datenrecht.ch

DSK: Posi­ti­on paper on cloud-based digi­tal health applications

The Ger­man Data Pro­tec­tion Con­fe­rence has “Posi­ti­on paper on cloud-based digi­tal health appli­ca­ti­ons” usu­al strict comm­ents, inclu­ding on the Respon­si­bi­li­ty of the manu­fac­tu­r­ers of digi­tal health ser­vices:

The GDPR obli­ges con­trol­lers and pro­ces­sors, Art. 4 nos. 7 and 8 GDPR. Manu­fac­tu­r­ers assu­me the role of a con­trol­ler if, in addi­ti­on to pro­du­cing the digi­tal health appli­ca­ti­on, they also deci­de on the pur­po­ses and means of data pro­ce­s­sing. Not­wi­th­stan­ding this, they may be con­side­red pro­ces­sors if they pro­cess per­so­nal data on behalf of a con­trol­ler in accordance with Artic­les 28 and 29 GDPR. If, on the other hand, the invol­vement is limi­t­ed to the pro­duc­tion of the health appli­ca­ti­on, so that the manu­fac­tu­r­ers do not pro­cess any per­so­nal data of the users, the manu­fac­tu­r­ers are neither con­trol­lers nor processors.

In addi­ti­on to manu­fac­tu­r­ers, the­re are other par­ties invol­ved in the pro­ce­s­sing of per­so­nal data in digi­tal health appli­ca­ti­ons, such as doc­tors and other medi­cal ser­vice pro­vi­ders as well as cloud ser­vice pro­vi­ders. The role of the­se par­ties from a data pro­tec­tion per­spec­ti­ve must be exami­ned on a case-by-case basis.

It also fol­lows from the pri­va­cy by design prin­ci­ple – actual­ly rather the pro­por­tio­na­li­ty requi­re­ment – that a No cloud con­nec­tion if it is not neces­sa­ry and desired:

The use of the health appli­ca­ti­on (e.g. an app for rea­ding and sto­ring glu­co­se values) must also be pos­si­ble wit­hout using the cloud func­tions and wit­hout lin­king to a user account in accordance with the prin­ci­ple of “data pro­tec­tion through tech­no­lo­gy design and data pro­tec­tion-fri­end­ly default set­tings” pur­su­ant to Art. 25 para. 1 GDPR, unless the cloud func­tion is abso­lut­e­ly neces­sa­ry for the use of the appli­ca­ti­on. Achie­ve­ment of a the­ra­peu­tic bene­fit requi­red and the func­tion is express­ly reque­sted by the data sub­ject.

The data sub­ject must be given a cor­re­spon­ding choice (e.g. in the regi­stra­ti­on pro­cess) and infor­med of any exi­sting bene­fits and risks asso­cia­ted with the cloud appli­ca­ti­on. In the event of a decis­i­on against cloud-based pro­ce­s­sing, the data may at most be stored local­ly on the end device.

At the Use of health data The que­sti­on of the legal basis then ari­ses – in this case, con­sent can be con­side­red if the data is not anony­mi­zed and if manu­fac­tu­r­ers are not legal­ly obli­ged to pro­cess data, for exam­p­le under the Medi­cal Devices Regu­la­ti­on for qua­li­ty assu­rance and risk management.

Incom­pa­ti­ble with the pur­po­se are then pro­ce­s­ses such as Ran­ge ana­ly­sis and soft­ware error track­ing:

The fre­quent­ly imple­men­ted ran­ge ana­ly­sis mecha­nisms and soft­ware error track­ing mecha­nisms, which are typi­cal­ly inte­gra­ted into soft­ware deve­lo­p­ment envi­ron­ments and deli­ver­ed tog­e­ther with apps and web appli­ca­ti­ons, check the instal­la­ti­on beha­vi­or and gene­ral func­tion­a­li­ty aspects of the soft­ware (tele­me­try). This data pro­ce­s­sing is gene­ral­ly not com­pa­ti­ble with the pur­po­se of the application.

In con­nec­tion with the Data secu­ri­ty DSK lists some secu­ri­ty mea­su­res that should be con­side­red. Furthermore:

The Tech­ni­cal Gui­de­line (TR) “Secu­ri­ty requi­re­ments for digi­tal health appli­ca­ti­ons” deve­lo­ped by the Ger­man Fede­ral Office for Infor­ma­ti­on Secu­ri­ty (BSI) (BSI TR-03161) for all mobi­le appli­ca­ti­ons that pro­cess and store sen­si­ti­ve data. In prin­ci­ple, the BSI demands that secu­ri­ty requi­re­ments for con­fi­den­tia­li­ty, inte­gri­ty and avai­la­bi­li­ty be con­side­red from the very begin­ning of soft­ware deve­lo­p­ment. This tech­ni­cal gui­de­line is inten­ded to ser­ve as a gui­de to sup­port appli­ca­ti­on deve­lo­pers in crea­ting secu­re solu­ti­ons. It is divi­ded into three parts:

  • BSI TR-03161 Requi­re­ments for appli­ca­ti­ons in the heal­th­ca­re sec­tor – Part 1: Mobi­le applications
  • BSI TR-03161 Requi­re­ments for appli­ca­ti­ons in the heal­th­ca­re sec­tor – Part 2: Web applications
  • BSI TR-03161 Requi­re­ments for heal­th­ca­re appli­ca­ti­ons – Part 3: Back­ground systems

Aut­ho­ri­ty

Area

Topics

Rela­ted articles

Sub­scri­be

DSK: Posi­ti­ons­pa­pier zu cloud­ba­sier­ten digi­ta­len Gesundheitsanwendungen

Die deut­sche Daten­schutz­kon­fe­renz hat sich in einem “Posi­ti­ons­pa­pier zu cloud­ba­sier­ten digi­ta­len Gesund­heits­an­wen­dun­gen” gewohnt streng geäu­ssert, u.a. zur Ver­ant­wort­lich­keit der Her­stel­ler digi­ta­ler Gesund­heits­an­ge­bo­te:

Die DS-GVO ver­pflich­tet Ver­ant­wort­li­che und Auf­trags­ver­ar­bei­ter, Art. 4 Nrn. 7 und 8 DS-GVO. Her­stel­ler neh­men die Rol­le eines Ver­ant­wort­li­chen ein, wenn sie neben der Her­stel­lung der digi­ta­len Gesund­heits­an­wen­dung zugleich über die Zwecke und Mit­tel der Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung ent­schei­den. Sie kom­men abwei­chend hier­von als Auf­trags­ver­ar­bei­ter in Betracht, wenn sie für einen Ver­ant­wort­li­chen per­so­nen- bezo­ge­ne Daten nach Maß­ga­be von Arti­kel 28 und 29 DS-GVO wei­sungs­ge­bun­den ver­ar­bei­ten. Erschöpft sich die Betei­li­gung dage­gen in der Her­stel­lung der Gesund­heits­an­wen­dung, sodass die Her­stel­ler kei­ne per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­nen Daten der Nut­zer ver­ar­bei­ten, sind die Her­stel­ler weder Ver­ant­wort­li­che noch Auftragsverarbeiter.

Neben den Her­stel­lern kom­men hin­sicht­lich der Ver­ar­bei­tung per­so­nen­be­zo­ge­ner Daten der digi­ta­len Gesund­heits­an­wen­dun­gen wei­te­re Betei­lig­te in Betracht, wie etwa Ärz­tin­nen und Ärz­te und ande­re medi­zi­ni­sche Lei­stungs­er­brin­ger sowie Anbie­ter von Cloud-Dien­sten. Dabei ist im Ein­zel­fall zu prü­fen, wel­che Rol­le die­se Betei­lig­ten aus Daten­schutz­sicht wahrnehmen.

Aus dem Pri­va­cy by Design-Grund­satz – eigent­lich eher dem Ver­hält­nis­mä­ssig­keits­ge­bot – fol­ge zudem, dass eine Cloud-Anbin­dung unter­blei­ben müs­se, wenn sie nicht not­wen­dig und gewünscht ist:

Die Ver­wen­dung der Gesund­heits­an­wen­dung (z. B. einer App zum Aus­le­sen und Spei­chern der Glu­ko­se­wer­te) muss nach dem Grund­satz „Daten­schutz durch Tech­nik­ge­stal­tung und durch daten­schutz­freund­li­che Vor­ein­stel­lun­gen“ nach Art. 25 Abs. 1 DS-GVO auch ohne Nut­zung der Cloud­funk­tio­nen und ohne Ver­knüp­fung mit einem Benut­zer­kon­to mög­lich sein, es sei denn, die Cloud­funk­ti­on ist unbe­dingt für die Errei­chung eines the­ra­peu­ti­schen Nut­zens erfor­der­lich und die Funk­ti­on wird von der betrof­fe­nen Per­son aus­drück­lich gewünscht.

Die betrof­fe­ne Per­son muss hier­zu eine ent­spre­chen­de Aus­wahl­mög­lich­keit erhal­ten (z. B. im Regi­strie­rungs­pro­zess) und über etwa­ige bestehen­de Vor­tei­le und Risi­ken, die mit der Clou­dan­wen­dung ver­bun­den sind, infor­miert wer­den. Die Daten dür­fen im Fal­le der Ent­schei­dung gegen eine cloud­ba­sier­te Ver­ar­bei­tung allen­falls lokal auf dem End­ge­rät gespei­chert werden.

Bei der Ver­wen­dung von Gesund­heits­da­ten stellt sich sodann die Fra­ge der Rechts­grund­la­ge – hier kom­me die Ein­wil­li­gung in Betracht, sofern die Daten nicht anony­mi­siert sind und soweit Her­stel­ler nicht gesetz­lich zur Daten­be­ar­bei­tung ver­pflich­tet sind, etwa nach der Medi­zin­pro­duk­te-Ver­ord­nung für die Qua­li­täts­si­che­rung und das Risikomanagement.

Mit dem Zweck unver­ein­bar sei­en sodann Bear­bei­tun­gen wie Reich­wei­ten­ana­ly­se und Soft­ware-Feh­ler­ver­fol­gung:

Die häu­fig imple­men­tier­ten Mecha­nis­men der Reich­wei­ten­ana­ly­se und Soft­ware-Feh­ler­ver­fol­gungs­me­cha­nis­men, die typi­scher­wei­se in Soft­ware-Ent­wick­lungs-Umge­bun­gen inte­griert sind und zusam­men mit Apps und Web­an­wen­dun­gen aus­ge­lie­fert wer­den, über­prü­fen das Instal­la­ti­ons­ver­hal­ten und all­ge­mei­ne Funk­tio­na­li­täts­aspek­te der Soft­ware (Tele­me­trie). Die­se Daten­ver­ar­bei­tung ist grund­sätz­lich nicht mit dem Zweck der Anwen­dung vereinbar.

Im Zusam­men­hang mit der Daten­si­cher­heit nennt die DSK eini­ge Sicher­heits­mass­nah­men, die in Betracht zu zie­hen sind. Ferner:

Auch soll­te die vom Bun­des­amt für Sicher­heit in der Infor­ma­ti­ons­tech­nik (BSI) ent­wickel­te Tech­ni­sche Richt­li­nie (TR) “Sicher­heits­an­for­de­run­gen an digi­ta­le Gesund­heits­an­wen­dun­gen” (BSI TR-03161) für alle mobi­len Anwen­dun­gen, die sen­si­ble Daten ver­ar­bei­ten und spei­chern, her­an­ge­zo­gen wer­den. Grund­sätz­lich for­dert das BSI, Sicher­heits­an­for­de­run­gen an die Ver­trau­lich­keit, Inte­gri­tät und Ver­füg­bar­keit von Anfang an bei der Soft­ware-Ent­wick­lung mit zu betrach­ten. Die­se Tech­ni­sche Richt­li­nie soll als Leit­fa­den die­nen, um Ent­wick­ler von Anwen­dun­gen bei der Erstel­lung siche­rer Lösun­gen zu unter­stüt­zen. Sie glie­dert sich in drei Teile:

  • BSI TR-03161 Anfor­de­run­gen an Anwen­dun­gen im Gesund­heits­we­sen – Teil 1: Mobi­le Anwendungen
  • BSI TR-03161 Anfor­de­run­gen an Anwen­dun­gen im Gesund­heits­we­sen – Teil 2: Web-Anwendungen
  • BSI TR-03161 Anfor­de­run­gen an Anwen­dun­gen im Gesund­heits­we­sen – Teil 3: Hintergrundsysteme

Behörde

Gebiet

Themen

Ähnliche Beiträge

Newsletter