OLG Munich: Adver­ti­sing for digi­tal medi­cal con­sul­ta­ti­on by doc­tors in Switzerland

On July 16, 2019, the Munich Hig­her Regio­nal Court issued a Judgment in con­nec­tion with an app of a Swiss pro­vi­der fel­led. Appar­ent­ly, a pro­vi­der had offe­red ser­vices of a sub­si­dia­ry, a health insu­rer, via an Inter­net pre­sence with a .de domain in Ger­ma­ny, inclu­ding a “digi­tal doctor’s visit” to Swiss doc­tors. In the view of the Munich Hig­her Regio­nal Court, this adver­ti­sing vio­la­tes the Ger­man Health­ca­re Adver­ti­sing Act (HWG) and is inadmissible.

The fol­lo­wing Gui­ding princi­ples:

1) Sec­tion 9 sen­tence 1 HWG is not to be inter­pre­ted restric­tively to the effect that the pro­hi­bi­ti­on of adver­ti­sing for remo­te tre­at­ment would requi­re the adver­ti­sed tre­at­ment to be inad­mis­si­ble. Rather, Sec­tion 9 HWG has its own regu­la­to­ry con­tent in that it does not pro­hi­bit distance tre­at­ment per se, but rather the adver­ti­sing thereof.

2. even with the new regu­la­ti­on of § 9 HWG (valid from 19.12.2019), the legis­la­tor has adhe­red to the fun­da­men­tal assess­ment that a Remo­te tre­at­ment adver­ti­sing In the inte­rest of avoiding the risks to public health in gene­ral asso­cia­ted with such adver­ti­sing. Pro­hi­bi­ted (cf. Sec­tion 9 sen­tence 1 HWG). Only under the con­di­ti­ons spe­ci­fied in Sec­tion 9 Sen­tence 2 HWG is the adver­ti­sing of remo­te tre­at­ments now per­mit­ted by law.

3. an adver­ti­se­ment for remo­te medi­cal tre­at­ment in the form of a digi­tal doctor’s visit, wher­eby pati­ents living in Ger­ma­ny are offe­red the pos­si­bi­li­ty of obtai­ning dia­gno­ses, the­ra­py recom­men­da­ti­ons and sick notes for unspe­ci­fied tre­at­ment cases and situa­tions from doc­tors abroad via their smart­pho­nes by means of an app., is not cove­r­ed by the excep­tio­nal cir­cum­stance of Sec­tion 9 sen­tence 2 HWG, accord­ing to which it is assu­med that medi­cal con­ta­ct with the per­son to be trea­ted is not necessa­ry in the adver­ti­sed cases accord­ing to gene­ral­ly accep­ted standards.

Ger­man law was app­li­ca­ble in accordance with Art. 6 (1) of the Rome II Regu­la­ti­on (princip­le of effect).

OLG Müchen: Wer­bung für digi­ta­le medi­zi­ni­sche Kon­sul­ta­ti­on durch Ärz­te in der Schweiz

Das OLG Mün­chen hat am 16. Juli 2019 ein Urteil im Zusam­men­hang mit einer App eines schwei­ze­ri­schen Anbie­ters gefällt. Offen­bar hat­te eine Anbie­tern über einen Inter­net­auf­tritt mit einer .de-Domain in Deutsch­land Lei­stun­gen einer Toch­ter ange­bo­ten, eines Kran­ken­ver­si­che­rers, u.a. einen “digi­ta­len Arzt­be­such” bei schwei­ze­ri­schen Ärz­ten. Aus Sicht des OLG Mün­chen ver­stösst die­se Wer­bung gegen das Gesetz über die Wer­bung auf dem Gebie­te des Heil­we­sens (HWG) und ist unzu­läs­sig.

Fol­gen­de Leit­sät­ze:

1. § 9 S. 1 HWG ist nicht dahin­ge­hend ein­schrän­kend aus­zu­le­gen, dass das Wer­be­ver­bot für Fern­be­hand­lun­gen akzes­so­risch die Unzu­läs­sig­keit der bewor­be­nen Behand­lung vor­aus­set­zen wür­de. Viel­mehr kommt § 9 HWG ein eige­ner Rege­lungs­ge­halt zu, indem er nicht die Fern­be­hand­lung an sich ver­bie­tet, son­dern die Wer­bung hier­für.

2. Der Gesetz­ge­ber hat auch mit der neu­en Rege­lung des § 9 HWG (gül­tig ab 19.12.2019) an der grund­sätz­li­chen Wer­tung fest­ge­hal­ten, dass eine Wer­bung für Fern­be­hand­lun­gen im Inter­es­se der Ver­mei­dung der mit einer sol­chen Wer­bung ver­bun­de­nen Gefah­ren für die all­ge­mei­ne Gesund­heit im All­ge­mei­nen unter­sagt ist (vgl. § 9 Satz 1 HWG). Ledig­lich unter den in § 9 S. 2 HWG genann­ten Vor­aus­set­zun­gen ist die Wer­bung mit Fern­be­hand­lun­gen nun­mehr gesetz­lich erlaubt.

3. Eine Wer­bung für ärzt­li­che Fern­be­hand­lun­gen in Form eines digi­ta­len Arzt­be­suchs, wobei mit­tels einer App in Deutsch­land leben­den Pati­en­ten ange­bo­ten wird, über ihr Smart­pho­ne von Ärz­ten, die im Aus­land sit­zen, für nicht näher kon­kre­ti­sier­te Behand­lungs­fäl­le und ‑situa­tio­nen Dia­gno­sen, The­ra­pie­emp­feh­lun­gen und Krank­schrei­bun­gen zu erlan­gen, wird von dem Aus­nah­me­tat­be­stand des § 9 Satz 2 HWG, wonach vor­aus­ge­setzt wird, dass ein ärzt­li­cher Kon­takt mit dem zu behan­deln­den Men­schen nach all­ge­mein aner­kann­ten Stan­dards in den bewor­be­nen Fäl­len nicht erfor­der­lich ist, nicht gedeckt.

Das deut­sche Recht war nach Art. 6 Abs. 1 der Rom-II-Ver­ord­nung anwend­bar (Aus­wir­kungs­prin­zip).