Schrems: Que­sti­ons refer­red by the OGH to the ECJ

The Supre­me Court of Austria (OGH) has given the ECJ pre­sen­ted a seri­es of que­sti­ons, in con­nec­tion with pro­ce­e­dings brought by Max Schrems against Face­book. The sub­ject of the pro­ce­e­dings is, among other things, the que­sti­on of the legal basis on which Face­book pro­ces­ses cer­tain data about Schrems.

In par­ti­cu­lar, this invol­ves the que­sti­on of whe­ther Face­book has right­ly invo­ked Art. 6 (1) lit. b DSGVO, the Neces­si­ty of the pro­ces­sing for a con­tract. This que­sti­on ari­ses becau­se Face­book does not have con­sent for the pro­ces­sing of data about Schrems, but has sta­ted in the GTC sin­ce the GDPR came into force,

In lieu of pay­ing for […], by using the Face­book Pro­ducts to which the­se Terms of Use app­ly, you agree that we may show you ads … We use your per­so­nal infor­ma­ti­on […] to show you ads that are more rele­vant to you
Are.”

By using this wor­d­ing, Face­book has attemp­ted to cla­ri­fy that the user pays with his or her data and that the pro­vi­si­on of the cor­re­spon­ding data in this sen­se is just as much a part of the con­tract as the pay­ment for a product.

Howe­ver, this is off­set by the very restric­ti­ve atti­tu­de of the EDSA who in his Gui­de­li­nes for the inter­pre­ta­ti­on of Art. 6 para. 1 b DSGVO argues that it is not the wor­d­ing of a con­tract that is decisi­ve, but its objec­ti­ve pur­po­se, which is also to be deter­mi­ned accord­ing to the expec­ta­ti­ons of the data sub­jects; necessa­ry wit­hin the mea­ning of Art. 6(1)(b) GDPR is only what is objec­tively necessa­ry for the con­tract as typi­fied by the EDSA. A mere eco­no­mic con­nec­tion bet­ween the con­tract and the data pro­ces­sing is not suf­fi­ci­ent, and adver­ti­sing is not necessa­ry for a contract.

Against this back­ground, the OGH sub­mits the que­sti­on to the ECJ whe­ther lit. b app­lies in such a case or whe­ther con­sent is rather required:

(1) Are the pro­vi­si­ons of Art. 6(1)(a) and (b) DSGVO to be inter­pre­ted as mea­ning that the Lega­li­ty of con­trac­tu­al pro­vi­si­ons in gene­ral terms of use on plat­form con­tracts […], which inclu­de the pro­ces­sing of per­so­nal data for aggre­ga­ti­on and ana­ly­sis of data for the pur­po­se of per­so­na­li­zed adver­ti­sing, are to be asses­sed accord­ing to the requi­re­ments of Art 6 (1) lit a in con­junc­tion with Art 7 DSGVOwhich can­not be repla­ced by invo­king Art 6(1)(b) DSGVO?

Other que­sti­ons refer­red rela­te to the admis­si­bi­li­ty of the Usa­ge data ana­ly­sis befo­re the princip­le of data mini­miz­a­ti­on and the que­sti­on of whe­ther data is worthy of spe­cial pro­tec­tion are if they pro­vi­de infor­ma­ti­on about cor­re­spon­ding cha­rac­te­ri­stics (e.g. homo­se­xua­li­ty), but the per­son respon­si­ble does not pro­cess the­se data accord­in­gly, i.e. does not dif­fe­ren­tia­te here in the adver­ti­sing accord­ing to such criteria.

Schrems: Vor­la­ge­fra­gen des OGH an den EuGH

Der Ober­ste Gerichts­hof Öster­reichs (OGH) hat dem EuGH eine Rei­he von Fra­gen vor­ge­legt, im Zusam­men­hang mit einem Ver­fah­ren von Max Schrems gegen Face­book. Gegen­stand des Ver­fah­rens ist u.a. die Fra­ge, auf wel­cher Rechts­grund­la­ge Face­book bestimm­te Daten über Schrems verarbeitet.

Dabei geht es ins­be­son­de­re um die Fra­ge, ob sich Face­book zurecht auf Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. b DSGVO beru­fen hat, die Erfor­der­lich­keit der Ver­ar­bei­tung für einen Ver­trag. Die­se Fra­ge stellt sich des­halb, weil Face­book für die Ver­ar­bei­tung von Daten über Schrems nicht über eine Ein­wil­li­gung ver­fügt, in den AGB seit Gel­tung der DSGVO aber festhält,

Anstatt dafür zu zah­len […] erklärst du dich durch Nut­zung der Face­book-Pro­duk­te, für die die­se Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen gel­ten, ein­ver­stan­den, dass wir dir Wer­be­an­zei­gen zei­gen dür­fen … Wir ver­wen­den dei­ne per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen Daten […] um dir Wer­be­an­zei­gen zu zei­gen, die rele­van­ter für dich
sind.“

Face­book hat durch die­se For­mu­lie­rung ver­sucht klar­zu­stel­len, dass der Nut­zer mit sei­nen Daten zahlt und die Bereit­stel­lung der ent­spre­chen­den Daten in die­sem Sin­ne eben­so Ver­trags­be­stand­teil ist wie die Bezah­lung eines Produkts.

Dem steht aber die sehr restrik­ti­ve Hal­tung des EDSA ent­ge­gen, der in sei­nen Leit­li­ni­en zur Aus­le­gung von des Art. 6 Abs. 1 b DSGVO ver­tritt, mass­ge­bend sei nicht der Wort­laut eines Ver­trags, son­dern sein objek­ti­ver Zweck, der auch nach den Erwar­tun­gen der betrof­fe­nen Per­so­nen zu bestim­men sei; not­wen­dig i.S.v. Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. b DSGVO sei nur, was objek­tiv für den vom EDSA typi­siert ver­stan­de­nen Ver­trag erfor­der­lich ist. Nicht aus­rei­chend sei eine nur wirt­schaft­li­che Ver­bin­dung zwi­schen dem Ver­trag und der Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung, und Wer­bung sei nicht not­wen­dig für einen Vertrag.

Vor die­sem Hin­ter­grund legt der OGH dem EuGH die Fra­ge vor, ob in einem sol­chen Fall lit. b greift oder viel­mehr eine Ein­wil­li­gung erfor­der­lich ist:

1. Sind die Bestim­mun­gen der Art 6 Abs 1 lit a und b DSGVO dahin­ge­hend aus­zu­le­gen, dass die Recht­mä­ßig­keit von Ver­trags­be­stim­mun­gen in all­ge­mei­nen Nut­zungs­be­din­gun­gen über Platt­form­ver­trä­ge […], die die Ver­ar­bei­tung von per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen Daten für Aggre­ga­ti­on und Ana­ly­se von Daten zum Zwecke der per­so­na­li­sier­ten Wer­bung beinhal­ten, nach den Anfor­de­run­gen des Art 6 Abs 1 lit a iVm Art 7 DSGVO zu beur­tei­len sind, die nicht durch die Beru­fung auf Art 6 Abs 1 lit b DSGVO ersetzt wer­den können?

Wei­te­re Vor­la­ge­fra­gen betref­fen die Zuläs­sig­keit der Ana­ly­se von Nut­zungs­da­ten vor dem Grund­satz der Daten­mi­ni­mie­rung und die Fra­ge, ob Daten beson­ders schüt­zens­wert sind, wenn sie Auf­schluss über ent­spre­chen­de Eigen­schaf­ten geben (z.B. Homo­se­xua­li­tät), der Ver­ant­wort­li­che die­se Daten aber nicht ent­spre­chend ver­ar­bei­tet, d.h. hier in der Wer­bung nicht nach sol­chen Kri­te­ri­en differenziert.