OGer ZH: “Dis­clo­sure” of a secret alrea­dy at the pos­si­bi­li­ty of knowledge?

In a dis­pu­te bet­ween a cli­ent and his for­mer attor­ney, the Zurich Supe­ri­or Court had to rule on an alle­ged vio­la­ti­on of pro­fes­sio­nal secrecy. In its Reso­lu­ti­on UE190028‑O of 27 Decem­ber 2019. it sta­tes the fol­lo­wing – without having to deal with the que­sti­on in more detail – regar­ding “dis­clo­sure” wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 321 para. 1 SCC:

The ele­ment of dis­clo­sure is ful­fil­led if the per­pe­tra­tor brings the con­fi­denti­al fact to the atten­ti­on of unaut­ho­ri­zed third par­ties. or enab­les them to take note.

In doing so, the Supre­me Court con­tra­dicts the recent case law of the Federal Supre­me Court and, fol­lo­wing it, the pro­bab­ly pre­vai­ling doc­tri­ne. In the judgment 6B_1403/2017 the Federal Supre­me Court express­ly depar­ted from the view that dis­clo­sure is alrea­dy com­ple­te with the pos­si­bi­li­ty of know­ledge. Rather, actu­al know­ledge by the third par­ty is required:

1.2.2 Pur­suant to Art. 162 SCC, anyo­ne who dis­c­lo­ses a manu­fac­tu­ring or tra­de secret which he should keep as a result of a legal or con­trac­tu­al obli­ga­ti­on is liable to pro­se­cu­ti­on. The The offence is the same as the offen­ces of vio­la­ti­on of offi­cial secrecy (Art. 320 StGB) or pro­fes­sio­nal secrecy (Art. 321 StGB).. In the BGE 142 IV 65 E. 5.1 men­tio­ned by the pre­vious instance, the Federal Supre­me Court con­si­de­red that a secret is dis­c­lo­sed if it is brought to the atten­ti­on of a third par­ty who is not aut­ho­ri­zed to do so or if the third par­ty is enab­led to take note of it. This is a mere descrip­ti­on of the cri­mi­nal con­duct, from which – con­tra­ry to the opi­ni­on of the lower court – not­hing can be dedu­ced as to the time of com­ple­ti­on of the act. Rather, the doc­tri­ne is to be fol­lo­wed in this que­sti­on, accord­ing to which the act is com­ple­ted as soon as an out­si­der obtains know­ledge of the secret in que­sti­on thanks to the con­duct of the per­pe­tra­tor.. Cri­mi­nal Try would be assu­med, in par­ti­cu­lar, if the per­pe­tra­tor pro­vi­ded infor­ma­ti­on for a third par­ty made acces­si­ble but the lat­ter has not yet taken note of the secret […].

Accord­in­gly, brea­ches of secrecy are now under­s­tood as suc­cess­ful offen­ses. Howe­ver, it can­not be infer­red from its deci­si­on that the Supre­me Court deli­ber­ate­ly inten­ded to devia­te from this view. In the end, the que­sti­on was also not rele­vant for the deci­si­on, becau­se a suf­fi­ci­ent decla­ra­ti­on of release by the cli­ent was available.

It is also inte­re­sting to note in pas­sing a com­ment by the hig­her court on the express con­sent:

Fur­ther­mo­re, the wor­d­ing of the decla­ra­ti­on of release does not imply any restric­tion with regard to the con­tent or scope or natu­re of the con­fi­denti­al infor­ma­ti­on or the infor­ma­ti­on to be dis­c­lo­sed. In this respect – con­tra­ry to the view expres­sed by the com­p­lai­nant […] – the­re is an express con­sent of the data sub­ject to the dis­clo­sure of
par­ti­cu­lar­ly sen­si­ti­ve per­so­nal data wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. Art. 4 para. 5 FADP.

Accord­in­gly, the Upper Tri­bu­nal does not appe­ar to requi­re that the con­tent of the decla­ra­ti­on express­ly refers to per­so­nal data requi­ring spe­cial pro­tec­tion in order for it to be expli­cit wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 4 (5) FADP, but rather allo­ws it to suf­fice that the Decla­ra­ti­on of release in the sen­se of an ope­ra­ti­on express­ly and not by implication.

Again, howe­ver, the high court did not address the issue of expres­si­ve­ness in any detail.

OGer ZH: “Offen­ba­rung” eines Geheim­nis­ses doch schon bei Mög­lich­keit der Kennt­nis­nah­me?

Das Zür­cher Ober­ge­richt hat­te in einer Aus­ein­an­der­set­zung zwi­schen einem Kli­en­ten und sei­ner ehe­ma­li­gen Anwäl­tin eine angeb­li­che Ver­let­zung des Berufs­ge­heim­nis­ses zu beur­tei­len. In sei­nem Beschluss UE190028‑O vom 27. Dezem­ber 2019 hält es dabei – ohne sich mit der Fra­ge näher aus­ein­an­der­set­zen zu müs­sen – zur “Offen­ba­rung” i.S.v. Art. 321 Abs. 1 StGB fol­gen­des fest:

Das Tat­be­stands­merk­mal des Offen­ba­rens ist erfüllt, wenn der Täter die ver­trau­li­che Tat­sa­che nicht ermäch­tig­ten Dritt­per­so­nen zur Kennt­nis bringt oder die­sen die Kennt­nis­nah­me ermög­licht.

Damit setzt sich das Ober­ge­richt in Wider­spruch zur neue­ren Recht­spre­chung des Bun­des­ge­richts und ihr fol­gend der wohl herr­schen­den Leh­re. Im Urteil 6B_1403/2017 ist das Bun­des­ge­richt von der Auf­fas­sung, die Offen­ba­rung sei bereits mit der Mög­lich­keit der Kennt­nis­nah­me voll­endet, aus­drück­lich abge­rückt. Erfor­der­lich sei viel­mehr die tat­säch­li­che Kennt­nis­nah­me durch den Drit­ten:

1.2.2. Nach Art. 162 StGB macht sich unter ande­rem straf­bar, wer ein Fabri­ka­ti­ons- oder Geschäfts­ge­heim­nis, das er infol­ge einer gesetz­li­chen oder ver­trag­li­chen Pflicht bewah­ren soll­te, ver­rät. Die Tat­hand­lung ist die­sel­be wie bei den Tat­be­stän­den der Ver­let­zung des Amts­ge­heim­nis­ses (Art. 320 StGB) oder des Berufs­ge­heim­nis­ses (Art. 321 StGB). In dem von der Vor­in­stanz erwähn­ten BGE 142 IV 65 E. 5.1 hat das Bun­des­ge­richt erwo­gen, dass ein Geheim­nis offen­bart, wer es einer dazu nicht ermäch­tig­ten Dritt­per­son zur Kennt­nis bringt oder die­ser die Kennt­nis­nah­me ermög­licht. Es han­delt sich hier­bei um eine blo­sse Umschrei­bung des straf­ba­ren Ver­hal­tens, wor­aus – ent­ge­gen der Mei­nung der Vor­in­stanz – nichts zum Zeit­punkt der Voll­endung der Tat abge­lei­tet wer­den kann. Viel­mehr ist in die­ser Fra­ge der Leh­re zu fol­gen, wonach die Tat voll­endet ist, sobald ein Aussen­ste­hen­der dank dem Ver­hal­ten des Täters Kennt­nis vom betref­fen­den Geheim­nis erhält. Straf­ba­rer Ver­such wäre ins­be­son­de­re dann anzu­neh­men, wenn der Täter Infor­ma­tio­nen für einen Drit­ten zugäng­lich gemacht hat, die­ser aber vom Geheim­nis noch kei­ne Kennt­nis genom­men hat […].

Ent­spre­chend wer­den Geheim­nis­ver­let­zun­gen heu­te als Erfolgs­de­lik­te ver­stan­den. Dass das Ober­ge­richt bewusst von die­ser Auf­fas­sung abwei­chen woll­te, lässt sich sei­nem Beschluss aller­dings nicht ent­neh­men. Die Fra­ge war letzt­lich auch nicht enschei­dre­le­vant, weil eine aus­rei­chen­de Ent­bin­dungs­er­klä­rung des Kli­en­ten vor­lag.

Inter­es­sant ist fer­ner eine Rand­be­mer­kung des Ober­ge­richts zur aus­drück­li­chen Ein­wil­li­gung:

Dar­über hin­aus ist der Ent­bin­dungs­er­klä­rung dem Wort­laut nach hin­sicht­lich des Inhalts bzw. Umfangs oder der Natur der ver­trau­li­chen bzw. zu offen­ba­ren­den Infor­ma­tio­nen kei­ne Ein­schrän­kung zu ent­neh­men. Inso­fern liegt – ent­ge­gen der vom Beschwer­de­füh­rer ver­tre­te­nen Ansicht […] – eine aus­drück­li­che Ein­wil­li­gung des Betrof­fe­nen zur Bekannt­ga­be von
beson­ders schüt­zens­wer­ten Per­so­nen­da­ten i. S. v. Art. 4 Abs. 5 DSG vor.

Das Ober­ge­richt scheint für die Aus­drück­lich­keit i.S.v. Art. 4 Abs. 5 DSG dem­nach nicht zu ver­lan­gen, dass sich der Inhalt der Erklä­rung aus­drück­lich auf beson­ders schüt­zens­wer­te Per­so­nen­da­ten bezieht, son­dern lässt es genü­gen, dass die Ent­bin­dungs­er­klä­rung im Sin­ne eines Vor­gangs aus­drück­lich und nicht kon­klu­dent erfolgt ist.

Auch hier hat sich das Ober­ge­richt aller­dings nicht näher mit der Fra­ge der Aus­drück­lich­keit aus­ein­an­der­ge­setzt.