datenrecht.ch

LfDI Baden-Würt­tem­berg: Que­sti­ons about ChatGPT

The LfDI Baden-Würt­tem­berg joins other aut­ho­ri­ties in Euro­pe that cri­ti­cal­ly assess, if not pro­hi­bit, ChatGPT. One Media release from April 24, 2023 Accor­ding to the report, the LfDI has asked Ope­nAI for a state­ment. In addi­ti­on, the Euro­pean Data Pro­tec­tion Com­mit­tee (EDSA) is working toward a uni­form Euro­pean approach.

The focus seems to be on how cus­to­mers of Ope­nAI – i.e., tho­se respon­si­ble; Ope­nAI offers an ADV – know which data are pro­ce­s­sed, how and for what pur­po­se, how the appro­pria­te tech­ni­cal and orga­nizatio­nal mea­su­res can be taken and checked, how data requi­ring spe­cial pro­tec­tion are spe­ci­al­ly pro­tec­ted, and how the rights of the data sub­jects can be safe­guard­ed. Fur­ther infor­ma­ti­on on data pro­tec­tion pain points can be found in the last acti­vi­ty report of the LfDIto which he refers in the media release.

So far, some aut­ho­ri­ties have alre­a­dy dealt with the topic of AI or ChatGPT or Lar­ge Lan­guage Models, e.g.

  • the Euro­pean Data Pro­tec­tion Board EDSAwhich deci­ded to set up a task force for con­cer­ted action by the Euro­pean data pro­tec­tion aut­ho­ri­ties (on April 13, 2023),
  • the HBDI Hes­se (April 13, 2023), which shares the con­cerns of the Ita­li­an Garante,
  • the Office of the Pri­va­cy Com­mis­sio­ner Cana­da (April 4, 2023), which is con­duc­ting an investigation,
  • the FDPIC, which has published gui­dance on the use of ChatGPT and simi­lar appli­ca­ti­ons (on April 4, 2023).
  • the Ita­li­an gua­ran­torwhich not only inve­sti­ga­ted the use of ChatGPT, but pro­hi­bi­ted it due to lack of infor­ma­ti­on and legal basis, con­cern for children’s data, and the unre­lia­bi­li­ty of ChatGPT’s gene­ra­ted state­ments (on March 30, 2023), befo­re he was released after a mee­ting with repre­sen­ta­ti­ves of ChatGPT on April 6, 2023 has deci­ded (on 12 April 2023) to rein­sta­te the ban as of April 30, 2023, pro­vi­ded that ChatGPT imple­ments cer­tain requi­re­ments by then to address the afo­re­men­tio­ned concerns;
  • the UK Natio­nal Cyber Secu­ri­ty Cent­re in a state­ment (March 13, 2023).

At the same time, regu­la­ti­on in the AI space is moving for­ward. For the April 26, 2023, the agree­ment of the Euro­pean Par­lia­ment will be expec­ted, the tri­lo­gue on this could start accordingly.

Howe­ver, the pro­gress of ChatGPT, among others, seems to trig­ger a rather fun­da­men­tal deba­te rela­ted to the distinc­tion between

  • Gene­ral Pur­po­se AI (GPAI) respec­tively Foun­da­ti­on AI or Foun­da­ti­on Models on the one hand, i.e. AI systems that are capa­ble of per­forming a wide ran­ge of tasks and have cor­re­spon­ding adap­ti­ve capa­bi­li­ties – ChatGPT falls into this cate­go­ry -, and
  • on the other hand, spe­cia­li­zed appli­ca­ti­ons for indi­vi­du­al tasks that are less “intel­li­gent” (“Nar­row Intel­li­gence”; the use of the word “intel­li­gence” for AI would be worth a sepa­ra­te post, but it expres­ses an under­stan­ding of man that makes him at least as much like the machi­ne as the machi­ne is like him).

A Infor­ma­ti­on sheet for the atten­ti­on of the Euro­pean Par­lia­ment of March 2023 con­ta­ins fur­ther details on this. In any case, the­re is some pres­su­re to also regu­la­te GPAI in the AI Act, which would not be addres­sed in the Commission’s draft, or would be addres­sed only insuf­fi­ci­ent­ly (depen­ding on the inter­pre­ta­ti­on of the term “arti­fi­ci­al intel­li­gence system” accor­ding to Art. 3 No. 1 and Annex I of the Regu­la­ti­on – cf. the cor­re­spon­ding recom­men­da­ti­ons of the future of life institute).

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

datenrecht.ch

LfDI Baden-Würt­tem­berg: Fra­gen zu ChatGPT

Das LfDI Baden-Würt­tem­berg schliesst sich den wei­te­ren Behör­den Euro­pas an, die ChatGPT kri­tisch begut­ach­ten, wenn nicht unter­sa­gen. Einer Medi­en­mit­tei­lung vom 24. April 2023 zufol­ge hat das LfDI Ope­nAI zu einer Stel­lung­nah­me auf­ge­for­dert. Zudem wir­ke man im Euro­päi­schen Daten­schutz-Aus­schuss EDSA auf ein­heit­li­ches euro­päi­sches Vor­ge­hen hin.

Im Zen­trum scheint die Fra­ge zu ste­hen, wie Kun­den von Ope­nAI – d.h. die Ver­ant­wort­li­chen; Ope­nAI bie­tet einen ADV an – wis­sen kön­nen, wel­che Daten wie und zu wel­chem Zweck ver­ar­bei­tet wer­den, wie die ange­mes­se­nen tech­ni­schen und orga­ni­sa­to­ri­schen Mass­nah­men getrof­fen und geprüft wer­den kön­nen, wie beson­ders schüt­zens­wer­te Daten beson­ders geschützt sind und wie die Betrof­fe­nen­rech­te gewahrt wer­den kön­nen. Wei­te­re Hin­wei­se zu daten­schutz­recht­li­chen Pain Points fin­den sich im letz­ten Tätig­keits­be­richt des LfDI, auf den er in der Medi­en­mit­tei­lung verweist.

Bis­her haben sich bereits eini­ge Behör­den mit dem The­ma KI bzw. ChatGPT bzw. Lar­ge Lan­guage Models beschäf­tigt, z.B.

  • der Euro­päi­sche Daten­schutz-Aus­schuss EDSA, der ent­schie­den hat, eine Task Force für ein abge­stimm­tes Vor­ge­hen der Euro­päi­schen Daten­schutz­be­hör­den ein­zu­set­zen (am 13. April 2023),
  • der HBDI Hes­sen (13. April 2023), der die Beden­ken des ita­lie­ni­sche Garan­te teilt,
  • das Office of the Pri­va­cy Com­mis­sio­ner Kana­das (4. April 2023), das eine Unter­su­chung führt,
  • der EDÖB, der Hin­wei­se zum Ein­satz von ChatGPT und ähn­li­chen Anwen­dun­gen ver­öf­fent­licht hat (am 4. April 2023).
  • der ita­lie­ni­sche Garan­te, der den Ein­satz von ChatGPT nicht nur unter­sucht, son­dern man­gels Infor­ma­ti­on und Rechts­grund­la­ge, aus Sor­ge um Daten von Kin­dern und auf­grund der Unzu­ver­läs­sig­keit der gene­rier­ten Aus­sa­gen von ChatGPT unter­sagt hat (am 30. März 2023), bevor er nach einem Tref­fen mit Ver­tre­tern von ChatGPT am 6. April 2023 ent­schie­den hat (am 12. April 2023), das Ver­bot per 30. April 2023 wie­der auf­zu­he­ben, unter der Vor­aus­set­zung, dass ChatGPT bis dahin bestimm­te Vor­ga­ben umsetzt, um den genann­ten Beden­ken zu entsprechen;
  • das UK Natio­nal Cyber Secu­ri­ty Cent­re in einer Stel­lung­nah­me (13. März 2023).

Zugleich schrei­tet die Regu­lie­rung im Bereich AI vor­an. Für den 26. April 2023 wird die Eini­gung des Euro­päi­schen Par­la­ments erwar­tet, der Tri­log dazu könn­te ent­spre­chend beginnen.

Aller­dings scheint der Fort­schritt u.a. von ChatGPT eine recht grund­sätz­li­che Debat­te aus­zu­lö­sen, die mit der Unter­schei­dung zusam­men­hängt zwischen

  • Gene­ral Pur­po­se AI (GPAI) bzw. Foun­da­ti­on AI bzw. Foun­da­ti­on Models einer­seits zu tun hat, also mit AI-Syste­men, die in der Lage sind, eine brei­te Palet­te von Auf­ga­ben zu erfül­len und über ent­spre­chen­de Anpas­sungs­fä­hig­kei­ten ver­fü­gen – ChatGPT fällt in die­se Kate­go­rie –, und
  • ande­rer­seits spe­zia­li­sier­ten Anwen­dun­gen für ein­zel­ne Auf­ga­ben, die weni­ger “intel­li­gent” sind (“Nar­row Intel­li­gence”; die Ver­wen­dung des Worts “Intel­li­genz” für KI wäre einen eige­nen Bei­trag wert, aber es drückt ein Ver­ständ­nis des Men­schen aus, das ihn min­de­stens so sehr der Maschi­ne annährt wie jene ihm).

Ein Infor­ma­ti­ons­blatt zuhan­den des Euro­päi­schen Par­la­ments vom März 2023 ent­hält hier­zu wei­te­re Anga­ben. Jeden­falls besteht ein gewis­ser Druck, im AI Act auch GPAI zu regeln, die im Ent­wurf der Kom­mis­si­on nicht oder nur unzu­rei­chend ange­spro­chen wäre (je nach Aus­le­gung des Begriffs des “Systems der künst­li­chen Intel­li­genz” nach Art. 3 Nr. 1 und Anhang I der Ver­ord­nung – sie­he dazu die ent­spre­chen­den Emp­feh­lun­gen des future of life institute).

Behörde

Gebiet

Themen

Ähnliche Beiträge

Newsletter