HGer ZH: Pseud­ony­miz­a­ti­on acts like anony­miz­a­ti­on for the recipient

The Com­mer­cial Court of Zurich has ruled in the Judgment HG190107‑O of May 4, 2021 ruled that pseud­ony­miz­a­ti­on acts like anony­miz­a­ti­on for tho­se who can­not assign the pseud­ony­mi­zed data to a spe­ci­fic person. 

The back­ground was a plan­ned trans­fer of per­so­nal data by the defen­dant, a Gene­va bank, to the US DOJ on the basis of a non-pro­se­cu­ti­on agree­ment. It con­cer­ned data in the “II.D.2” list (Lea­ver list; an explana­ti­on can be found, e.g., in the ruling 4A_365/2017). The main point of con­ten­ti­on was whe­ther the data to be pro­vi­ded had a per­so­nal refe­rence. The bank took the posi­ti­on that this data was anony­mi­zed or pseud­ony­mi­zed and the­re­fo­re not per­so­nal data.

The HGer initi­al­ly pro­ce­e­ded from the rela­ti­ve approach in the deter­mi­na­ti­on of the per­so­nal refe­rence: The decisi­ve fac­tor is the optics of the hol­der of a date, in the case of a dis­clo­sure of the reci­pi­ent. From this it dedu­ces, that the pseud­ony­miz­a­ti­on of data acts as anony­miz­a­ti­on for tho­se who can­not assign it to a spe­ci­fic per­son (E. 3.2.3):

For all tho­se who have access to the key, pseud­ony­mi­zed per­so­nal data con­ti­nues to be per­so­nal data wit­hin the mea­ning of the FADP. For per­sons who do not have access to the key and also do not have other know­ledge to be able to assign the data to a spe­ci­fic per­son again, pseud­ony­mi­zed per­so­nal data, on the other hand, no lon­ger con­sti­tu­tes per­so­nal data.

This is cor­rect, but not self-evi­dent, and it con­tra­dicts a con­si­de­ra­ti­on of the BGer in the Logi­step deci­si­on. The­re, the BGer had sta­ted that in the case of a dis­clo­sure of imper­so­nal data to a reci­pi­ent who can assign it to a per­son, not only the reci­pi­ent is sub­ject to the DPA (in the Logi­step case, the rights hol­der who obtai­ned IP addres­ses from P2P net­works from Logi­step), but also the sen­der (Logi­step):

3.4 Whe­ther infor­ma­ti­on can be lin­ked to a per­son on the basis of addi­tio­nal data, i.e. whe­ther the infor­ma­ti­on rela­tes to an iden­ti­fia­ble per­son (Art. 3 lit. a FADP), is asses­sed from the per­spec­ti­ve of the respec­ti­ve owner of the infor­ma­ti­on […]. In the case of dis­clo­sure of infor­ma­ti­on, it is suf­fi­ci­ent if the reci­pi­ent is able to iden­ti­fy the data sub­ject. […] If this is the case […], the Data Pro­tec­tion Act also app­lies to the respon­dent its­elf.. To deci­de other­wi­se would mean app­ly­ing the Data Pro­tec­tion Act only to the indi­vi­du­al reci­pi­ents, but not to the per­son who obtains the data in que­sti­on and dis­se­mi­na­tes them. This would run coun­ter to the pur­po­se of the law.

This con­si­de­ra­ti­on was obvious­ly result-ori­en­ted and wrong, becau­se it con­tra­dicts the rela­ti­ve approach of the con­cept of per­so­nal data. The HGer ZH has now con­tra­dic­ted this view; impli­ci­tly, but clear­ly. Becau­se when the HGer says that pseud­ony­mi­zed data are not per­so­nal data “for per­sons who do not have access to the key and also do not have other know­ledge to be able to assign the data to a spe­ci­fic per­son again”, this meant for the Logi­step deci­si­on that the IP addres­ses could not be per­so­nal data for Logi­step itself.

The fin­ding of the HGer ZH is of gre­at prac­ti­cal import­anceIf a doc­tor trans­mits a bar­code-coded blood sam­ple to a labo­ra­to­ry in the USA, this is not data dis­clo­sure abroad; if a bank trans­mits pseud­ony­mi­zed tran­sac­tion data to a ser­vice pro­vi­der for eva­lua­ti­on or enrich­ment, this is neit­her data dis­clo­sure nor order pro­ces­sing (which does not mean, of cour­se, that an ana­lo­gous con­tract should not be con­clu­ded, but an omis­si­on could not, for examp­le, lead to cri­mi­nal lia­bi­li­ty under Art. 61 lit. b revDSG). The HGer ZH also express­ly states,

If per­so­nal data is anony­mi­zed or pseud­ony­mi­zed befo­re it is dis­c­lo­sed abroad in such a way that its reci­pi­ent abroad can no lon­ger estab­lish a per­so­nal refe­rence, this also con­sti­tu­tes No cross-bor­der dis­clo­sure of per­so­nal data in the sen­se of Art. 6 DSG.

As noted, this is cor­rect becau­se it fol­lows com­pel­lin­g­ly from the rela­ti­ve approach to the con­cept of per­so­nal data, but it is bold – perhaps bol­der than one might expect from a for­eign data pro­tec­tion super­vi­so­ry aut­ho­ri­ty, alt­hough the result under the GDPR must be the same.

The HGer fur­ther sta­tes that the Bur­den of pro­of for the pseud­ony­miz­a­ti­on of the data, which in princip­le had per­so­nal refe­rence, lies with the bank. The court here under­s­tood a cer­tain pro­blem of pro­of for the bank (how is it sup­po­sed to pro­ve that the DOJ has no way of allo­ca­ting the data?), but nevertheless did not take the pro­of away from it, espe­cial­ly sin­ce the bank did not suf­fi­ci­ent­ly address the plain­tif­fs’ sub­mis­si­ons on pos­si­ble iden­ti­fi­ca­ti­on, in par­ti­cu­lar the risk of iden­ti­fi­ca­ti­on via an admi­ni­stra­ti­ve or mutu­al legal assi­stance procedure.

In the end, the HGer the­re­fo­re pro­hi­bi­ted the bank from pro­vi­ding the data, alt­hough it found in favor of the bank on the core sub­stan­ti­ve point.

HGer ZH: Pseud­ony­mi­sie­rung wirkt für den Emp­fän­ger wie Anonymsierung

Das Han­dels­ge­richt Zürich hat im Urteil HG190107‑O vom 4. Mai 2021 ent­schie­den, dass eine Pseud­ony­mi­sie­rung für den­je­ni­gen, der die pseud­ony­mi­sier­ten Daten kei­ner bestimm­ten Per­son zuord­nen kann, wie eine Anony­mi­sie­rung wirkt. 

Hin­ter­grund war eine geplan­te Über­mitt­lung von Per­so­nen­da­ten durch die Beklag­te, eine Gen­fer Bank, an das US-ame­ri­ka­ni­sche DOJ auf Basis eines Non-Pro­se­cu­ti­on-Agree­ments. Es ging um Daten in der “II.D.2”-Liste (Lea­ver-Liste; eine Erläu­te­rung fin­det sich z.B. im Urteil 4A_365/2017). Strit­tig war vor allem, ob die zu lie­fern­den Daten Per­so­nen­be­zug haben. Die Bank stell­te sich auf den Stand­punkt, dass die­se Daten anony­mi­siert oder pseud­ony­mi­siert und damit kei­ne Per­so­nen­da­ten waren.

Das HGer ging zunächst vom rela­ti­ven Ansatz bei der Bestim­mung des Per­so­nen­be­zugs aus: Mass­ge­bend ist die Optik des Inha­bers eines Datums, bei einer Bekannt­ga­be des Emp­fän­gers. Dar­aus lei­tet es ab, dass die Pseud­ony­mi­sie­rung von Daten für den­je­ni­gen, der sie kei­ner bestimm­ten Per­son zuord­nen kann, als Anony­mi­sie­rung wirkt (E. 3.2.3):

Für alle, die Zugang zum Schlüs­sel haben, blei­ben pseud­ony­mi­sier­te Per­so­nen­da­ten wei­ter­hin Per­so­nen­da­ten im Sin­ne des DSG. Für Per­so­nen, die kei­nen Zugang zum Schlüs­sel haben und auch nicht über ande­re Kennt­nis­se ver­fü­gen, um die Daten wie­der einer bestimm­ten Per­son zuord­nen zu kön­nen, stel­len pseud­ony­mi­sier­te Per­so­nen­da­ten hin­ge­gen kei­ne Per­so­nen­da­ten mehr dar.

Das ist rich­tig, aber nicht selbst­ver­ständ­lich, und es wider­spricht einer Erwä­gung des BGer im Logi­step-Ent­scheid. Dort hat­te das BGer fest­ge­hal­ten, bei einer Bekannt­ga­be von unper­sön­li­chen Daten an einen Emp­fän­ger, der sie einer Per­son zuord­nen kann, unter­ste­he nicht nur der Emp­fän­ger dem DSG (im Logi­step-Fall der Rech­te­inha­ber, der von Logi­step IP-Adres­sen aus P2P-Netz­wer­ken bezog), son­dern auch der Absen­der (Logi­step):

3.4 Ob eine Infor­ma­ti­on auf­grund zusätz­li­cher Anga­ben mit einer Per­son in Ver­bin­dung gebracht wer­den kann, sich die Infor­ma­ti­on mit­hin auf eine bestimm­ba­re Per­son bezieht (Art. 3 lit. a DSG), beur­teilt sich aus der Sicht des jewei­li­gen Inha­bers der Infor­ma­ti­on […]. Im Fal­le der Wei­ter­ga­be von Infor­ma­tio­nen ist dabei aus­rei­chend, wenn der Emp­fän­ger die betrof­fe­ne Per­son zu iden­ti­fi­zie­ren ver­mag. […] Trifft dies zu […], so gelangt das Daten­schutz­ge­setz indes­sen auch auf die Beschwer­de­geg­ne­rin selbst zur Anwen­dung. Anders zu ent­schei­den wür­de bedeu­ten, das Daten­schutz­ge­setz nur auf die ein­zel­nen Emp­fän­ger anzu­wen­den, nicht aber auf die Per­son, wel­che die betref­fen­den Daten beschafft und sie ver­brei­tet. Dies wür­de dem Zweck des Geset­zes zuwiderlaufen.

Die­se Erwä­gung war offen­kun­dig ergeb­nis­ge­lei­tet und falsch, weil sie dem rela­ti­ven Ansatz des Per­so­nen­da­ten­be­griffs wider­spricht. Das HGer ZH ist die­ser Auf­fas­sung nun ent­ge­gen­ge­tre­ten; impli­zit, aber ein­deu­tig. Denn wenn das HGer sagt, pseud­ony­mi­sier­te Daten sei­en kei­ne Per­so­nen­da­ten “für Per­so­nen, die kei­nen Zugang zum Schlüs­sel haben und auch nicht über ande­re Kennt­nis­se ver­fü­gen, um die Daten wie­der einer bestimm­ten Per­son zuord­nen zu kön­nen”, so hie­sse dies für den Logi­step-Ent­scheid, dass die IP-Adres­sen für Logi­step selbst kei­ne Per­so­nen­da­ten sein konnten.

Die Erkennt­nis des HGer ZH ist von gro­sser prak­ti­scher Bedeu­tung: Wenn ein Arzt eine mit einem Bar­code kodier­te Blut­pro­be an ein Labor in den USA über­mit­telt, han­delt es sich nicht um eine Daten­be­kannt­ga­be ins Aus­land; wenn eine Bank pseud­ony­mi­sier­te Trans­ak­ti­ons­da­ten an einen Dienst­lei­ster zur Aus­wer­tung oder Anrei­che­rung über­mit­telt, han­delt es sich weder um eine Daten­be­kannt­ga­be noch um eine Auf­trags­be­ar­bei­tung (was selbst­ver­ständ­lich nicht heisst, dass nicht ein ana­lo­ger Ver­trag geschlos­sen wer­den soll­te, aber eine Unter­las­sung könn­te z.B. nicht zu einer Straf­bar­keit nach Art. 61 lit. b revDSG füh­ren). Das HGer ZH hält denn auch aus­drück­lich fest,

Wenn Per­so­nen­da­ten vor der Bekannt­ga­be ins Aus­land so anony­mi­siert oder pseud­ony­mi­siert wer­den, dass deren Emp­fän­ger im Aus­land kei­nen Per­so­nen­be­zug mehr her­stel­len kann, liegt auch kei­ne grenz­über­schrei­ten­de Bekannt­ga­be von Per­so­nen­da­ten im Sin­ne von Art. 6 DSG vor.

Wie fest­ge­hal­ten ist dies rich­tig, weil es zwin­gend aus dem rela­ti­ven Ansatz des Per­so­nen­da­ten­be­griffs folgt, aber es ist mutig – viel­leicht muti­ger, als man es von einer aus­län­di­schen Daten­schutz­auf­sichts­be­hör­de erwar­ten dürf­te, obwohl das Ergeb­nis unter der DSGVO das­sel­be sein muss.

Das HGer hält wei­ter fest, dass die Beweis­last für die Pseud­ony­mi­sie­rung der Daten, die grund­sätz­lich Per­so­nen­be­zug hat­ten, bei der Bank liegt. Das Gericht hat hier Ver­ständ­nis für ein gewis­ses Beweis­pro­blem der Bank (wie soll sie bewei­sen, dass das DOJ kei­ne Mög­lich­keit hat, die Daten zuzu­ord­nen?), nahm ihr den Beweis aber den­noch nicht ab, zumal sich die Bank nicht aus­rei­chend mit den Vor­brin­gen der Klä­ger zur mög­li­chen Iden­ti­fi­ka­ti­on aus­ein­an­der­ge­setzt hat, ins­be­son­de­re nicht mit der Gefahr einer Iden­ti­fi­ka­ti­on über ein Amts- oder Rechtshilfeverfahren.

Am Ende ver­bot das HGer der Bank daher die Daten­lie­fe­rung, obwohl es der Bank im mate­ri­ell­recht­li­chen Kern­punkt recht gab.