Laws

ECJ (Case C‑460 20): Exami­na­ti­on of deli­sting requests by search engi­ne operators

The Ger­man Fede­ral Court of Justi­ce (BGH) has refer­red que­sti­ons to the ECJ in con­nec­tion with a deli­sting of web­sites from Goog­le in rela­ti­on to Art. 17 GDPR (right of dele­ti­on) (Judgment of Decem­ber 8, 2022 in Case C‑460/20.).

First, when Goog­le inde­xes, stores, and dis­plays con­tent, it pro­ce­s­ses per­so­nal data as Respon­si­ble. The GDPR then pro­vi­des in Art. 17 a “Right to dele­ti­on“Howe­ver, this does not app­ly if the data in que­sti­on are used for spe­ci­fic pur­po­ses, such as, among others, the Right to free­dom of expres­si­on and infor­ma­ti­on is requi­red. The search engi­ne ope­ra­tor must check or weigh up accordingly.

For this the ECtHR cri­te­ria deve­lo­ped, inclu­ding the con­tri­bu­ti­on to a deba­te of gene­ral inte­rest, the noto­rie­ty of the data sub­ject, the sub­ject mat­ter of the report­ing, the pri­or con­duct of the data sub­ject, the con­tent, form and impact of the publi­ca­ti­on, the man­ner and cir­cum­stances in which the infor­ma­ti­on was obtai­ned, and its accuracy.

In this con­text, the Pro­of of incor­rect­ness of the infor­ma­ti­on dis­se­mi­na­ted by the search engi­ne ope­ra­tor to the data sub­ject, accor­ding to the ECJ. Howe­ver, he or she is only requi­red to pro­vi­de evi­dence that can rea­son­ab­ly be deman­ded of him or her. She is the­r­e­fo­re not obli­ged to take legal action against the web­site operator.

The Search engi­ne ope­ra­tor, for its part, has no obli­ga­ti­on to “actively coope­ra­te” in deter­mi­ning the facts of the case. The­r­e­fo­re, he does not have to “con­duct an adver­sa­ri­al cor­re­spon­dence” with the web­site ope­ra­tor; this would be unre­a­sonable for the ope­ra­tor and could the­r­e­fo­re have the con­se­quence that too much con­tent is listed out. As a result, the ope­ra­tor must delist if the data sub­ject “.pres­ents rele­vant and suf­fi­ci­ent evi­dence”, pro­ving that the incri­mi­na­ted infor­ma­ti­on is fal­se in its enti­re­ty or at least to a not insi­gni­fi­cant ext­ent, for exam­p­le in the form of a judgment, but also in other forms.

Ano­ther inte­re­st­ing point made by the ECJ is that if the search engi­ne ope­ra­tor is awa­re of pen­ding legal pro­ce­e­dings against the ope­ra­tor of the web­site to be deli­sted, it must, “inter alia, for the pur­po­se of ensu­ring that the infor­ma­ti­on is always rele­vant and up to date”, include in the search results a Record war­ningthat the­re is such a pro­ce­du­re pending.

All this also applies to the Image search. The fol­lo­wing state­ment of the ECJ is note­wor­t­hy here, which places images of peo­p­le in the vici­ni­ty of per­so­nal data requi­ring spe­cial pro­tec­tion, at least in the case of dis­clo­sure to unspe­ci­fi­ed third par­ties (cf. alre­a­dy for exam­p­le here):

Inde­ed, the image of an indi­vi­du­al is one of the main fea­tures of his per­so­na­li­tyThe right to the pro­tec­tion of one’s own image is an essen­ti­al pre­re­qui­si­te for the per­so­nal rea­lizati­on of the per­son. The right of the per­son to pro­tec­tion in his own image thus con­sti­tu­tes one of the essen­ti­al con­di­ti­ons for its per­so­nal rea­lizati­on and pre­sup­po­ses, first of all, the con­trol of the per­son over his own image and, in par­ti­cu­lar, the pos­si­bi­li­ty of pro­hi­bi­ting its dis­se­mi­na­ti­on. It fol­lows that, while free­dom of expres­si­on and free­dom of infor­ma­ti­on undoub­ted­ly encom­pass the publi­ca­ti­on of pho­to­graphs, the pro­tec­tion of the person’s right to con­fi­den­tia­li­ty is of par­ti­cu­lar importance in this con­text, as pho­tos can con­vey par­ti­cu­lar­ly per­so­nal or even inti­ma­te infor­ma­ti­on about a per­son or their fami­ly (cf. in this sen­se ECHR, judgment of Febru­ary 7, 2012, Von Han­no­ver v.Deutsch­land, CE:ECHR:2012:0207JUD004066008, §§ 95, 96, and 103, and the case law cited therein).

In addi­ti­on fur­ther that

the publi­ca­ti­on of pho­to­graphs as a non-oral means of com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on a stron­ger impact than published texts can exert on Inter­net users. This is becau­se pho­tos, as such, are an important means of attrac­ting the atten­ti­on of Inter­net users and can crea­te an inte­rest in acce­s­sing the artic­les they illu­stra­te. In par­ti­cu­lar, due to the fact that pho­tos are often acce­s­si­ble to seve­ral inter­pre­ta­ti­ons their dis­play as thumbnails in the over­view of search results can lead to a par­ti­cu­lar­ly serious encroach­ment on the right of the data sub­ject to pro­tec­tion of his or her own image, as descri­bed in para­graph 95 of this judgment, which must be taken into account when weig­hing up the con­flic­ting rights and interests.

The search engi­ne ope­ra­tor must the­r­e­fo­re pro­cess dis­con­ti­nua­tion requests for images. check,

whe­ther the Dis­play of the pho­tos in que­sti­on requi­red is neces­sa­ry to exer­cise the right to free­dom of infor­ma­ti­on pro­tec­ted by Artic­le 11 of the Char­ter, which is available to Inter­net users poten­ti­al­ly inte­re­sted in acce­s­sing tho­se pho­to­graphs through such a search (see, muta­tis mut­an­dis, Judgment of 24 Sep­tem­ber 2019, GC and Others [deli­sting of sen­si­ti­ve data], C‑136/17, EU:C:2019:773, para. 66).

He must fur­ther con­sider whe­ther he is stan­ding a pho­to­graph in an artic­le and illu­stra­te the infor­ma­ti­on con­tai­ned the­r­ein, or whe­ther he is a Pho­to as thumbnail in image search out­side ori­gi­nal con­text dis­plays. The ope­ra­tor may the­r­e­fo­re have to remo­ve a pho­to from the image search even if it does not list the asso­cia­ted artic­le, or at least if an artic­le is listed and the image search would still lead to the article.

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

EuGH (Rs. C‑460 20): Prü­fung von Aus­li­stungs­be­geh­ren durch Suchmaschinenbetreiber

Der deut­sche BGH hat dem EuGH im Zusam­men­hang mit einer Aus­li­stung von Web­sei­ten bei Goog­le Fra­gen im Zusam­men­hang mit Art. 17 DSGVO (Lösch­recht) vor­ge­legt (Urteil vom 8. Dezem­ber 2022 in der Rechts­sa­che C‑460/20).

Zunächst bear­bei­te Goog­le bei der Inde­xie­rung, Spei­che­rung und Dar­stel­lung von Inhal­ten Per­so­nen­da­ten als Ver­ant­wort­li­cher. Die DSGVO sieht in Art. 17 sodann ein “Recht auf Löschung” vor, das aller­dings dann nicht gilt, wenn die betref­fen­den Daten für bestimm­te Zie­le wie u.a. das Recht auf freie Mei­nungs­äu­sse­rung und Infor­ma­ti­on erfor­der­lich ist. Der Such­ma­schi­nen­be­trei­ber muss ent­spre­chend prü­fen bzw. abwägen.

Dafür hat der EGMR Kri­te­ri­en ent­wickelt, u.a. der Bei­trag zu einer Debat­te von all­ge­mei­nem Inter­es­se, der Bekannt­heits­grad der betrof­fe­nen Per­son, der Gegen­stand der Bericht­erstat­tung, das vor­an­ge­gan­ge­ne Ver­hal­ten der betrof­fe­nen Per­son, Inhalt, Form und Aus­wir­kun­gen der Ver­öf­fent­li­chung, die Art und Wei­se sowie die Umstän­de, unter denen die Infor­ma­tio­nen erlangt wor­den sind, und deren Richtigkeit.

Dabei obliegt der Nach­weis der Unrich­tig­keit der vom Such­ma­schi­nen­be­trei­ber wei­ter­ver­brei­te­ten Infor­ma­ti­on laut EuGH der betrof­fe­nen Per­son. Sie müs­se aber ledig­lich Bele­ge vor­le­gen, die von ihr ver­nünf­ti­ger­wei­se ver­langt wer­den kön­nen. Sie ist des­halb nicht ver­pflich­tet, gericht­lich gegen den Web­sei­ten­be­trei­ber vorzugehen.

Der Such­ma­schi­nen­be­trei­ber sei­ner­seits hat kei­ne Pflicht, bei der Sach­ver­halts­er­mitt­lung “aktiv mit­zu­wir­ken”. Er muss daher nicht etwa mit dem Web­sei­ten­be­trei­ber “einen kon­tra­dik­to­ri­schen Schrift­wech­sel füh­ren”; das wäre für den Betrei­ber unzu­mut­bar und könn­te des­halb die Fol­ge haben, dass zu vie­le Inhal­te aus­ge­li­stet wer­den. Infol­ge­des­sen hat er aus­zu­li­sten, wenn die betrof­fe­ne Per­son “rele­van­te und hin­rei­chen­de Nach­wei­se vor­legt”, die bele­gen, dass die inkri­mi­nier­ten Infor­ma­tio­nen ganz oder zumin­dest in nicht unbe­deu­ten­dem Umfang falsch sind, bspw. in Form eines Urteils, aber auch in ande­rer Form.

Inter­es­sant ist wei­ter fol­gen­der Hin­weis des EuGH: Falls der Such­ma­schi­nen­be­trei­ber Kennt­nis hat von einem hän­gi­gen Gerichts­ver­fah­ren gegen den Betrei­ber der aus­zu­li­sten­den Web­site, muss er “u. a. zu dem Zweck der Gewähr­lei­stung einer stets sach­dien­li­chen und aktu­el­len Infor­ma­ti­on” in die Such­ergeb­nis­se einen Warn­hin­weis auf­neh­men, dass es ein sol­ches Ver­fah­ren hän­gig ist.

All dies gilt auch bei der Bil­der­su­che. Bemer­kens­wert ist hier die fol­gen­de Aus­füh­rung des EuGH, die Abbil­dun­gen von Men­schen in die Nähe beson­des schüt­zens­wer­ter Per­so­nen­da­ten rückt, zumin­dest bei einer Bekannt­ga­be an unbe­stimm­te Drit­te (vgl. schon etwa hier):

Das Bild eines Ein­zel­nen ist näm­lich eines der Haupt­merk­ma­le sei­ner Per­sön­lich­keit, da es sei­ne Ein­ma­lig­keit zum Aus­druck bringt und es erlaubt, ihn von ande­ren Per­so­nen zu unter­schei­den. Das Recht der Per­son auf Schutz am eige­nen Bild stellt somit eine der wesent­li­chen Vor­aus­set­zun­gen für ihre per­sön­li­che Ver­wirk­li­chung dar und setzt in erster Linie die Kon­trol­le der Per­son über ihr eige­nes Bild und ins­be­son­de­re die Mög­lich­keit vor­aus, des­sen Ver­brei­tung zu unter­sa­gen. Dar­aus folgt, dass die Frei­heit der Mei­nungs­äu­ße­rung und die Infor­ma­ti­ons­frei­heit zwar zwei­fel­los die Ver­öf­fent­li­chung von Fotos umfas­sen, doch ist der Schutz des Rechts der Per­son auf Ver­trau­lich­keit in die­sem Kon­text von beson­de­rer Bedeu­tung, da Fotos beson­ders per­sön­li­che oder gar inti­me Infor­ma­tio­nen über eine Per­son oder ihre Fami­lie ver­mit­teln kön­nen (vgl. in die­sem Sin­ne EGMR, Urteil vom 7. Febru­ar 2012, Von Hannover/Deutsch­land, CE:ECHR:2012:0207JUD004066008, §§ 95, 96 und 103 sowie die dort ange­führ­te Rechtsprechung).

Dazu kommt wei­ter, dass

die Ver­öf­fent­li­chung von Fotos als nicht münd­li­ches Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­mit­tel eine stär­ke­re Wir­kung als ver­öf­fent­lich­te Tex­te auf die Inter­net­nut­zer aus­üben kann. Denn Fotos sind als sol­che ein wich­ti­ges Mit­tel, um die Auf­merk­sam­keit der Inter­net­nut­zer auf sich zu zie­hen, und kön­nen ein Inter­es­se wecken, auf die Arti­kel zuzu­grei­fen, die sie bebil­dern. Ins­be­son­de­re auf­grund des Umstands, dass Fotos häu­fig meh­re­ren Inter­pre­ta­tio­nen zugäng­lich sind, kann ihre Anzei­ge als Vor­schau­bil­der in der Über­sicht der Such­ergeb­nis­se ent­spre­chend den Aus­füh­run­gen in Rn. 95 des vor­lie­gen­den Urteils zu einem beson­ders schwer­wie­gen­den Ein­griff in das Recht der betrof­fe­nen Per­son auf Schutz am eige­nen Bild füh­ren, was bei der Abwä­gung der wider­strei­ten­den Rech­te und Inter­es­sen zu berück­sich­ti­gen ist.

Der Such­ma­schi­nen­be­trei­ber muss Aus­li­stungs­an­trä­gen bei Bil­dern daher prü­fen,

ob die Anzei­ge der frag­li­chen Fotos erfor­der­lich ist, um das durch Art. 11 der Char­ta geschütz­te Recht auf freie Infor­ma­ti­on aus­zu­üben, das den Inter­net­nut­zern zusteht, die poten­zi­ell Inter­es­se an einem Zugang zu die­sen Fotos mit­tels einer sol­chen Suche haben (vgl. ent­spre­chend Urteil vom 24. Sep­tem­ber 2019, GC u. a. [Aus­li­stung sen­si­bler Daten], C‑136/17, EU:C:2019:773, Rn. 66).

Er muss wei­ter prü­fen, ob er ein Foto in einem Arti­kel steht und die dort ent­hal­te­nen Infor­ma­tio­nen ver­an­schau­li­chen, oder ob er ein Foto als Vor­schau­bild in der Bil­der­su­che ausser­halb des ursprüng­li­chen Kon­tex­tes anzeigt. Der Betrei­ber muss ein Foto daher u.U. auch dann aus der Bil­der­su­che ent­fer­nen, wenn er den ver­bun­de­nen Arti­kel nicht aus­li­stet, zumin­dest aber dann, wenn ein Arti­kel aus­ge­li­stet wird und die Bil­der­su­che wei­ter­hin zum Arti­kel füh­ren würde.