datenrecht.ch

OECD: Decla­ra­ti­on on the con­di­ti­ons and limits of “lawful access” by mem­ber states

The Orga­nizati­on for Eco­no­mic Co-ope­ra­ti­on and Deve­lo­p­ment (OECD), which in addi­ti­on to Switz­er­land also inclu­des count­ries such as the UK and the USA (not the EU, which does, howe­ver, par­ti­ci­pa­te in the OECD’s work), on 14 Decem­ber 2022 issued a Decla­ra­ti­on on public aut­ho­ri­ty access to per­so­nal data at pri­va­te com­pa­nies adopted (Decla­ra­ti­on on Govern­ment Access to Per­so­nal Data held by Pri­va­te Sec­tor Enti­ties). It cer­tain­ly does not come by chan­ce short­ly after the Draft ade­qua­cy decis­i­on for the TADPF..

The decla­ra­ti­on

  • is a so-cal­led “Sub­stan­ti­ve Out­co­me Docu­ment”. This OECD instru­ment is not adopted by the OECD its­elf, but by the indi­vi­du­al count­ries invol­ved, which have agreed accor­din­gly within the frame­work of the OECD orga­nizati­on, here inclu­ding Switz­er­land, Tur­key, the UK, the USA and the EU. The­se instru­ments usual­ly con­tain rather abstract or long-term goals and, accor­ding to the OECD, have “a solemn cha­rac­ter”, i.e. they are purely programmatic;
  • Is inten­ded to pro­mo­te con­fi­dence in cross-bor­der data flows in the inte­rest of the glo­bal eco­no­my and set a stan­dard for how to limit govern­ment power in a demo­cra­cy; and
  • Applies to the acqui­si­ti­on and use of per­so­nal data held or con­trol­led by pri­va­te sec­tor enti­ties (inclu­ding NGOs) to Law enforce­ment and natio­nal secu­ri­ty pur­po­sesand expli­ci­t­ly also when a com­pa­ny is requi­red to release data that is con­tai­ned in a occu­py other sta­te are.

The decla­ra­ti­on is addres­sed to the mem­ber sta­tes and requi­res the fol­lo­wing mea­su­res:

  • Data access requi­res a bin­ding, demo­cra­ti­cal­ly legi­ti­mi­zed and suf­fi­ci­ent­ly clear Legal basis that pro­vi­des pro­tec­tion against misu­se and misappropriation.
  • Data access may only be gran­ted to cer­tain legi­ti­ma­te Tar­gets ser­ve and must Rela­ti­ve and be lawful. In par­ti­cu­lar, it must not ser­ve the pur­po­se of cen­sor­ship or discrimination.
  • The access requi­res a sta­te Aut­ho­rizati­on ahead. If, excep­tio­nal­ly, no appr­oval is requi­red, other pro­tec­ti­ve mea­su­res must take effect.
  • Per­so­nal data may only be used by aut­ho­ri­zed per­sons and only within the frame­work of the law, which pro­vi­des for mea­su­res to pro­tect lega­li­ty, pro­por­tio­na­li­ty and data accu­ra­cy, among other things.
  • It must Con­trols pro­vi­de to pre­vent, detect, reme­dia­te, and report data loss or misu­se to regu­la­to­ry authorities.
  • The regu­la­to­ry frame­work must be clear and acce­s­si­ble to the public so that impacts can be iden­ti­fi­ed and exami­ned. The Trans­pa­ren­cy of access must be ade­qua­te­ly ensu­red, taking into account legi­ti­ma­te con­fi­den­tia­li­ty concerns.
  • The Super­vi­si­on by courts or inde­pen­dent aut­ho­ri­ties must be neu­tral, effec­ti­ve, ade­qua­te­ly fun­ded and accoun­ta­ble be
  • Indi­vi­du­als have effec­ti­ve judi­cial and ext­ra­ju­di­cial Reme­dies. Howe­ver, it is per­mis­si­ble to rest­rict the infor­ma­ti­on of indi­vi­du­als about acce­s­ses or violations.

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

OECD: Erklä­rung über die Vor­aus­set­zun­gen und Gren­zen des “Lawful Access” durch die Mitgliedstaaten

Die Orga­ni­sa­ti­on for Eco­no­mic Co-ope­ra­ti­on and Deve­lo­p­ment (OECD), zu der neben der Schweiz auch Staa­ten wie etwa UK und die USA gehö­ren (nicht die EU, die sich aber an den Arbei­ten der OECD betei­ligt), hat am 14. Dezem­ber 2022 eine Erklä­rung über den Behör­den­zu­griff auf Per­so­nen­da­ten bei pri­va­ten Unter­neh­men ver­ab­schie­det (Decla­ra­ti­on on Govern­ment Access to Per­so­nal Data held by Pri­va­te Sec­tor Enti­ties). Sie kommt sicher nicht zufäl­lig kurz nach dem Ent­wurf des Ange­mes­sen­heits­be­schlus­ses für das TADPF.

Die Erklä­rung

  • ist ein sog. “Sub­stan­ti­ve Out­co­me Docu­ment”. Die­ses Instru­ment der OECD wird nicht durch die OECD selbst ver­ab­schie­det, son­dern durch die ein­zel­nen betei­lig­ten Staa­ten, die sich im Rah­men der Orga­ni­sa­ti­on der OECD ent­spre­chend ver­stän­digt haben, hier u.a. die Schweiz, die Tür­kei, UK, USA und die EU. Die­se Instru­men­te ent­hal­ten i.d.R. eher abstrak­te oder lang­fri­sti­ge Zie­le und haben laut OECD “a solemn cha­rac­ter”, sind also rein programmatisch;
  • soll im Inter­es­se der glo­ba­len Wirt­schaft das Ver­trau­en in den grenz­über­schrei­ten­den Daten­ver­kehr för­dern und einen Stan­dard set­zen, wie die staat­li­che Macht in einer Demo­kra­tie zu begren­zen ist, und
  • gilt für die Beschaf­fung und Ver­wen­dung von Per­so­nen­da­ten im Besitz oder unter der Kon­trol­le pri­vat­wirt­schaft­li­cher Unter­neh­men (inkl. NGOs) zu Zwecken der Straf­ver­fol­gung und der natio­na­len Sicher­heit, und zwar aus­drück­lich auch dann, wenn ein Unter­neh­men Daten her­aus­zu­ge­ben hat, die in einem ande­ren Staat bele­gen sind.

Die Erklä­rung rich­tet sich an die Mit­glied­staa­ten und ver­langt fol­gen­de Mass­nah­men:

  • Der Daten­zu­griff setzt eine ver­bind­li­che, demo­kra­tisch legi­ti­mier­te und aus­rei­chend kla­re Rechts­grund­la­ge vor­aus, die Schutz gegen Miss­brauch und Zweck­ent­frem­dung bietet.
  • Der Daten­zu­griff darf nur bestimm­ten, legi­ti­men Zie­len die­nen und muss ver­hält­nis­mä­ssig und recht­mä­ssig sein. Er darf ins­be­son­de­re nicht der Zen­sur oder Dis­kri­mi­nie­rung dienen.
  • Der Zugriff setzt eine staat­li­che Auto­ri­sie­rung vor­aus. Wenn aus­nahms­wei­se kei­ne Geneh­mi­gung erfor­der­lich ist, müs­sen ande­re Schutz­mass­nah­men greifen.
  • Per­so­nen­da­ten dür­fen nur von berech­tig­ten Per­so­nen ver­wen­det wer­den und nur im Rah­men des Rechts, das Mass­nah­men u.a. zum Schutz der Recht­mä­ssig­keit, Ver­hält­nis­mä­ssig­keit und Daten­rich­tig­keit vorsieht.
  • Es muss Kon­trol­len geben, um Daten­ver­lu­ste oder Miss­bräu­che zu ver­hin­dern, zu ent­decken, zu behe­ben und den Auf­sichts­be­hör­den zu melden.
  • Der Rechts­rah­men muss klar und der Öffent­lich­keit zugäng­lich sein, damit Aus­wir­kun­gen erkannt und geprüft wer­den kön­nen. Die Trans­pa­renz von Zugrif­fen ist ange­mes­sen sicher­zu­stel­len, unter Berück­sich­ti­gung berech­tig­ter Geheimhaltungsanliegen.
  • Die Auf­sicht durch Gerich­te oder unab­hän­gi­ge Behör­den muss neu­tral, wirk­sam, aus­rei­chend dotiert und accoun­ta­ble sein.
  • Ein­zel­per­so­nen haben wirk­sa­me gericht­li­che und ausser­ge­richt­li­che Rechts­be­hel­fe. Es ist aber zuläs­sig, die Infor­ma­ti­on Ein­zel­ner über Zugrif­fe oder Ver­stö­sse einzuschränken.