Face­book deci­si­on by the Ger­man Federal Car­tel Office on user data

The Ger­man Federal Car­tel Office (BKar­tA) has impo­sed dra­stic restric­tions on Face­book with regard to the pro­ces­sing of user data in a high­ly anti­ci­pa­ted deci­si­on. On Febru­a­ry 7, 2019, the BKar­tA issued a Press release and a Back­ground paper repor­ted on the deci­si­on (as well as on Decem­ber 17, 2017 on the ongo­ing pro­ce­e­dings in the con­text of a Back­ground paper). The deci­si­on is remar­kab­le for its novel com­bi­na­ti­on of data pro­tec­tion law and anti­trust law stan­dards for data pro­ces­sing by domi­nant com­pa­nies in digi­tal mar­kets. Howe­ver, the last word has not yet been spo­ken. Face­book has alrea­dy announ­cedThe com­pa­ny has deci­ded to appeal the deci­si­on to the Düs­sel­dorf Hig­her Regio­nal Court. It remains to be seen whe­ther the appel­la­te courts will appro­ve the exten­si­ve use of data pro­tec­tion argu­ments to estab­lish an abu­se of a domi­nant posi­ti­on, or whe­ther they will make a cour­se correction.

Initi­al situation

Accord­ing to Facebook’s terms and con­di­ti­ons, users can cur­r­ent­ly only use the social net­work on the con­di­ti­on that Face­book also collects data about the user on the Inter­net or on smart­pho­ne apps out­side of the Face­book site and assigns it to the Face­book user account. Spe­ci­fi­cal­ly, Face­book grants its­elf the right to mer­ge all data collec­ted on (i) Face­book its­elf, (ii) the Group’s own ser­vices such as Whats­App and Insta­gram, and (iii) the data collec­ted on third-par­ty web­sites with the Face­book user account.

Order of the BKartA

The BKar­tA has issued the fol­lo­wing orders to Face­book for Ger­ma­ny, but without addi­tio­nal­ly issuing direct sanctions:

The Office’s deci­si­on covers several data sources:

  1. In the future, the ser­vices belon­ging to the Face­book group like Whats­App and Insta­gram con­ti­nue to collect the data. Howe­ver, an assign­ment of the data to the user account at Face­book is only pos­si­ble with the volun­ta­ry con­sent of the user. If con­sent is not given, the data must remain with the other ser­vices and may not be pro­ces­sed in com­bi­na­ti­on with the Face­book data.
  2. A collec­tion and Allo­ca­ti­on of data from third par­ty web­sites to the Face­book user account will also only be pos­si­ble in the future if the user volun­ta­ri­ly cons­ents to the assign­ment to the Face­book user account.

If the­re is a lack of con­sent for the data from the Group’s own ser­vices and third-par­ty web­sites, Face­book can only collect the data in a very restric­ted man­ner and assign it to the user account. Face­book must deve­lop appro­pria­te solu­ti­ons for this and sub­mit them to the Office.

In the words of its pre­si­dent Andre­as Mundt, the BKar­tA is thus taking on a “inter­nal unbund­ling” of the data pro­ces­sed by Facebook.

Legal argu­men­ta­ti­on of the BKartA

a) Mar­ket domi­nan­ce in the social net­wor­king market

Accord­ing to the BKartA’s fin­dings, Face­book takes a lea­ding posi­ti­on in Ger­ma­ny on the Social net­work mar­ketdomi­nant posi­ti­on a. As far as can be seen, the BKar­tA defi­nes the mar­ket nar­row­ly by clas­si­fy­ing ser­vices such as Lin­kedIn and Twit­ter in par­ti­cu­lar as not belon­ging to the same mar­ket. Accord­in­gly, Face­book has a mar­ket share of over 90% on the rele­vant market.

The BKar­tA then empha­si­zes in the con­text of its exami­na­ti­on of the abu­se of a domi­nant posi­ti­on pur­suant to Sec­tion 19 GWB the “spe­cial obli­ga­ti­ons under anti­trust law“This is a for­mu­la­ti­on that is also fami­li­ar in the con­text of pro­ce­e­dings under Art. 102 TFEU and Art. 7 KG, as the spe­cial respon­si­bi­li­ty of mar­ket-domi­nant com­pa­nies is refer­red to in con­stant prac­ti­ce (“spe­cial respon­si­bi­li­ty”, for the first time in ECJ deci­si­on i.S. Miche­lin from the year 1983).

b) Mer­ging of data as an abu­se of exploitation

The BKar­tA goes on to say that users had no choice but to eit­her accept Facebook’s exten­si­ve use of data or to refrain from using the net­work. The obli­ga­to­ry ticking of a box for con­sent to Facebook’s terms of use is not a suf­fi­ci­ent basis for such exten­si­ve data use in this initi­al situa­ti­on. Accord­ing to the BKar­tA, the fol­lo­wing is par­ti­cu­lar­ly pro­ble­ma­tic Unli­mi­ted mer­ging of data of the ori­gi­nal Face­book web­site with data from the Group’s own ser­vices such as Insta­gram and Whats­App, as well as from third-par­ty sites that are equip­ped with inter­faces (e.g. Like or Share but­ton). Sim­ply cal­ling up such third-par­ty sites leads to a flow of data to Face­book. Most users are not even awa­re of this. This com­pre­hen­si­ve data aggre­ga­ti­on allo­ws Face­book to crea­te very pre­cise user profiles.

The BKar­tA spe­ci­fi­cal­ly exami­nes whe­ther a Explo­ita­ti­on Abu­se accord­ing to the rea­ding of anti­trust law pur­suant to Sec­tion 19 (2) GWB. Mar­ket-domi­nant com­pa­nies behave abusi­ve­ly, among other things, if they explo­it the mar­ket oppo­nent – in this case, con­su­mers as Face­book users – by char­ging exces­si­ve pri­ces or by means of unre­a­son­ab­le con­trac­tu­al terms and con­di­ti­ons (socal­led “unfair com­pe­ti­ti­on”). Abu­se of con­di­ti­ons). In the view of the BKar­tA, this app­lies in par­ti­cu­lar to

[…] if, at the same time, explo­ita­ti­on also ham­pers com­pe­ti­tors who can­not accu­mu­la­te such a tre­a­su­re tro­ve of data.

c) GDPR as a yard­stick for explo­ita­ti­on facts

It is inte­re­sting and pos­si­b­ly ground­brea­king that the BKar­tA, in a next step, will be Pro­vi­si­ons of the GDPR as a bench­mark takes for the assess­ment of whe­ther the­re is an abu­se of a domi­nant posi­ti­on under anti­trust law. The reli­an­ce on pro­vi­si­ons from other laws for the deter­mi­na­ti­on of an abu­se of a domi­nant posi­ti­on is not new in princip­le, but here for the first time with regard to the pro­vi­si­ons of data pro­tec­tion and the GDPR in par­ti­cu­lar. In its press release, the BKar­tA empha­si­zes that under the Ger­man ARC also Fun­da­men­tal law and other legal value deci­si­ons, inclu­ding from civil law, such as the law on gene­ral terms and con­di­ti­onsThe fol­lo­wing table shows the effects of the new rules on the con­trol of abusi­ve prac­ti­ces under anti­trust law:

In such pro­ce­e­dings, the app­li­ca­ti­on of the pro­vi­si­ons of Euro­pean abu­se con­trol [pur­suant to Art. 102 TFEU] is always an opti­on. Such abu­se pro­ce­e­dings against Face­book would also be pos­si­ble in princip­le under the cor­re­spon­ding inter­ven­ti­on stan­dard of Art. 102 TFEU. Howe­ver, so far only in Ger­ma­ny has a supre­me court case law deve­lo­ped in which fun­da­men­tal rights or other legal value deci­si­ons – in this case data pro­tec­tion – can also be taken into account for the abusi­ve­ness of the con­duct of a mar­ket domi­na­tor. Howe­ver, due to the cross-bor­der signi­fi­can­ce of the pro­ce­e­dings, the Bun­des­kar­tell­amt clo­se­ly coor­di­na­ted with both the Euro­pean Com­mis­si­on and other for­eign com­pe­ti­ti­on aut­ho­ri­ties during the proceedings.

The BKar­tA fur­ther argues that anti­trust law and data pro­tec­tion law pur­sue an ali­gned pur­po­se in the area of abu­se of con­di­ti­ons by sta­ting in its back­ground paper:

After all, the pur­po­se of data pro­tec­tion law is also to pro­tect the data sub­ject from unju­sti­fied data pro­ces­sing of his or her per­so­nal data by the mar­ket counterparty.”

Spe­ci­fi­cal­ly, the BKar­tA, appar­ent­ly in clo­se exchan­ge with data pro­tec­tion aut­ho­ri­ties (alt­hough it remains unclear exact­ly with which ones), is exami­ning whe­ther the Data pro­ces­sing by Face­book is justi­fied under the GDPR. This refers to an exami­na­ti­on of the law­ful­ness of the data pro­ces­sing pur­suant to Art. 6 DSGVO, even if the BKar­tA does not direct­ly refer to this pro­vi­si­on in the published docu­ments. The BKar­tA comes to the con­clu­si­on that

  1. the data pro­ces­sing is neit­her necessa­ry for the per­for­mance of the con­tract (cf. Art. 6 para. 1 lit. b DSGVO),
  2. nor an over­ri­ding legi­ti­ma­te inte­rest of Face­book in the pro­ces­sing of the data (cf. Art. 6 (1) (f) DSGVO), and
  3. also No valid con­sent The data subject’s con­sent to the data pro­ces­sing in que­sti­on (cf. Art. 6 (1) (a) of the GDPR), as in par­ti­cu­lar no volun­ta­ry con­sent was given. Valid con­sent could only have been affir­med if the use of the ori­gi­nal Face­book web­site had not been made depen­dent on the gran­ting of con­sent to the com­pre­hen­si­ve use of data.

The BKar­tA qua­li­fied Facebook’s terms of use and the type and scope of data collec­tion and use as con­tra­ry to data pro­tec­tion and at the same time as an explo­ita­ti­ve abu­se con­tra­ry to anti­trust law. It requi­res a far-rea­ching “inter­nal unbund­ling” of the data pro­ces­sed by Face­book (see abo­ve regar­ding the orders of the BKar­tA). Sanc­tions were not impo­sed in the­se pro­ce­e­dings, as the BKar­tA con­duc­ted the inve­sti­ga­ti­on as part of admi­ni­stra­ti­ve pro­ce­e­dings (and not in fine pro­ce­e­dings). As men­tio­ned at the begin­ning, Face­book has alrea­dy announ­ced that it will appeal the decision.

Cri­ti­cal App­rai­sal and Par­al­lels to Swiss Anti­trust Law

The coun­ter­part to the abu­se of con­di­ti­ons under the Ger­man ARC is laid down in Swiss anti­trust law in Art. 7 para. 2 lit. c KG, accord­ing to which the Enfor­cing unre­a­son­ab­le pri­ces or other unre­a­son­ab­le terms and con­di­ti­ons. by mar­ket-domi­nant com­pa­nies qua­li­fies as abusi­ve con­duct. The­re is only very spar­se prac­ti­ce on explo­ita­ti­ve abu­se in Switz­er­land. By far the majo­ri­ty of cases con­cern so-cal­led pre­d­a­to­ry pri­cing, which does not invol­ve explo­ita­ti­on of the mar­ket oppo­nent, but rather the que­sti­on of whe­ther other mar­ket par­ti­ci­pants are abusi­ve­ly for­ced out of the mar­ket. This makes sen­se, sin­ce the Pur­po­se of Swiss anti­trust law in the pro­tec­tion of effec­ti­ve com­pe­ti­ti­on and not in con­su­mer pro­tec­tion or data pro­tec­tion. Que­sti­ons rela­ting to fair­ness and data pro­tec­tion law the­re­fo­re do not, in princip­le, fall wit­hin the remit of the com­pe­ti­ti­on authorities.

An exces­si­ve exami­na­ti­on of data pro­tec­tion vio­la­ti­ons by com­pe­ti­ti­on aut­ho­ri­ties is the­re­fo­re que­stion­ab­le and opens a Pandora’s box: It is unclear what stan­dard should be app­lied for the exami­na­ti­on of whe­ther a vio­la­ti­on of data pro­tec­tion pro­vi­si­ons qua­li­fies as an abu­se of a domi­nant posi­ti­on. In any case, it is not accep­ta­ble to con­si­der every data pro­tec­tion vio­la­ti­on by a mar­ket-domi­nant com­pa­ny as a vio­la­ti­on of anti­trust law. In the case of abu­se of explo­ita­ti­on, the pre­vai­ling doc­tri­ne is a Cau­sal link The Ger­man Federal Mini­stry of Jus­ti­ce requi­res a distinc­tion to be made bet­ween the enfor­ce­ment of unre­a­son­ab­le terms and con­di­ti­ons (such as the terms and con­di­ti­ons of use that vio­la­te data pro­tec­tion) and mar­ket domi­nan­ce. An abu­se of explo­ita­ti­on the­re­fo­re only exists if a com­pa­ny exploits its domi­nant posi­ti­on in the mar­ket to obtain busi­ness advan­ta­ges from its custo­mers, that it would not have been able to imple­ment without mar­ket power and with func­tio­n­ing com­pe­ti­ti­on. The decisi­ve fac­tor is the­re­fo­re how Face­book would have beha­ved if it were not domi­nant. How would com­pa­nies in a com­pe­ti­ti­ve com­pa­ra­ti­ve mar­ket pro­cess and aggre­ga­te user data? It is que­stion­ab­le whe­ther com­pa­nies would have beha­ved dif­fer­ent­ly in a com­pe­ti­ti­ve com­pa­ra­ti­ve mar­ket. It is still open at the moment how inten­si­ve­ly the BKar­tA has dealt with the­se points.

Litt­le is known so far about the spe­ci­fic review of the terms of use by the BKar­tA. The BKar­tA is appar­ent­ly exami­ning the grounds for justi­fi­ca­ti­on that we know from Art. 6 DSGVO. Howe­ver, it pro­bab­ly asses­ses the­se from an anti­trust law per­spec­ti­ve and not necessa­ri­ly in the same way as a data pro­tec­tion aut­ho­ri­ty would. In par­ti­cu­lar, it would be inte­re­sting to know which Role the mar­ket power of Face­book had for the assess­ment of the justi­fi­ca­ti­on accord­ing to Art. 6 DSGVO. In the lite­ra­tu­re on data pro­tec­tion law, the Mar­ket posi­ti­on of the data pro­ces­sor and the power imba­lan­ce bet­ween the data con­trol­ler on the one hand and the data sub­ject on the other hand clas­si­fied as a rele­vant fac­tor in par­ti­cu­lar for the assess­ment of the volun­ta­ri­ness of con­sent wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 6(1)(a) GDPR (so in par­ti­cu­lar Ingold, Art. 7 GDPR N 27, in: Sydow [ed. ], Euro­päi­sche Daten­schutz­grund­ver­ord­nung, Hand­kom­men­tar, Baden-Baden 2017; Schultz, Art. 7 GDPR N 19 f. and 24, in: Gola [ed.], DS-GVO, Kom­men­tar, Munich 2017). In this respect, the assess­ment of the legal ground for data pro­ces­sing under the GDPR and the facts of explo­ita­ti­ve abu­se under anti­trust law is based on a simi­lar tra­de-off as a basis. As is well known, the GDPR is lar­ge­ly aimed at cur­bing the unre­stric­ted and non-trans­pa­rent use of data by tech­no­lo­gy giants. It is inten­ded to give citi­zens more con­trol over their per­so­nal data.

The inter­play bet­ween data pro­tec­tion and com­pe­ti­ti­on law in the age of Big Data and data mining, with the power imba­lan­ces and infor­ma­ti­on asym­me­tries that are typi­cal of this, has preoc­cu­p­ied Euro­pean super­vi­so­ry aut­ho­ri­ties for several years. Based on a deci­si­on of the Euro­pean Par­lia­ment in March 2017, in par­ti­cu­lar the Digi­tal Clea­ring­hou­se a volun­ta­ry net­work of data pro­tec­tion, con­su­mer pro­tec­tion and com­pe­ti­ti­on aut­ho­ri­ties, which meets at regu­lar inter­vals to dis­cuss cur­rent regu­la­to­ry issu­es. The BKartA’s deci­si­on is a fur­ther step in the direc­tion of con­ver­gence of the­se are­as of law, albeit limi­ted to Ger­ma­ny and sub­ject to any cour­se cor­rec­tion by the appel­la­te courts.

Das Bun­des­kar­tell­amt (BKar­tA) hat Face­book in einem mit Span­nung erwar­te­ten Ent­scheid ein­schnei­den­de Beschrän­kun­gen hin­sicht­lich der Ver­ar­bei­tung von Nut­zer­da­ten auf­er­legt. Am 7. Febru­ar 2019 hat das BKar­tA im Rah­men einer Pres­se­mit­tei­lung und einem Hin­ter­grund­pa­pier über den Ent­scheid berich­tet (sowie am 17. Dezem­ber 2017 über das lau­fen­de Ver­fah­ren im Rah­men eines Hin­ter­grund­pa­piers). Der Ent­scheid ist durch die neu­ar­ti­ge Kom­bi­na­ti­on daten­schutz­recht­li­cher und kar­tell­recht­li­cher Mass­stä­be für die Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung durch markt­be­herr­schen­de Unter­neh­men in digi­ta­len Märk­ten bemer­kens­wert. Das letz­te Wort ist aller­dings noch nicht gespro­chen. Face­book hat bereits ange­kün­digt, den Ent­scheid beim Ober­lan­des­ge­richt Düs­sel­dorf anzu­fech­ten. Es bleibt abzu­war­ten, ob die Rechts­mit­tel­in­stan­zen die exten­si­ve Anwen­dung daten­schutz­recht­li­cher Argu­men­te für die Fest­stel­lung eines Miss­brauchs einer markt­be­herr­schen­den Stel­lung gut­hei­ssen oder doch noch eine Kurs­kor­rek­tur vor­neh­men wer­den.

Ausgangslage

Gemäss den Geschäfts­be­din­gun­gen von Face­book kön­nen Nut­zer das sozia­le Netz­werk gegen­wär­tig nur unter der Vor­aus­set­zung nut­zen, dass Face­book auch ausser­halb der Face­book-Sei­te Daten über den Nut­zer im Inter­net oder auf Smart­pho­ne-Apps sam­melt und dem Face­book-Nut­zer­kon­to zuord­net. Kon­kret räumt sich Face­book das Recht ein, alle auf (i) Face­book selbst, (ii) den kon­zern­ei­ge­nen Dien­sten wie z.B. Whats­App und Insta­gram sowie (iii) den auf Dritt­web­sei­ten gesam­mel­ten Daten mit dem Face­book-Nut­zer­kon­to zusam­men­zu­füh­ren.

Anordnung des BKartA

Das BKar­tA hat gegen­über Face­book für Deutsch­land fol­gen­de Anord­nun­gen getrof­fen, ohne jedoch zusätz­lich direk­te Sank­tio­nen aus­zu­spre­chen:

Die Ent­schei­dung des Amtes erfasst ver­schie­de­ne Daten­quel­len:

  1. Künf­tig dür­fen die zum Face­book-Kon­zern gehö­ren­den Dien­ste wie Whats­App und Insta­gram die Daten zwar wei­ter­hin sam­meln. Eine Zuord­nung der Daten zum Nut­zer­kon­to bei Face­book ist aber nur noch mit frei­wil­li­ger Ein­wil­li­gung des Nut­zers mög­lich. Wenn die Ein­wil­li­gung nicht erteilt wird, müs­sen die Daten bei den ande­ren Dien­sten ver­blei­ben und dür­fen nicht kom­bi­niert mit den Face­book-Daten ver­ar­bei­tet wer­den.
  2. Eine Samm­lung und Zuord­nung von Daten von Dritt­web­sei­ten zum Face­book-Nut­zer­kon­to ist in der Zukunft eben­falls nur noch dann mög­lich, wenn der Nut­zer frei­wil­lig in die Zuord­nung zum Face­book-Nut­zer­kon­to ein­wil­ligt.

Fehlt es bei den Daten von den kon­zern­ei­ge­nen Dien­sten und Dritt­web­sites an der Ein­wil­li­gung, kann Face­book die Daten nur noch sehr stark ein­ge­schränkt sam­meln und dem Nut­zer­kon­to zuord­nen. Ent­spre­chen­de Lösungs­vor­schlä­ge hier­für muss Face­book erar­bei­ten und dem Amt vor­le­gen.

Das BKar­tA nimmt damit nach den Wor­ten ihres Prä­si­den­ten Andre­as Mundt eine „inne­re Ent­flech­tung“ der von Face­book ver­ar­bei­te­ten Daten vor.

Rechtliche Argumentation des BKartA

a) Marktbeherrschung auf dem Markt für soziale Netzwerke

Face­book nimmt gemäss Fest­stel­lung des BKar­tA in Deutsch­land auf dem Markt für sozia­le Netz­wer­ke eine markt­be­herr­schen­de Stel­lung ein. Das BKar­tA grenzt den Markt soweit ersicht­lich eng ab, indem es ins­be­son­de­re Dien­ste wie Lin­kedIn und Twit­ter als nicht dem glei­chen Markt ange­hö­rend ein­ord­net. Auf dem rele­van­ten Markt hat Face­book dem­nach einen Markt­an­teil von über 90%.

Das BKar­tA betont sodann im Rah­men sei­ner Prü­fung des Miss­brauchs einer markt­be­herr­schen­den Stel­lung nach § 19 GWB die „beson­de­ren kar­tell­recht­li­chen Pflich­ten“ markt­be­herr­schen­der Unter­neh­men, eine For­mu­lie­rung die auch im Rah­men von Ver­fah­ren nach Art. 102 AEUV und nach Art. 7 KG geläu­fig ist, wird doch in stän­di­ger Pra­xis auf die beson­de­re Ver­ant­wor­tung markt­be­herr­schen­der Unter­neh­men hin­ge­wie­sen („spe­cial respon­si­bi­li­ty“, erst­mals in EuGH-Ent­scheid i.S. Miche­lin aus dem Jahr 1983).

b) Zusammenführen von Daten als Ausbeutungsmissbrauch

Das BKar­tA führt wei­ter aus, die Nut­zer hät­ten kei­ne ande­re Wahl als ent­we­der die umfas­sen­de Daten­nut­zung durch Face­book zu akzep­tie­ren oder auf die Nut­zung des Netz­werks zu ver­zich­ten. Das obli­ga­to­ri­sche Set­zen eines Häk­chens für die Zustim­mung zu den Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen von Face­book sei bei die­ser Aus­gangs­la­ge kei­ne aus­rei­chen­de Grund­la­ge für eine so exten­si­ve Daten­nut­zung. Beson­ders pro­ble­ma­tisch ist nach Ansicht des BKar­tA die unbe­grenz­te Zusam­men­füh­rung von Daten der ori­gi­nä­ren Face­book-Web­site mit Daten aus kon­zern­ei­ge­nen Dien­sten wie Insta­gram und Whats­App sowie aus Dritt­sei­ten, die mit Schnitt­stel­len (z.B. Like- oder Sha­re-But­ton) ver­se­hen sind. Schon der blo­sse Auf­ruf sol­cher Dritt­sei­ten führt zu einem Daten­fluss zu Face­book. Den mei­sten Nut­zern sei dies gar nicht bewusst. Face­book erlau­be die­se umfas­sen­de Daten­zu­sam­men­füh­rung das Erstel­len von sehr genau­en Nut­zer­pro­fi­len.

Das BKar­tA prüft kon­kret, ob ein Aus­beu­tungs­miss­brauch nach kar­tell­recht­li­cher Les­art gemäss § 19 Abs. 2 (2) GWB vor­liegt. Markt­be­herr­schen­de Unter­neh­men ver­hal­ten sich u.a. dann miss­bräuch­lich, wenn sie die Markt­ge­gen­sei­te – hier die Ver­brau­cher als Face­book-Nut­zer – durch über­höh­te Prei­se oder durch unan­ge­mes­se­ne ver­trag­li­che Rege­lun­gen und Kon­di­tio­nen aus­beu­ten (sog. Kon­di­tio­nen­miss­brauch). Dies gilt nach Ansicht des BKar­tA in beson­de­rem Mas­se

[…] wenn durch die Aus­beu­tung gleich­zei­tig auch Wett­be­wer­ber behin­dert wer­den, die kei­nen sol­chen Daten­schatz anhäu­fen kön­nen.

c) DSGVO als Massstab für Ausbeutungstatbestand

Inter­es­sant und mög­li­cher­wei­se weg­wei­send ist, dass das BKar­tA in einem näch­sten Schritt die Bestim­mun­gen der DSGVO als Mass­stab nimmt für die Beur­tei­lung, ob ein kar­tell­recht­li­cher Aubeu­tungs­miss­brauch vor­liegt. Das Abstüt­zen auf Bestim­mun­gen aus ande­ren Geset­zen für die Fest­stel­lung eines Miss­brauchs einer markt­be­herr­schen­den Stel­lung ist im Grund­satz nicht neu, aber hier erst­ma­lig in Bezug auf die Bestim­mun­gen des Daten­schut­zes und der DSGVO im Beson­de­ren. Das BKar­tA betont in sei­ner Pres­se­mit­tei­lung, dass unter dem deut­schen GWB auch grund­recht­li­che und ande­re gesetz­li­che Wert­ent­schei­dun­gen, unter ande­rem aus dem Zivil­recht, wie z.B. dem AGB-Recht, in die kar­tell­recht­li­che Miss­brauchs­kon­trol­le ein­flie­ssen kön­nen:

Bei sol­chen Ver­fah­ren steht die Anwen­dung der Vor­schrif­ten der euro­päi­schen Miss­brauchs­kon­trol­le [gemäss Art. 102 AEUV] immer im Raum. Auch nach der ent­spre­chen­den Ein­griffs­norm des Art. 102 AEUV wäre ein sol­ches Miss­brauchs­ver­fah­ren gegen Face­book grund­sätz­lich mög­lich. Aller­dings hat sich bis­her nur in Deutsch­land eine höchst­rich­ter­li­che Recht­spre­chung her­aus­ge­bil­det, bei der für die Miss­bräuch­lich­keit des Ver­hal­tens eines Markt­be­herr­schers auch grund­recht­li­che oder ande­re gesetz­li­che Wert­ent­schei­dun­gen – hier Daten­schutz – berück­sich­tigt wer­den kön­nen. Auf­grund der grenz­über­schrei­ten­den Bedeu­tung des Ver­fah­rens hat sich das Bun­des­kar­tell­amt aller­dings wäh­rend des Ver­fah­rens eng sowohl mit der Euro­päi­schen Kom­mis­si­on, als auch mit ande­ren aus­län­di­schen Wett­be­werbs­be­hör­den abge­stimmt.

Das BKar­tA argu­men­tiert wei­ter, dass Kar­tell­recht und Daten­schutz­recht im Bereich des Kon­di­tio­nen­miss­brauchs einen gleich­ge­rich­te­ten Zweck ver­fol­gen, indem es in sei­nem Hin­ter­grund­pa­pier fest­hält:

Denn auch das Daten­schutz­recht bezweckt den Schutz des Betrof­fe­nen vor unge­recht­fer­tig­ten Daten­ver­ar­bei­tun­gen sei­ner per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen Daten durch die Markt­ge­gen­sei­te.“

Kon­kret prüft das BKar­tA, offen­bar in engem Aus­tausch mit Daten­schutz­be­hör­den (wobei soweit ersicht­lich unklar bleibt, mit wel­chen genau), ob die Daten­ver­ar­bei­tun­gen durch Face­book nach der DSGVO gerecht­fer­tigt sind. Damit ist eine Prü­fung der Recht­mä­ssig­keit der Daten­be­ar­bei­tung nach Art. 6 DSGVO gemeint, auch wenn das BKar­tA auf die­se Bestim­mung in den publi­zier­ten Unter­la­gen nicht direkt Bezug nimmt. Das BKar­tA kommt dabei zum Schluss, dass

  1. die Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung weder für die Ver­trags­er­fül­lung erfor­der­lich sei (vgl. Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. b DSGVO),
  2. noch ein über­wie­gen­des berech­tig­tes Inter­es­se Face­books an der Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung bestehe (vgl. Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. f DSGVO), und
  3. auch kei­ne gül­ti­ge Ein­wil­li­gung in die frag­li­chen Daten­ver­ar­bei­tun­gen vor­lie­ge (vgl. Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. a DSGVO), da ins­be­son­de­re kei­ne frei­wil­li­ge Ein­wil­li­gung gege­ben sei. Eine gül­ti­ge Ein­wil­li­gung hät­te nur dann bejaht wer­den kön­nen, wenn die Nut­zung der ori­gi­nä­ren Face­book-Web­site nicht von der Ertei­lung der Ein­wil­li­gung in die umfas­sen­de Daten­nut­zung abhän­gig gemacht wor­den wäre.

Das BKar­tA qua­li­fi­zier­te Face­books Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen und die Art und der Umfang der Daten­samm­lung und –ver­wer­tung als daten­schutz­wid­rig und gleich­zei­tig als kar­tell­rechts­wid­ri­gen Aus­beu­tungs­miss­brauch. Es ver­langt eine weit­rei­chen­de „inne­re Ent­flech­tung“ der von Face­book ver­ar­bei­te­ten Daten (s. oben zu den Anord­nun­gen des BKar­tA). Sank­tio­nen wur­den in die­sem Ver­fah­ren nicht auf­er­legt, da das BKar­tA die Unter­su­chung im Rah­men eines Ver­wal­tungs­ver­fah­rens (und nicht in einem Buss­geld­ver­fah­ren) durch­ge­führt hat. Face­book hat wie ein­gangs erwähnt bereits ange­kün­digt, den Ent­scheid anzu­fech­ten.

Kritische Würdigung und Parallelen zum Schweizer Kartellrecht

Das Pen­dant zum Kon­di­tio­nen­miss­brauch nach deut­schem GWB ist im schwei­ze­ri­schen Kar­tell­recht in Art. 7 Abs. 2 lit. c KG sta­tu­iert, wonach die Erzwin­gung unan­ge­mes­se­ner Prei­se oder son­sti­ger unan­ge­mes­se­ner Geschäfts­be­din­gun­gen durch markt­be­herr­schen­de Unter­neh­men als miss­bräuch­li­che Ver­hal­tens­wei­se qua­li­fi­ziert wird. Zum Aus­beu­tungs­miss­brauch besteht in der Schweiz erst eine sehr spär­li­che Pra­xis. Die weit­aus mei­sten Fäl­le betref­fen den sog. Ver­drän­gungs­miss­brauch, bei wel­chem es nicht um eine Aus­beu­tung der Markt­ge­gen­sei­te geht, son­dern um die Fra­ge, ob ande­re Markt­teil­neh­mer miss­bräuch­lich vom Markt ver­drängt wer­den. Dies leuch­tet ein, liegt doch der Zweck des schwei­ze­ri­schen Kar­tell­rechts im Schutz des wirk­sa­men Wett­be­werbs und nicht im Kon­su­men­ten­schutz oder Daten­schutz. Lau­ter­keits­recht­li­che und daten­schutz­recht­li­che Fra­gen fal­len des­halb grund­sätz­lich nicht in den Zustän­dig­keits­be­reich der Wett­be­werbs­be­hör­den.

Eine aus­ufern­de Prü­fung von Daten­schutz­ver­stö­ssen durch Wett­be­werbs­be­hör­den ist des­halb frag­wür­dig und öff­net eine Büch­se der Pan­do­ra: So ist unklar, wel­cher Mass­stab ange­legt wer­den soll für die Prü­fung, ob ein Ver­stoss gegen Daten­schutz­be­stim­mun­gen als Miss­brauch einer markt­be­herr­schen­den Stel­lung zu qua­li­fi­zie­ren ist. Es kann jeden­falls nicht ange­hen, jeden Daten­schutz­ver­stoss durch ein markt­be­herr­schen­des Unter­neh­men als Kar­tell­rechts­ver­stoss zu wer­ten. Beim Aus­beu­tungs­miss­brauch wird in der herr­schen­den Leh­re ein Kau­sal­zu­sam­men­hang gefor­dert zwi­schen der Erzwin­gung unan­ge­mes­se­ner Geschäfts­be­din­gun­gen (wie hier daten­schutz­wid­ri­ger Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen) und der Markt­be­herr­schung. Ein Aus­beu­tungs­miss­brauch liegt also nur dann vor, wenn ein Unter­neh­men sei­ne markt­be­herr­schen­de Stel­lung aus­nützt, um von sei­nen Abneh­mern geschäft­li­che Vor­tei­le zu erlan­gen, die es ohne Markt­macht und bei funk­tio­nie­ren­dem Wett­be­werb nicht hät­te durch­set­zen kön­nen. Mass­ge­bend ist somit, wie sich Face­book ver­hal­ten hät­te, wenn es nicht markt­be­herr­schend wäre. Wie wür­den Unter­neh­men in einem kom­pe­ti­ti­ven Ver­gleichs­markt Nut­zer­da­ten ver­ar­bei­ten und zusam­men­füh­ren? Ob sich Unter­neh­men in einem kom­pe­ti­ti­ven Ver­gleichs­markt anders ver­hal­ten hät­ten, ist frag­lich. Offen ist im Moment noch, wie inten­siv sich das BKar­tA mit die­sen Punk­ten aus­ein­an­der­ge­setzt hat.

Auch zur kon­kre­ten Prü­fung der Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen durch das BKar­tA ist bis­lang nur wenig bekannt. Das BKar­tA prüft offen­bar die Recht­fer­ti­gungs­grün­de, die wir aus Art. 6 DSGVO ken­nen. Aller­dings beur­teilt sie die­se wohl aus einer kar­tell­recht­li­chen Optik und nicht zwin­gend gleich wie dies eine Daten­schutz­be­hör­de tun wür­de. Inter­es­sant wäre ins­be­son­de­re zu erfah­ren, wel­che Rol­le die Markt­macht von Face­book für die Beur­tei­lung der Recht­fer­ti­gung nach Art. 6 DSGVO hat­te. In der daten­schutz­recht­li­chen Lite­ra­tur wird die Markt­po­si­ti­on des Daten­ver­ar­bei­ters und das Macht­ge­fäl­le zwi­schen dem für die Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung Ver­ant­wort­li­chen einer­seits und dem Daten­sub­jekt ande­rer­seits als ein rele­van­ter Fak­tor ein­ge­stuft ins­be­son­de­re für die Beur­tei­lung der Frei­wil­lig­keit einer Ein­wil­li­gung im Sin­ne von Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. a DSGVO (so ins­bes. Ingold, Art. 7 DSGVO N 27, in: Sydow [Hg. ], Euro­päi­sche Daten­schutz­grund­ver­ord­nung, Hand­kom­men­tar, Baden-Baden 2017; Schultz, Art. 7 DSGVO N 19 f. und 24, in: Gola [Hg.], DS-GVO, Kom­men­tar, Mün­chen 2017). Inso­fern liegt der Bewer­tung des Rechts­grunds für die Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung nach DSGVO und dem Tat­be­stand des Aus­beu­tungs­miss­brauchs nach Kar­tell­recht eine ähn­li­che Güter­ab­wä­gung zu Grun­de. Die DSGVO zielt ja bekannt­lich gro­ssen­teils auch genau auf eine Ein­däm­mung der unein­ge­schränk­ten und intrans­pa­ren­ten Daten­nut­zung durch Tech­no­lo­gie­rie­sen. Sie soll Bür­ge­rin­nen und Bür­gern mehr Kon­trol­le über ihre Per­so­nen­da­ten geben.

Das Zusam­men­spiel von Daten­schutz und Wett­be­werbs­recht im Zeit­al­ter von Big Data und Data Mining mit den dafür typi­schen Macht­ge­fäl­len und Infor­ma­ti­ons­asym­me­tri­en beschäf­tigt die euro­päi­schen Auf­sichts­be­hör­den seit eini­gen Jah­ren. Gestützt auf einen Beschluss des Euro­päi­schen Par­la­ments vom März 2017 wur­de ins­be­son­de­re das Digi­tal Clea­ring­house ins Leben geru­fen, ein frei­wil­li­ges Netz­werk von Datenschutz‑, Kon­su­men­ten­schutz- und Wett­be­werbs­be­hör­den, wel­ches sich in regel­mä­ssi­gen Abstän­den zu aktu­el­len Regu­lie­rungs­fra­gen trifft. Der Ent­scheid des BKar­tA ist ein wei­te­rer Schritt in die Rich­tung der Kon­ver­genz die­ser Rechts­ge­bie­te, wenn auch nur beschränkt auf Deutsch­land und unter dem Vor­be­halt einer all­fäl­li­gen Kurs­kor­rek­tur durch die Rechts­mit­tel­in­stan­zen.

Posted by Monique Sturny