datenrecht.ch

ECJ, Case C‑300/21 i.S. Öster­rei­chi­sche Post: GA moti­ons: dama­ges under GDPR 82 pre­sup­po­se harm.

The Advo­ca­te Gene­ral (GA), in the Case C‑300/21 i.S. Austri­an Post filed its appli­ca­ti­ons. The pro­ce­e­dings aro­se in con­nec­tion with pro­fil­ing by the postal ser­vice, which had taken place wit­hout the plaintiff’s con­sent. The refer­ring court, the Austri­an Supre­me Court (OGH), had refer­red que­sti­ons regar­ding the con­di­ti­ons and assess­ment of dama­ges under the GDPR.

The GA is of the opi­ni­on that

  • Art. 82 GDPR does not pro­vi­de for com­pen­sa­ti­on if dama­ge has not also been incur­red, i.e. that the vio­la­ti­on of a norm alo­ne is not suf­fi­ci­ent, and
  • that mere annoy­an­ce does not cau­se dama­ge represents.

In doing so, he empha­si­zes that the GDPR is not only aimed at pro­tec­ting data sub­jects, with a sen­tence worth quoting:

Sin­ce the value of data (per­so­nal and non-per­so­nal) for eco­no­mic and social pro­gress in Euro­pe is obvious, the GDPR does not aim to make the individual’s con­trol over the infor­ma­ti­on con­cer­ning him or her the mea­su­re of all things by sim­ply bowing to his or her pre­fe­ren­ces, but rather to recon­ci­le the right to pro­tec­tion of each individual’s per­so­nal data with the inte­rests of third par­ties and society.

It is also note­wor­t­hy that the com­pen­sa­ti­on of imma­te­ri­al dama­ge – if it exists – can­not neces­s­a­ri­ly only be made by money; thus, the GA opens the way to the OGH for real dama­ges, if necessary:

It can­not be ruled out that the reque­sted com­pen­sa­ti­on for non-mate­ri­al dama­ge inclu­des com­pon­ents other than purely finan­cial, e.g. the admis­si­on of the inf­rin­ge­ment, which gives the plain­ti­ff a cer­tain moral satis­fac­tion.

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

EuGH, Rs. C‑300/21 i.S. Öster­rei­chi­sche Post: Anträ­ge des GA: Scha­den­er­satz nach DSGVO 82 setzt Scha­den voraus

Der Gene­ral­an­walt (GA) hat in der Rechts­sa­che C‑300/21 i.S. Öster­rei­chi­sche Post sei­ne Anträ­ge gestellt. Das Ver­fah­ren erging im Zusam­men­hang mit Pro­fi­lie­run­gen durch die Post, die ohne Ein­wil­li­gung des Klä­gers erfolgt waren. Das vor­le­gen­de Gericht, der Ober­ste Gerichts­hof Öster­reichs (OGH), hat­te Fra­gen betr. die Vor­aus­set­zun­gen und Bemes­sung von Scha­den­er­satz nach der DSGVO vorgelegt.

Der GA ver­tritt die Auf­fas­sung, dass

  • Art. 82 DSGVO kei­nen Scha­den­er­satz vor­sieht, wenn nicht auch ein Scha­den ent­stan­den ist, d.h. dass die Ver­let­zung einer Norm allei­ne nicht aus­reicht, und
  • dass blo­sser Ärger noch kei­nen Scha­den darstellt.

Er betont dabei, dass die DSGVO nicht nur den Schutz der Betrof­fe­nen bezweckt, mit einem zitier­wür­di­gen Satz:

Da der Wert der (per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen und nicht per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen) Daten für den wirt­schaft­li­chen und sozia­len Fort­schritt in Euro­pa auf der Hand liegt, zielt die DSGVO nicht dar­auf ab, dass die Kon­trol­le des Ein­zel­nen über die ihn betref­fen­den Infor­ma­tio­nen zum Maß aller Din­ge wird, indem sie sich schlicht sei­nen Prä­fe­ren­zen beugt, son­dern sie soll das Recht auf Schutz der per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen Daten jedes Ein­zel­nen mit den Inter­es­sen Drit­ter und der Gesell­schaft in Ein­klang bringen.

Bemer­kens­wert ist auch der Hin­weis, dass der Ersatz imma­te­ri­el­len Scha­dens – wenn er denn besteht – nicht unbe­dingt nur durch Geld erfol­gen kann; damit öff­net der GA dem OGH bei Bedarf den Weg zum Realschadenersatz:

Es ist nicht aus­zu­schlie­ßen, dass der begehr­te Ersatz des imma­te­ri­el­len Scha­dens ande­re als rein finan­zi­el­le Kom­po­nen­ten umfasst, z. B. das Ein­ge­ständ­nis des Ver­sto­ßes, was dem Klä­ger eine gewis­se mora­li­sche Befrie­di­gung ver­schafft.