuzu­ord­nen sind, ein­schliess­lich der Nicht­ein­hal­tung des TADPF durch unter­stell­te Unter­neh­men. Annex IV ent­hält eine Liste von Fäl­len, in denen die FTC ent­spre­chen­de Ver­stö­sse unter Safe Har­bour und dem Pri­va­cy Shield ver­folgt hat;
  • Annex V: Schrei­ben von Pete Butt­i­gieg, Secre­ta­ry of Trans­por­ta­ti­on, das bei Ver­stö­ssen durch Flug­li­ni­en und Anbie­ter von Flug­rei­sen ana­log zur FTC vor­ge­hen kann;
  • Annex VI: Schrei­ben von Bruce C. Swartz, U.S. Depart­ment of Justi­ce, Cri­mi­nal Divi­si­on. Die­ses Schrei­ben ent­hält eine knap­pe Über­sicht über die Unter­su­chungs­mit­tel auf Bun­des­ebe­ne, um Daten von Unter­neh­men in den USA für Zwecke der Straf­ver­fol­gung und zum Schutz ande­rer Inter­es­sen zu behän­di­gen. Hier fin­den sich auch Erläu­te­run­gen zu Sub­poe­nas und War­rants und ihren Vor­aus­set­zun­gen und Wir­kun­gen und u.a. zum Stored Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons Act;
  • Annex VII: Schrei­ben von Chri­sto­pher C. Fon­zo­ne für das Office of the Direc­tor of Natio­nal Intel­li­gence, mit Aus­füh­run­gen u.a. zu FISA. U.a. wird bestä­tigt, dass die Geheim­dien­ste (die “Intel­li­gence Com­mu­ni­ty”) Bidens Exe­cu­ti­ve Order auf Mass­nah­men nach FISA 702 anwen­den werden.